$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 CANAL STREET @ BOURBON, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
279 reviews
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Great Location

Very nice stay . Room was clean ,the staff was nice and polite . I will always stay here when am... See full review

  • Yellow camero
  • Aug 19, 2013
Fine dining, lavish rooms and Southern hospitality at this Big Easy gem

Standing tall and majestic, the Crown Plaza New Orleans French Quarter is a luxurious hotel that is conveniently located close to many of the treasures located throughout this historic city. For business travelers, the hotel boasts 32,000 square feet of space for events as well as a business center and free Wi-Fi in the lobby. Also located on the premises is Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant and Seafood Bar, where travelers are able to enjoy some fantastic local seafood. For swimmers, a beautiful saltwater pool is a great place to exercise or relax.

Reasons to stay
  • Close proximity to entertainment, shops, dining and recreation
  • Elegant, sophisticated decor, yet comfortable and welcoming
  • Saltwater pool on rooftop
  • Valet parking (fees apply)
Crown Plaza New Orleans French Quarter rooms

When staying at the Crown Plaza New Orleans French Quarter, guests receive complimentary items such as lavender linen spray and eye masks, designed to help them relax and get a good night's rest. There are 693 guest rooms and 33 suites. Standard room amenities include things such as flat screen TVs, in-room safes and free daily delivery of USA Today. Suites include a bedroom and generally also have pull out sofas and dining tables.

Things to do nearby
  • Bourbon Street (0.0 mi/0.0 km)
  • Shops at Canal Place (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Saenger Theater (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Harrah's Casino (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Jackson Square and Preservation Hall (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Aquarium of the Americas (0.8 mi/1.4 km)


    Policies and Fees
    • Valet parking fee is $34 USD plus tax per 24-hour period.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Amenities

    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Executive level
    Ice machine
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Children's activities
    Golf
    Tennis
    Dining
    Coffee maker in room
    Lounge
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Maid service
    Concierge desk
    ATM/Cash machine
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Porters
    FAX
    Overhead projector
    Parking
    Parking
    Valet parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities
    Room
    Satellite TV
    DVD player
    Safe
    Desk with lamp
    Free newspaper
    Hairdryer in room
    Cribs available
    In room movies
    Temperature control
    Computer in Room
    Ironing board
    Bath tub

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    29.9535 -90.0694
    Nearby airports
    New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
    Area description
    Downtown, downtown

    Nearby points of interest

    • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
    • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
    • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
    • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
    • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
    • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
    • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
    • Storyville: 0.5 mi
    • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
    • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
    • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
    • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
    • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
    • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
    • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
    • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
    • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
    • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
    • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
    • Storyville: 0.5 mi
    • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
    • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
    • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
    • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
    • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
    • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
    • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
    • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
    • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
    • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
    • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
    • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
    • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
    • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
    • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
    • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
    • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
    • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
    • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
    • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi
    • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    04:00 PM
    Check-out:
    11:00 AM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (279)

    Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Overall score

    4 / 5
    279 out of 279
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4.3
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.7
    Value:
    4

    91% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    5
    mscontractor
    North Carolina
    Nov 26, 2012

    First Visit to New Orleans

    Crowne Plaze New Orleans is located at an excellent location on Canal St between Burbon St (party street) and Royal St (antique shopping). Most tourist attractions are within walking distance, and you'd appreciate it when you are looking for a bathroom. I spent 4 nights at this hotel, I arrived late on Wed night, a little bit upset because the room was too cold and I had to wait till maintenance to show up to adjust thermostat since the sensor was located behind wall panel to be opened with a screw-driver. It took over two days for the room to warm up. Otherwise hotel service and amenities were wonderful. The manager left a holiday greeting voicemail, maid service was efficient and thorough (I left the room late following day, came back after lunch in two hours and the room was made up already). Large closet space, modern and comfortable beds and sheets, I slept soundly. I wish they have a refrigerator though so I could store some emergency orange juice to quench the early morning thirst from drinking too much. Hotel has six elevators so you don't wait long for a car. New Orleans was a super crazy town, everybody partied loud on the street but the only noise I got was from my neighbors dancing and singing in the hallway, GO Saints!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    5
    Sweet Rae
    Philly
    Apr 24, 2011

    Super hotel, awesome location

    We picked this hotel for the great rates and awesome location. It's right on Bourbon Street, so you're in the middle of the action. But the room was very clean and quiet, updated bed and bathroom. The staff was polite. We will stay here on our next trip for sure. Wish we could stay longer.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Get a drink and sit in the shade in Jackson Square. There is live music everywhere, so you can just soak it up

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    Birmingham, AL
    Apr 24, 2011

    Overall good

    Awesome location just around the corner from Bourbon Street. The rooms were nice and clean. Staff was helpful, except with one situation; A member of our party needed a key and they wouldn't give one because her name wasn't on the room, so don't forget your key. I do understand the security measure, but she had all the information on the room, just no id with my name on it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    5
    Anonymous
    Philadelphia, PA
    Apr 23, 2011

    Very nice, great location

    This hotel has recently undergone renovations. Everything was clean and beautiful. If you plan on going to Bourbon Street I would definitely recommend this hotel, as it is a quick, safe, well-lit walk back to the hotel. Also a great location for exploring the French Quarter. We were also able to easily access the trolley and street car from the hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    Take a Haunted History Tour. I took the Voodoo tour and found it to be informational and entertaining. It is $20 for a two hour walking tour.

