$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
305 reviews
Fantastic weekend in New Orleans, LA !

Everything was the best! Also, hotel was in walking area to the events in New Orleans. Had a great... See full review

  • GRTT
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi (fees may apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (305)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
305 out of 305
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mscontractor
North Carolina
Nov 26, 2012

First Visit to New Orleans

Crowne Plaze New Orleans is located at an excellent location on Canal St between Burbon St (party street) and Royal St (antique shopping). Most tourist attractions are within walking distance, and you'd appreciate it when you are looking for a bathroom. I spent 4 nights at this hotel, I arrived late on Wed night, a little bit upset because the room was too cold and I had to wait till maintenance to show up to adjust thermostat since the sensor was located behind wall panel to be opened with a screw-driver. It took over two days for the room to warm up. Otherwise hotel service and amenities were wonderful. The manager left a holiday greeting voicemail, maid service was efficient and thorough (I left the room late following day, came back after lunch in two hours and the room was made up already). Large closet space, modern and comfortable beds and sheets, I slept soundly. I wish they have a refrigerator though so I could store some emergency orange juice to quench the early morning thirst from drinking too much. Hotel has six elevators so you don't wait long for a car. New Orleans was a super crazy town, everybody partied loud on the street but the only noise I got was from my neighbors dancing and singing in the hallway, GO Saints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tinetine
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 25, 2014

Good location, Not the best amenities

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a business trip. My phone in the room didn't work and the walls were paper thin you could hear everything. The room was clean and the location was great, but I had wished there had been a bit more for the amount I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hot in NOLA
New Orleans
Jun 23, 2014

Falls a bit short of expectations

We liked the location of this hotel which is on the corner of Canal and Bourbon street, on the west boarder of the French Quarter. When we arrived at the front desk there was only one other hotel guest in front of us who were already having a conversation with two of the hotel receptionists. We waited several minutes while they carried on in what appeared to be a conversation about where to go to see a show. At no time did either of the receptionists make eye contact with us or acknowledge our arrival to welcome us or assure us that they would be with us shortly! When a third receptionist arrived, I thought we would finally be checked in, but to my dismay, she too made no eye contact! I finally approached her and asked if we could get checked in and she looked up as if surprised to see I was there. We were also disappointed with the salt water swimming pool which looks much larger in the photo provided on the website. It was really small, so much so, that we didn't even bother. The biggest disappointment was however our room experience. We arrived late around eight after a long drive through horriblble traffic. We were hungry and tired and after checking in went directly out for dinner. It was oppressively hot in New Orleans in June, so when we finished eating we were looking forward to returning to our cool, air conditioned room. Unfortunately, when we opened the door to our room, we immediately realized that the room was warm. Thinking that all I needed to do was to turn down the thermostat, I attempted to do so, only to realize that the AC unit was not working. We called the operator and shortly later a maintenance man arrived and got the unit working after trouble shooting it. Great! All set, no big deal, right? Well, maybe not. The next morning we left the hotel to walk around the French Quarter, have lunch and see the sights. Again, it was unbearably hot with temps in the low 90's. After three hours we couldn't take the heat any longer and decided to return to our room to cool down and relax. What disappointment to enter our room and find it hot inside! Our AC unit was not working again! A maintenance man arrived again and spent well over an hour trouble shooting the unit, leaving and returning three times in the process. He finally determined that the unit needed to have the motor replaced and that we needed to be moved to another room. At no time did the front desk or anyone from management contact us to convey any concern for our troubles or to offer an apology for the inconvenience. A hotel employee showed up at our door with the keys to the new room, but appeared annoyed when we requested a Bell Hop to assist us with moving our luggage. Our new room was smaller than the original room and when we pulled back the curtain we found a brick wall for our "view"! At least the AC unit worked, lol!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid Burbon street ( unless you are seeking strip clubs)

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GRTT
Prairieville LA
Jun 11, 2014

Fantastic weekend in New Orleans, LA !

Everything was the best! Also, hotel was in walking area to the events in New Orleans. Had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street is Red Fish Grill. Delicious!!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristin BR
Louisiana
Jun 10, 2014

Will NEVER go back!!!

It was horrible! We checked in on Friday, and were given our room. When we got there, the inside latch was done (how, I don't know), so we couldn't get in. When we told them, they acted like we were lying. They sent someone and realized they'd have to give us another room. The next room was 79 degrees! They told us it was because it had not been on, and needed about 15 min to cool down. We left for lunch, and returned 7 hours later....still 79 degrees! So we told them, and they sent someone. He worked on it for almost 2 hours, and said he'd be back. By the time he came back and told us we would have to switch rooms again, it was midnight. The 3rd room they gave us had cockroaches! When we told them, they didn't apologize....they just laughed and said how resilient roaches were! The fourth room was smaller and not what we paid for, but by then it was 1 AM and we had children with us. The manager have us some free breakfasts, 2 movies, and $75 in room service. However, we couldn't order the movies bc the remote wouldn't work. We had to ask 3 times, and wait over 2 hours before they brought us a remote that would work. Then we when for the bill, they tried charging us 2 extra spots for parking and wanted to argue with me! The manager at that time was Irelon. Not at ALL friendly or apologetic!!! They refused to accommodate us in any other way! We were all so disappointed! I plan on telling everyone to NOT stay at the Crowne Plaza! I have no idea how it is ranked a 4 star hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D Renee
Gulf Breeze, Fl
Jun 10, 2014

Was very disappointed with this Crowne!!!!

The valet staff was the most polite at the hotel. The air conditioners in the room were not working well. We had to move rooms. The front desk staff was rude!! The management was not helpful. I chose the Astor Crowne Plaza for a mother daughter weekend and could not believe the poor service and condition of the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone accustomed to staying at a nice hotel with great service. The only plus was the location but in New Orleans there are plenty of nice hotels with great locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palace Cafe is a few steps away from the front door of the hotel. The food and service there was fantastic. Make plans to have jazz brunch on Sunday!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kvth
new york
Jun 8, 2014

No A/C in June!

It was a fine hotel, good location and we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, since we were in new orleans. but for 5 of the 7 nights we stayed the A/C was broken...often hotter inside than in the 90 degree outside...and there was no offer for compensation, nor seemingly any urgency on their part to fix it. Wish we'd stayed somewhere else...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hottlava
Columbus, Oh
Jun 3, 2014

great location

Air conditioning went out overnight, they worked fast to get it restored and offered a discount on our nights stay,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dw615
Seattle, WA
Jun 2, 2014

Great location, needs a little more attention to detail

Location is great if you want to be right on Bourbon. The Hotel Desk staff was great! The overall cleanliness of our room was not

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sodusmom
Benton Harbor, MI
May 12, 2014

Needs Improvement

The first full day required a call at 7pm to housekeeping to have our room cleaned. Thought maybe they just missed it. Next day they did get there earlier...5pm. Third day was a repeat of 5pm. Used glasses were left. Ice bucket was not emptied. All they did was change the towels and make the beds. Never got new sheets the entire time. No coffee available in the lobby. Breakfast was terribly expensive. Staff never asked about our stay when we checked out. No thank you for coming. Nothing. I will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paint me a Birmingham
Mississippi
May 6, 2014

Just ok

Average room. The only thing worth noting was the bathroom. The tub had mold in the grout. And the tub seemed dirty, in general. Another silly, but annoying thing was the toilet paper roll was so far from the toilet, and they didn't get the new roll started, so I was struggling to reach it and get it started (and I have long arms!). Good location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search