$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
309 reviews
Only place to stay

Location doesn't get better - right at the entrance of Bourbon St, but it faces Canal so I never... See full review

  • Couple n' dog
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great Location & Upscale for Crowne!@!

This location is right next to Bourbon Street and Canal where everything is at. Trolley's are out... See full review

  • krestkove
  • Sep 9, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, Internet access (fees apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.
Policies and fees
Internet access fee is $16.95 USD per 24-hour period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (309)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
309 out of 309
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham, AL
Apr 24, 2011

Overall good

Awesome location just around the corner from Bourbon Street. The rooms were nice and clean. Staff was helpful, except with one situation; A member of our party needed a key and they wouldn't give one because her name wasn't on the room, so don't forget your key. I do understand the security measure, but she had all the information on the room, just no id with my name on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweet Rae
Philly
Apr 24, 2011

Super hotel, awesome location

We picked this hotel for the great rates and awesome location. It's right on Bourbon Street, so you're in the middle of the action. But the room was very clean and quiet, updated bed and bathroom. The staff was polite. We will stay here on our next trip for sure. Wish we could stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a drink and sit in the shade in Jackson Square. There is live music everywhere, so you can just soak it up

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 23, 2011

Very nice, great location

This hotel has recently undergone renovations. Everything was clean and beautiful. If you plan on going to Bourbon Street I would definitely recommend this hotel, as it is a quick, safe, well-lit walk back to the hotel. Also a great location for exploring the French Quarter. We were also able to easily access the trolley and street car from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a Haunted History Tour. I took the Voodoo tour and found it to be informational and entertaining. It is $20 for a two hour walking tour.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Apr 18, 2011

Great hotel - perfect location!

Great hotel for experiencing everything New Orleans has to offer. Although it's on the corner of Bourbon and Canal, the room was very quiet. The complimentary blindfold and earplugs were a nice touch, but didn't need them.The hotel is a nice combination of historic building with the modern comforts you'd expect from a brand like Crowne Plaza.We spent several hours researching hotels in the French Quarter...the reviews on [...]did not lie - this hotel exceeded our expectations.+ Nice rooftop pool+ Amazing hotel gym (one of the best I've ever seen)The staff were extremely helpful and made our stay extremely enjoyable.Great value for the rate too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Head down to Frenchmen street at the other end of the French Quarter to see some awesome live music.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mar
Boston, MA
Apr 12, 2011

Great Location for the price.

Hotel was attractive, very clean and an exceptionally convenient location. You can easily walk to any spot in the French Quarter or the Riverwalk or take a short trolley ride to the Garden District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Terrific restaurants that I would highly recommend include the Red Fish Grille or the Bourbon House are within 100 feet of the hotel.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Apr 1, 2011

Not great, but certainly OK

This hotel was just OK. The reason it gets an "OK" from me is that it represents itself as a 4 star property. It is definitely a solid 3 star, but it is really a stretch to call it a 4 star. I was in an Executive Club King room. It was large enough for two without feeling cramped. However, the bathroom was dated and there was damage to both the tub finish and the caulking around the sink area. A 4 star property would have this taken care of. On my second night, the grate came off of the Air Conditioning housing unit and slammed into the mirror frightening both of us at 2am. When we reported it the next morning, we expected someone to come and take a look. That did not happen and the grate remained on the floor for the remainder of the stay. A 4 star property would have taken care of this immediately and we would have at least heard from the manager. Throughout my stay we encountered friendly and willing staff. However, they were under-trained in hotel customer service. While I appreciate cultural norms (this was New Orleans after all), I do not appreciate being called "baby, honey, sugar, and darlin'" by the hotel staff. In addition, the front desk and room service lines repeatedly rang without answer. When I finally got through to room service, the nice young man was a second language learner and was completely baffled by the words I was speaking. I had to ask for a manager so I could place my order. The young man was eager to please, but not trained to take a room service order. Again, a 4 star hotel does not allow this to happen. On the bed when I checked in was a little bag with linen spray, one set of ear plugs, and one eye mask. This seemed a little gimicky to me. A 4 star hotel would have provided environment buffers like these on demand and in a quantity suitable for the entire room. On the plus side, the delivery of the room service was lighting fast with friendly people coming to your door to set up the table. My order was not cooked as requested and they quickly corrected the issue. I don't expect perfection just good service. Mistakes happen and the room service folks fixed it. Well done! Housekeeping was also exemplary. The hotel was clean in general and SAFE which is really important. The location was perfect and walkable to many attractions. Our room was quiet even though it was on the corner of Burbon and Canal. Overall, I would stay here again, but only at a discounted rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Big Bear, CA
Mar 30, 2011

Astor Crowne Plaza

Great experience. Great views. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sophisticated Urbanite
New York, NY
Mar 29, 2011

Great time

Long weekend touring the French Quarter and the Garden District, and enjoying a number of terrific restaurants. The hotel is quite elegant, with a nice lobby bar area and an excellent restaurant. Check-in was efficient and bags were delivered quickly to the room. There is a good fitness center and a small outdoor pool. The room was quiet (unspectacular view) and well appointed. Maid service was thorough and unobtrusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GW Fins, a superb fish restaurant (also has good meat dishes), only two blocks away.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tennessee
Mar 28, 2011

Great Location! :)

The Crowne Plaza Astor-New Orleans did not disappoint on my recent bachelorette weekend in New Orleans. The location was perfect--right on the corner of Bourbon Street, close to the trolley, and within walking distace of fantastic French Quarter restaurants. We felt safe and were pleased with the hotel staff. Our only criticism was that the outdoor pool was completely shaded. Overall, we had a great trip, thanks in part to the location of the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Mar 18, 2011

"Great location"

The hotel staff was very friendly, and helpful. We had a long day before our arrival and were greeted warmly, checked in quickly and were delighted with our room. This was our best hotel experience so far in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana

Back to menu Return to top

Change search