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    5
    Anonymous
    Houston, TX
    Apr 18, 2011

    Great hotel - perfect location!

    Great hotel for experiencing everything New Orleans has to offer. Although it's on the corner of Bourbon and Canal, the room was very quiet. The complimentary blindfold and earplugs were a nice touch, but didn't need them.The hotel is a nice combination of historic building with the modern comforts you'd expect from a brand like Crowne Plaza.We spent several hours researching hotels in the French Quarter...the reviews on [...]did not lie - this hotel exceeded our expectations.+ Nice rooftop pool+ Amazing hotel gym (one of the best I've ever seen)The staff were extremely helpful and made our stay extremely enjoyable.Great value for the rate too.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    Head down to Frenchmen street at the other end of the French Quarter to see some awesome live music.

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Mar
    Boston, MA
    Apr 12, 2011

    Great Location for the price.

    Hotel was attractive, very clean and an exceptionally convenient location. You can easily walk to any spot in the French Quarter or the Riverwalk or take a short trolley ride to the Garden District.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Terrific restaurants that I would highly recommend include the Red Fish Grille or the Bourbon House are within 100 feet of the hotel.

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    3
    Anonymous
    San Jose, CA
    Apr 1, 2011

    Not great, but certainly OK

    This hotel was just OK. The reason it gets an "OK" from me is that it represents itself as a 4 star property. It is definitely a solid 3 star, but it is really a stretch to call it a 4 star. I was in an Executive Club King room. It was large enough for two without feeling cramped. However, the bathroom was dated and there was damage to both the tub finish and the caulking around the sink area. A 4 star property would have this taken care of. On my second night, the grate came off of the Air Conditioning housing unit and slammed into the mirror frightening both of us at 2am. When we reported it the next morning, we expected someone to come and take a look. That did not happen and the grate remained on the floor for the remainder of the stay. A 4 star property would have taken care of this immediately and we would have at least heard from the manager. Throughout my stay we encountered friendly and willing staff. However, they were under-trained in hotel customer service. While I appreciate cultural norms (this was New Orleans after all), I do not appreciate being called "baby, honey, sugar, and darlin'" by the hotel staff. In addition, the front desk and room service lines repeatedly rang without answer. When I finally got through to room service, the nice young man was a second language learner and was completely baffled by the words I was speaking. I had to ask for a manager so I could place my order. The young man was eager to please, but not trained to take a room service order. Again, a 4 star hotel does not allow this to happen. On the bed when I checked in was a little bag with linen spray, one set of ear plugs, and one eye mask. This seemed a little gimicky to me. A 4 star hotel would have provided environment buffers like these on demand and in a quantity suitable for the entire room. On the plus side, the delivery of the room service was lighting fast with friendly people coming to your door to set up the table. My order was not cooked as requested and they quickly corrected the issue. I don't expect perfection just good service. Mistakes happen and the room service folks fixed it. Well done! Housekeeping was also exemplary. The hotel was clean in general and SAFE which is really important. The location was perfect and walkable to many attractions. Our room was quiet even though it was on the corner of Burbon and Canal. Overall, I would stay here again, but only at a discounted rate.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    Big Bear, CA
    Mar 30, 2011

    Astor Crowne Plaza

    Great experience. Great views. Great staff.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Sophisticated Urbanite
    New York, NY
    Mar 29, 2011

    Great time

    Long weekend touring the French Quarter and the Garden District, and enjoying a number of terrific restaurants. The hotel is quite elegant, with a nice lobby bar area and an excellent restaurant. Check-in was efficient and bags were delivered quickly to the room. There is a good fitness center and a small outdoor pool. The room was quiet (unspectacular view) and well appointed. Maid service was thorough and unobtrusive.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    GW Fins, a superb fish restaurant (also has good meat dishes), only two blocks away.

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    Tennessee
    Mar 28, 2011

    Great Location! :)

    The Crowne Plaza Astor-New Orleans did not disappoint on my recent bachelorette weekend in New Orleans. The location was perfect--right on the corner of Bourbon Street, close to the trolley, and within walking distace of fantastic French Quarter restaurants. We felt safe and were pleased with the hotel staff. Our only criticism was that the outdoor pool was completely shaded. Overall, we had a great trip, thanks in part to the location of the hotel!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    San Diego, CA
    Mar 18, 2011

    "Great location"

    The hotel staff was very friendly, and helpful. We had a long day before our arrival and were greeted warmly, checked in quickly and were delighted with our room. This was our best hotel experience so far in New Orleans.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Oceana

    Back to menu Return to top