$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
325 reviews
Great Hotel

Hotel is great! Great location, room was comfortable, all the extras were great. The staff could... See full review

  • Irwin R. Fletcher
  • Oct 10, 2014
4 night vacation

Excellent location at corner of Canal & Bourbon Streets! Could walk in the French Quarter & take... See full review

  • AddySG
  • Sep 27, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, Internet access (fees apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is $38 USD plus tax. Self-parking - on own and fees vary.
  • Internet access fee is $16.95 USD per 24-hour period.
  • This hotel does not allow coolers in rooms.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shyan Paul
Business
New orleans, LA
Jan 1, 2011

surrealistic NIGHTMARE for $520/newyear

we went for a new year stay in Crowne Plaza hotel from dec 31 till jan, 02, 2011. The problem is.. no, the problemS ARE these: 1) Valet parking. It was total disrespect and nightmare. We woke up at 5:00am in Houston, TX to drive earlier to N.Orleans. And when we did, we spend more than TWO HOURS (!!!) in line to valet guys :) Wow! That's pretty much of a record. The first time we came to valets, they told us that there's a line we need to take, making a round around a block. So we did. But the problem IS simple: valet guys were accepting a number of cars that were intruding the line! :)) So me, my daughter of 2,5 years and wife after more than 7 hours by car had to wait some 30-40 minutes more in the line because valets just let some drivers in fancy cars in for parking without any waiting in the line! That's just awesome! THAT's what Crowne calls service. 2) Luggage delivery "from the hotel entrance to the room". THEY have the luggage trolleys and luggage boys but they DONT DO their job! we came inside the hotel with: - 2 HUGE travel luggage cases. (trust me, heavy ones - with things for 2months long trip around usa) - 1 BIG bag that my wife placed on top of a stroller (no, there's no place for bags, it's just a try to get all the things to the room) - laptop bag/photo case - and yes a stroller And NOBODY. N O B O D Y of the staff gave a try to ask: WOULD I like any help :) I tried to ask some guy with luggage trolley to help but he just rushed towards entrance to meet some other guests :) 3) Room service. In 3:50 am (!!!!!!) i had to wake up because of... ALARM CLOCK RINGING. room service does not check alarm clocks! So thank them all so much for not letting me sleep for my money. 4) Wake up call the offer is: if u order wake up call and it's not there - u get living for FREE! And what if i DID NOT order a wake up call and got it?! I DID GET WAKE UP CALL THE SAME VERY NIGHT WHEN THE ALARM CLOCK WOKE ME UP! i JUST WANT TO SLEEP WHEN I WANT TO SLEEP! Is it that hard to let me and my family SLEEEEEEEP?! 5) Concierge who is hospitable and welcoming to the hotel guests Congrats. They have none! I dont really know the guy's name, but when i told everything i wrote above to the front desk manager, he listened all this and his replies were: (read this attentively, that's the top of the mastership of working with hotel guests): a) "It's new year's eve sir, so it's quite a mess, that's why nobody helped you with luggage, valet has a line and letting non-lined-cars in, and alarm clock + wake up calls ring". When i asked the guy "Dont you charge more for new year's night, right because it's a mess and there're so many guests" - he said "YES". I asked him WHY THE HELL should i care about the hotel's problems if i paid all the price and just want a good service for the money? - but silence was a reply to me. b) "Concerning the valet parking problem you should go to valet parking manager and describe it all to him" YES, that's right. It's me (the guest who pays money) who is to be walking around all managers and describing the hell happening in their hotel, not the front desk manager who had already heard ALL the description of the problems. Then the front desk manager asked ME (!!!) : "Okay sir now that you told me all this - WHAT SHOULD I DO WITH THIS?" - and i understood that i really am wrong with the choice of the hotel. When the STAFF asks GUESTS what to do when the hotel is one big bunch of a mess and a guest informs the staff about specific troubles - it's the end of the world. It's NOT a quality hotel. 6) ROOM CLEANING. they have NONE! ^)) I waited till 8 pm. But till 8 pm (!!!) NOBODY came in to clean out trash bins, check the towels, blankets-pillows etc stuff. Are you sure this is a hotel, not just a "rent-an-apartment" offer? so the total is: It is TRULY UNGODLY AWFUL :) We're checking out tomorrow and help us god to never ever get in one of their hotels again :))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

quite close to the river and Jackson square. Big shopping center and French quarter are in a 2-minutes walk distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 13, 2010

