$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 CANAL STREET @ BOURBON, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
472 reviews
Fantastic weekend in New Orleans, LA !

Everything was the best! Also, hotel was in walking area to the events in New Orleans. Had a great... See full review

  • GRTT
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi (fees may apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.

  • The pool and fitness centre will be closed from 6-10 August 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (472)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
472 out of 472
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
st amant, la
Jan 3, 2011

Nice and clean in a great location

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern California Traveler
Fullerton, CA
Jan 3, 2011

New Year's Eve in the Big Easy

This classic, but well equipt, hotel offerred us easy access to bourbon street with the ability to have a quiet sanctuary when needed. The staff were polite and knowledgable. I would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk from many, many, many restaurants.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rozbwl
TYLER,TEXAS
Jan 3, 2011

PERFECT LOCATION

HOTEL WAS ABOVE AVERAGE, AT THE CORNER OF BOURBON AND CANAL. PARKING WAS A BIT HIGH.BUT RIGHT ON THE EDGE OF THE QUARTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

A LOT OF OPTIONS

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
st amant, la
Jan 3, 2011

Nice and clean in a great location

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alk00
Garfield, NJ
Jan 2, 2011

Good hotel with excellent location

This hotel is an excellent location close to the French Quarter. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. Couple of small issues are that you have to pay extra for Internet access 9.95 for 24 hr. That is a little high considering most hotels don't charge for this service. If you happen to stay in a room close to the central air-conditioning system you wll constantly hear the noise. Averall this is a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alk00
Garfield, NJ
Jan 2, 2011

Good hotel with excellent location

This hotel is an excellent location close to the French Quarter. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. Couple of small issues are that you have to pay extra for Internet access 9.95 for 24 hr. That is a little high considering most hotels don't charge for this service. If you happen to stay in a room close to the central air-conditioning system you wll constantly hear the noise. Averall this is a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shyan Paul
New orleans, LA
Jan 1, 2011

surrealistic NIGHTMARE for $520/newyear

we went for a new year stay in Crowne Plaza hotel from dec 31 till jan, 02, 2011. The problem is.. no, the problemS ARE these: 1) Valet parking. It was total disrespect and nightmare. We woke up at 5:00am in Houston, TX to drive earlier to N.Orleans. And when we did, we spend more than TWO HOURS (!!!) in line to valet guys :) Wow! That's pretty much of a record. The first time we came to valets, they told us that there's a line we need to take, making a round around a block. So we did. But the problem IS simple: valet guys were accepting a number of cars that were intruding the line! :)) So me, my daughter of 2,5 years and wife after more than 7 hours by car had to wait some 30-40 minutes more in the line because valets just let some drivers in fancy cars in for parking without any waiting in the line! That's just awesome! THAT's what Crowne calls service. 2) Luggage delivery "from the hotel entrance to the room". THEY have the luggage trolleys and luggage boys but they DONT DO their job! we came inside the hotel with: - 2 HUGE travel luggage cases. (trust me, heavy ones - with things for 2months long trip around usa) - 1 BIG bag that my wife placed on top of a stroller (no, there's no place for bags, it's just a try to get all the things to the room) - laptop bag/photo case - and yes a stroller And NOBODY. N O B O D Y of the staff gave a try to ask: WOULD I like any help :) I tried to ask some guy with luggage trolley to help but he just rushed towards entrance to meet some other guests :) 3) Room service. In 3:50 am (!!!!!!) i had to wake up because of... ALARM CLOCK RINGING. room service does not check alarm clocks! So thank them all so much for not letting me sleep for my money. 4) Wake up call the offer is: if u order wake up call and it's not there - u get living for FREE! And what if i DID NOT order a wake up call and got it?! I DID GET WAKE UP CALL THE SAME VERY NIGHT WHEN THE ALARM CLOCK WOKE ME UP! i JUST WANT TO SLEEP WHEN I WANT TO SLEEP! Is it that hard to let me and my family SLEEEEEEEP?! 5) Concierge who is hospitable and welcoming to the hotel guests Congrats. They have none! I dont really know the guy's name, but when i told everything i wrote above to the front desk manager, he listened all this and his replies were: (read this attentively, that's the top of the mastership of working with hotel guests): a) "It's new year's eve sir, so it's quite a mess, that's why nobody helped you with luggage, valet has a line and letting non-lined-cars in, and alarm clock + wake up calls ring". When i asked the guy "Dont you charge more for new year's night, right because it's a mess and there're so many guests" - he said "YES". I asked him WHY THE HELL should i care about the hotel's problems if i paid all the price and just want a good service for the money? - but silence was a reply to me. b) "Concerning the valet parking problem you should go to valet parking manager and describe it all to him" YES, that's right. It's me (the guest who pays money) who is to be walking around all managers and describing the hell happening in their hotel, not the front desk manager who had already heard ALL the description of the problems. Then the front desk manager asked ME (!!!) : "Okay sir now that you told me all this - WHAT SHOULD I DO WITH THIS?" - and i understood that i really am wrong with the choice of the hotel. When the STAFF asks GUESTS what to do when the hotel is one big bunch of a mess and a guest informs the staff about specific troubles - it's the end of the world. It's NOT a quality hotel. 6) ROOM CLEANING. they have NONE! ^)) I waited till 8 pm. But till 8 pm (!!!) NOBODY came in to clean out trash bins, check the towels, blankets-pillows etc stuff. Are you sure this is a hotel, not just a "rent-an-apartment" offer? so the total is: It is TRULY UNGODLY AWFUL :) We're checking out tomorrow and help us god to never ever get in one of their hotels again :))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

