$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
View map of 739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 7, 2007

My review of Crowne Plaza Hotel ASTOR-NEW ORLEANS

I thought the hotel was very nice. However, I heard other guests state they seen mice. I was not pleased when I herad that. Also, when housekeeping cleaned my room. They did not dust the furniture or vacum only made the bed. I was not pleased with that.Besides that my stay was okay. I did however, love the bed. It was very very very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 17, 2011

Perfect location

The hotel was perfectly located for our trip. It was a good base and not too noisy being on Bourbon and Canal as we thought it might be. The people were friendly and accomodating. The rooms are clean; nothing special, though. If something did not work, they were right there to fix it. The bar and restaurant were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The streetcar will take you to the Garden District and a walk out the hotel door puts you in the heart of music, dining and galleries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisville, MS
Jan 24, 2011

New Orleans Vacation

My husband and I stayed in the Aston Crowne Plaza in New Orleans, LA. The hotel was very nice, and the staff was wonderful. We stayed for two nights. The hotel was located in the heart of the French Quarter. Everything we wanted to see and do was within walking distance. We had a wonderful time and can not wait to go back. We would definitly recommend using [...]. We saved close to $100 per night, which gave us that much more spending money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the conceierge at your hotel the best resturants to eat at within walking distance. They are always very helpful and well informed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanba
Business
Chicago
Feb 5, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Value!

This hotel is the best value I have encountered and an absolutely perfect French Quarter location. It is at the outer edge of Bourbon Street, so you are steps from the action but get none of the noise. We requested a high floor (14 floors total), which probably helped. The lobby is lovely and the whole hotel is extremely clean. There is a business center offering 3 computers with internet for guests. Rooms are large and very clean. Great workout room and indoor pool. I was expecting a budget hotel but this far surpassed our expectations. Staff was also really wonderful, accommodating and helpful. My only criticism is that we waited 35 minutes to get our car out of hotel parking on Sunday morning. The hotel's parking is by valet only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the trolley rather than cabs if you plan to visit other areas. It stops right in front of the hotel, comes very frequently (never waited more than 10 minutes), and is only $1.25. Plus you experience a lot more of the city and residents. Also, if you are looking for a wonderful down-homey local breakfast, away from the French Quarter tourist traps, take the trolley about 1 mile straight up Canal Street to Betsy's Pancake House (you could even walk it if you're in the mood). We stopped there while picking up our rental car and had a fantastic breakfast. Highly recommend it if you are looking for some local flavor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rozbwl
Business
TYLER,TEXAS
Jan 3, 2011

PERFECT LOCATION

HOTEL WAS ABOVE AVERAGE, AT THE CORNER OF BOURBON AND CANAL. PARKING WAS A BIT HIGH.BUT RIGHT ON THE EDGE OF THE QUARTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A LOT OF OPTIONS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st amant, la
Jan 3, 2011

Nice and clean in a great location

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABear
Business
Texas
Jan 5, 2011

Great Location

The Hotel and staff were great. The location at the end of Bourbon St. was a good thing for what we were wanting to do and the The Bourbon House resturant was a must eat at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Harrahs Casino was a short walk down Canal St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
French Quarter Celebrant
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 15, 2010

Great accomodations at a great price

Was in New Orleans Friday afternoon through Sunday afternoon in November for a friends wedding. Our party consisted of two couples (splitting a room to save some $$$) and was looking for a hotel in the French Quarter. The Astor Crowne plaza had the cheapest rates. Also of note, of similarly priced hotels, it was the only one that appeared to offer queen beds rather than full. We got a room with two queen beds and it was beautiful. The room was quite large, the beds were very comfortable, had central A/C, etc. We spent the entire weekend in the French Quarter, and the Crowne Plaza's location at the corner of bourbon and canal was perfect for our group of 20-somethings. The only drawback is that the hotel doesn't offer free wi-fi. Instead, there is a small charge per 24 hours of internet access. I did find out, however, only after paying the charge, that there is free wi-fi accessible in the lobby. Otherwise, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the touristy restaurants on Decatur St. and check out some of the more authentic cafes and restaurants between Bourbon and Decatur (e.g. Pierre Masperos on Royal).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern California Traveler
Business
Fullerton, CA
Jan 3, 2011

New Year's Eve in the Big Easy

This classic, but well equipt, hotel offerred us easy access to bourbon street with the ability to have a quiet sanctuary when needed. The staff were polite and knowledgable. I would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk from many, many, many restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alk00
Business
Garfield, NJ
Jan 2, 2011

Good hotel with excellent location

This hotel is an excellent location close to the French Quarter. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. Couple of small issues are that you have to pay extra for Internet access 9.95 for 24 hr. That is a little high considering most hotels don't charge for this service. If you happen to stay in a room close to the central air-conditioning system you wll constantly hear the noise. Averall this is a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top