New Orleans trip

Excellent service and accomodations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Key largo fl
Dec 12, 2010

cancellation

I think that it is ridiculous that you cannot cancel because of a family emergency and never plan to use you organization ever again. I have for many trip and were planning to use it for our trip to Hawaii next year but someone else will get to benefit from us not you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLAII
Business
Phila Pa and Elkton Maryland
Dec 5, 2010

Trip to New Orleans!!!!

the hotel was beautiful and were surprised was decorated for Christmas already!!!!! Location to Bourbon street awesome which is why we selected it pics are are exactly what it is!!!!! Highly recommend!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
spanish fort
Nov 28, 2010

good to go...

the Hotel was properly and the employees where very polite and helpfully. The Restaurant was also good but the Cafe as well the cafe Latte could be better...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect location for folks who wants to become acquainted with the night life and do not want to walk that much...also you can reach the harbor and other stuff really fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BCF
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 15, 2010

Perfect

Great location, room was clean, noise from Bourbon Street was minimal. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Couldn't ask for better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
French Quarter Celebrant
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 15, 2010

Great accomodations at a great price

Was in New Orleans Friday afternoon through Sunday afternoon in November for a friends wedding. Our party consisted of two couples (splitting a room to save some $$$) and was looking for a hotel in the French Quarter. The Astor Crowne plaza had the cheapest rates. Also of note, of similarly priced hotels, it was the only one that appeared to offer queen beds rather than full. We got a room with two queen beds and it was beautiful. The room was quite large, the beds were very comfortable, had central A/C, etc. We spent the entire weekend in the French Quarter, and the Crowne Plaza's location at the corner of bourbon and canal was perfect for our group of 20-somethings. The only drawback is that the hotel doesn't offer free wi-fi. Instead, there is a small charge per 24 hours of internet access. I did find out, however, only after paying the charge, that there is free wi-fi accessible in the lobby. Otherwise, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the touristy restaurants on Decatur St. and check out some of the more authentic cafes and restaurants between Bourbon and Decatur (e.g. Pierre Masperos on Royal).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 14, 2010

Above Average

We were put in the wrong room the first night (queen bed instead of king). A quick discussion with the front desk the next morning saw us moved into the correct room and our wifi ($9.99/night) comped for the duration of our stay. The rooms were very clean and new. Every staff member we spoke to (front desk, valet, and phone operator) was very friendly. The location is a perfect balance between the French Quarter and downtown. There were unsavory characters around the outside of the hotel but its New Orleans. There are lots of unsavory characters everywhere, but isn't that what we all came to see? Regardless we always felt comfortable inside the hotel. We had trouble with noisy hotel neighbors one night. There was a rowdy group of 10-15 people that came back around 4am and mingled in the hall until we called the front desk at 5am. I think security did a good job of breaking them up. Overall an excellent stay. FYI: Valet parking (vehicles stored eight blocks away) is $32.00/night. Room wifi is average and $9.99/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
memphis, tn
Nov 4, 2010

so much to see and do in one location

the first thing i looked for in the hotel room was a refrigerator, there wasn't one, also somebody had written some sort of dirty note on the room do not disturb sign and it was not changed out when we arrived for our stay. The room itself and everything else was o.k.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed all the nearby shops, you can browse one after another, I also enjoyed the set up shopping area in the lobby of the hotel that the ladies had there, that was great I purchased a couple of things right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston Texas
Oct 25, 2010

Good location!

Nice hotel, great Location but expensive valet, and they took too long and we had to walk 8 blocks in the rain to get our car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top