Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
325 reviews
Great Hotel

Hotel is great! Great location, room was comfortable, all the extras were great. The staff could... See full review

  • Irwin R. Fletcher
  • Oct 10, 2014
4 night vacation

Excellent location at corner of Canal & Bourbon Streets! Could walk in the French Quarter & take... See full review

  • AddySG
  • Sep 27, 2014
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. Come experience "Southern Hospitality" at "The Place to Meet" in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in "The Big Easy" and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 3-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say "Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll" at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SaintBoy
Business
Allen, TX, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Noisy Hotel... Rude Front Desk....Small Room

Beware if you are on a lower level Floor!!! Was on Third floor and listened to the noise of Canal and Bourbon Street ALL night. They give u ear plugs in a welcoming package. That says it all. Stayed at many hotels as a frequent visitor of Nola for all major events and festivals. I always check in early and have never been once been challenged. Even though they were not sold out the night before the front desk agent looked at us like we were crazy for even thinking about checking in before 4pm. Check in at 4pm and check out is at 11am! Lousy turn around time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mona Lisa Italian on Royal St. Great service! Great Food!!! Always consistent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny Bee
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel review

We had a great time in New Orleans over New Years Eve. It was crazy and fun and the hotel was in a perfect location. They did a nice job of managing the holiday visitors and security was good. The concierge was expecially helpful. Good linens and they gave us feather pillows upon request!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Patrick O'Briens was a great choice for drinks, food and fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great Place

Overall it was great. For someone wanting pool amenities it wasn't great but everything else couldn't have been better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alamogirl74
Business
San Antonio, TX
Dec 29, 2011

GREAT HOTEL but....

Stayed here for 1 night as a Priority Club member so that meant a 2PM CHECKOUT - YEAH!...GREAT location! The hotel is situated on the corner of Bourbon and Canal street with entrances to both - right in the middle of all the action BUT the hotel is not loud. We stayed on the 12th floor with a great view of the cityline and Bourbon St. below. For the most part, everyone is friendly except for a few of the folks at check-in. The room was very nice and tastefully decorated but there were two small issues - the AC is not cold and we could not adjust it. The second being that the bed was not as comfortable as it appeared. The Kind bed was a little hard and the pillows were as well. Other than that, for the price we paid, we could not complain! You have everything within walking distance...casino, two drug stores directly across the street, food and drink everywhere and the streetcar out on Canal as well...only $1.25!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Please be warned...if you are coming here with small children and want to take a stroll on Bourbon St, there are many explicit pictures outside of the strip clubs (fortunately, our children were not with us on this trip).I don't remember it being as bad as it is now. I saw many parents covering their children's eyes because they weren't expecting to have to talk about the birds and the bees...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbeee
Business
Ontario, Canada
Dec 27, 2011

Good Location

The hotel was right around the corner from the action and lots of restaurants and bars. Close to a drug store and liquor store...everything we needed was within walking distance..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oyster house is right around the corner...:)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
luke2
Business
St Martinville, LA 70582, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Great location, clean. Rooms small.

Reservations were supposed to be one room with king bed, one room with two twins. We're told upon check in no double rooms available. One room had only shower, no tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deanie's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pocord14
Business
Ocean Springs, MS, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Excellent Value

We got a great deal with the "Papa Noel" pricing for the holidays. The hotel is really beautiful and comfortable. I am surprised that in this day a luxury hotel such as this still doesn't offer free wifi to its guests. Also, we paid for valet service only to be shuttled to a parking lot to pick up our car after checkout. That's not valet service. Other than these two minuses, I highly recommend Crowne Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nostra
Business
Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Dec 1, 2011

"Can't beat the Location"

I spent 2 days in this hotel and had a blast. You can walk right out of the lobby onto Bourbon Street. Yes, it can get loud due to Bourbon Street but I guess if you are staying here then you understand the Party is on and Popping so don't complain!! The Staff was very helpful, The rooms we're very Clean. You can walk to most attractions or take the Street Car across the street from the hotel. Great location. Food is Everywhere, seriously...in abundance. I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elcee
Business
Suffern, NY, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Great Hotel!

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The location is great. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The lobby is really elegant and Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse is a first class restaurant. The one small problem we had is one of our rooms was handicapped accessible and although the bathroom was, the bed was too high and we had to ask for a step stool. Luckily my Mom was able to do that but what would someone in a wheelchair do? Unless our needs change we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the WW II Museum and the movie!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnnyandJoe
Business
Houston
Nov 27, 2011

Good hotel, wonderful location

Good location, comfortable beds, near several famous restaurants. In general, this is a wonderful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful ACME oyster bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top