Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 CANAL STREET @ BOURBON, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
468 reviews
Fantastic weekend in New Orleans, LA !

Everything was the best! Also, hotel was in walking area to the events in New Orleans. Had a great... See full review

  • GRTT
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi (fees may apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (468)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
468 out of 468
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dite
Business
New Orleans
Feb 16, 2011

Hotel [...] Review

My room was not cleaned from the last guest. On the way out, I told the front desk to please have the room cleaned for when I returned in the evening. When I returned at 8:30 pm, the room had not been cleaned. I again informed the front desk. They were sincerly apologetic, gave me a basket of juices and snacks to try to make it up to me. You can judge for yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dite
Business
New Orleans
Feb 16, 2011

Hotel [...] Review

My room was not cleaned from the last guest. On the way out, I told the front desk to please have the room cleaned for when I returned in the evening. When I returned at 8:30 pm, the room had not been cleaned. I again informed the front desk. They were sincerly apologetic, gave me a basket of juices and snacks to try to make it up to me. You can judge for yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanba
Chicago
Feb 5, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Value!

This hotel is the best value I have encountered and an absolutely perfect French Quarter location. It is at the outer edge of Bourbon Street, so you are steps from the action but get none of the noise. We requested a high floor (14 floors total), which probably helped. The lobby is lovely and the whole hotel is extremely clean. There is a business center offering 3 computers with internet for guests. Rooms are large and very clean. Great workout room and indoor pool. I was expecting a budget hotel but this far surpassed our expectations. Staff was also really wonderful, accommodating and helpful. My only criticism is that we waited 35 minutes to get our car out of hotel parking on Sunday morning. The hotel's parking is by valet only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the trolley rather than cabs if you plan to visit other areas. It stops right in front of the hotel, comes very frequently (never waited more than 10 minutes), and is only $1.25. Plus you experience a lot more of the city and residents. Also, if you are looking for a wonderful down-homey local breakfast, away from the French Quarter tourist traps, take the trolley about 1 mile straight up Canal Street to Betsy's Pancake House (you could even walk it if you're in the mood). We stopped there while picking up our rental car and had a fantastic breakfast. Highly recommend it if you are looking for some local flavor.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanba
Chicago
Feb 5, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Value!

This hotel is the best value I have encountered and an absolutely perfect French Quarter location. It is at the outer edge of Bourbon Street, so you are steps from the action but get none of the noise. We requested a high floor (14 floors total), which probably helped. The lobby is lovely and the whole hotel is extremely clean. There is a business center offering 3 computers with internet for guests. Rooms are large and very clean. Great workout room and indoor pool. I was expecting a budget hotel but this far surpassed our expectations. Staff was also really wonderful, accommodating and helpful. My only criticism is that we waited 35 minutes to get our car out of hotel parking on Sunday morning. The hotel's parking is by valet only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the trolley rather than cabs if you plan to visit other areas. It stops right in front of the hotel, comes very frequently (never waited more than 10 minutes), and is only $1.25. Plus you experience a lot more of the city and residents. Also, if you are looking for a wonderful down-homey local breakfast, away from the French Quarter tourist traps, take the trolley about 1 mile straight up Canal Street to Betsy's Pancake House (you could even walk it if you're in the mood). We stopped there while picking up our rental car and had a fantastic breakfast. Highly recommend it if you are looking for some local flavor.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Summerville, SC
Feb 1, 2011

Excellent Service

We had wonderful service throughout our 4 day visit. The beds were awesome! From check-in to check-out, we got anything we asked for. We arrived from the airport Friday, Jqn. 28, at 12 NOON, and were allowed to check in immediately, and our flight on Monday was not until 4:30 pm so after we checked out, the bellman kept our luggage in storage until we were ready to take a taxi after lunch. Nobody refused any request and every employee had a smile and a happy attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

2-3 blocks down Bourbon St, is a club called Chris Owens Club. The Lady is 80 years old and performs like a 25 year old. She is amazing, and involves the audience in her performance. One of the best places we went!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Summerville, SC
Feb 1, 2011

Excellent Service

We had wonderful service throughout our 4 day visit. The beds were awesome! From check-in to check-out, we got anything we asked for. We arrived from the airport Friday, Jqn. 28, at 12 NOON, and were allowed to check in immediately, and our flight on Monday was not until 4:30 pm so after we checked out, the bellman kept our luggage in storage until we were ready to take a taxi after lunch. Nobody refused any request and every employee had a smile and a happy attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

2-3 blocks down Bourbon St, is a club called Chris Owens Club. The Lady is 80 years old and performs like a 25 year old. She is amazing, and involves the audience in her performance. One of the best places we went!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisville, MS
Jan 24, 2011

New Orleans Vacation

My husband and I stayed in the Aston Crowne Plaza in New Orleans, LA. The hotel was very nice, and the staff was wonderful. We stayed for two nights. The hotel was located in the heart of the French Quarter. Everything we wanted to see and do was within walking distance. We had a wonderful time and can not wait to go back. We would definitly recommend using [...]. We saved close to $100 per night, which gave us that much more spending money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the conceierge at your hotel the best resturants to eat at within walking distance. They are always very helpful and well informed.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisville, MS
Jan 24, 2011

New Orleans Vacation

My husband and I stayed in the Aston Crowne Plaza in New Orleans, LA. The hotel was very nice, and the staff was wonderful. We stayed for two nights. The hotel was located in the heart of the French Quarter. Everything we wanted to see and do was within walking distance. We had a wonderful time and can not wait to go back. We would definitly recommend using [...]. We saved close to $100 per night, which gave us that much more spending money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the conceierge at your hotel the best resturants to eat at within walking distance. They are always very helpful and well informed.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 17, 2011

Perfect location

The hotel was perfectly located for our trip. It was a good base and not too noisy being on Bourbon and Canal as we thought it might be. The people were friendly and accomodating. The rooms are clean; nothing special, though. If something did not work, they were right there to fix it. The bar and restaurant were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The streetcar will take you to the Garden District and a walk out the hotel door puts you in the heart of music, dining and galleries.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 17, 2011

Perfect location

The hotel was perfectly located for our trip. It was a good base and not too noisy being on Bourbon and Canal as we thought it might be. The people were friendly and accomodating. The rooms are clean; nothing special, though. If something did not work, they were right there to fix it. The bar and restaurant were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The streetcar will take you to the Garden District and a walk out the hotel door puts you in the heart of music, dining and galleries.

Back to menu Return to top