quite close to the river and Jackson square. Big shopping center and French quarter are in a 2-minutes walk distance.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shyan Paul
New orleans, LA
Jan 1, 2011

surrealistic NIGHTMARE for $520/newyear

we went for a new year stay in Crowne Plaza hotel from dec 31 till jan, 02, 2011. The problem is.. no, the problemS ARE these: 1) Valet parking. It was total disrespect and nightmare. We woke up at 5:00am in Houston, TX to drive earlier to N.Orleans. And when we did, we spend more than TWO HOURS (!!!) in line to valet guys :) Wow! That's pretty much of a record. The first time we came to valets, they told us that there's a line we need to take, making a round around a block. So we did. But the problem IS simple: valet guys were accepting a number of cars that were intruding the line! :)) So me, my daughter of 2,5 years and wife after more than 7 hours by car had to wait some 30-40 minutes more in the line because valets just let some drivers in fancy cars in for parking without any waiting in the line! That's just awesome! THAT's what Crowne calls service. 2) Luggage delivery "from the hotel entrance to the room". THEY have the luggage trolleys and luggage boys but they DONT DO their job! we came inside the hotel with: - 2 HUGE travel luggage cases. (trust me, heavy ones - with things for 2months long trip around usa) - 1 BIG bag that my wife placed on top of a stroller (no, there's no place for bags, it's just a try to get all the things to the room) - laptop bag/photo case - and yes a stroller And NOBODY. N O B O D Y of the staff gave a try to ask: WOULD I like any help :) I tried to ask some guy with luggage trolley to help but he just rushed towards entrance to meet some other guests :) 3) Room service. In 3:50 am (!!!!!!) i had to wake up because of... ALARM CLOCK RINGING. room service does not check alarm clocks! So thank them all so much for not letting me sleep for my money. 4) Wake up call the offer is: if u order wake up call and it's not there - u get living for FREE! And what if i DID NOT order a wake up call and got it?! I DID GET WAKE UP CALL THE SAME VERY NIGHT WHEN THE ALARM CLOCK WOKE ME UP! i JUST WANT TO SLEEP WHEN I WANT TO SLEEP! Is it that hard to let me and my family SLEEEEEEEP?! 5) Concierge who is hospitable and welcoming to the hotel guests Congrats. They have none! I dont really know the guy's name, but when i told everything i wrote above to the front desk manager, he listened all this and his replies were: (read this attentively, that's the top of the mastership of working with hotel guests): a) "It's new year's eve sir, so it's quite a mess, that's why nobody helped you with luggage, valet has a line and letting non-lined-cars in, and alarm clock + wake up calls ring". When i asked the guy "Dont you charge more for new year's night, right because it's a mess and there're so many guests" - he said "YES". I asked him WHY THE HELL should i care about the hotel's problems if i paid all the price and just want a good service for the money? - but silence was a reply to me. b) "Concerning the valet parking problem you should go to valet parking manager and describe it all to him" YES, that's right. It's me (the guest who pays money) who is to be walking around all managers and describing the hell happening in their hotel, not the front desk manager who had already heard ALL the description of the problems. Then the front desk manager asked ME (!!!) : "Okay sir now that you told me all this - WHAT SHOULD I DO WITH THIS?" - and i understood that i really am wrong with the choice of the hotel. When the STAFF asks GUESTS what to do when the hotel is one big bunch of a mess and a guest informs the staff about specific troubles - it's the end of the world. It's NOT a quality hotel. 6) ROOM CLEANING. they have NONE! ^)) I waited till 8 pm. But till 8 pm (!!!) NOBODY came in to clean out trash bins, check the towels, blankets-pillows etc stuff. Are you sure this is a hotel, not just a "rent-an-apartment" offer? so the total is: It is TRULY UNGODLY AWFUL :) We're checking out tomorrow and help us god to never ever get in one of their hotels again :))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

quite close to the river and Jackson square. Big shopping center and French quarter are in a 2-minutes walk distance.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Dec 13, 2010

New Orleans trip

Excellent service and accomodations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Dec 13, 2010

New Orleans trip

Excellent service and accomodations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top