$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 CANAL STREET @ BOURBON, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
279 reviews
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Great Location

Very nice stay . Room was clean ,the staff was nice and polite . I will always stay here when am... See full review

  • Yellow camero
  • Aug 19, 2013
Fine dining, lavish rooms and Southern hospitality at this Big Easy gem

Standing tall and majestic, the Crown Plaza New Orleans French Quarter is a luxurious hotel that is conveniently located close to many of the treasures located throughout this historic city. For business travelers, the hotel boasts 32,000 square feet of space for events as well as a business center and free Wi-Fi in the lobby. Also located on the premises is Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant and Seafood Bar, where travelers are able to enjoy some fantastic local seafood. For swimmers, a beautiful saltwater pool is a great place to exercise or relax.

Reasons to stay
  • Close proximity to entertainment, shops, dining and recreation
  • Elegant, sophisticated decor, yet comfortable and welcoming
  • Saltwater pool on rooftop
  • Valet parking (fees apply)
Crown Plaza New Orleans French Quarter rooms

When staying at the Crown Plaza New Orleans French Quarter, guests receive complimentary items such as lavender linen spray and eye masks, designed to help them relax and get a good night's rest. There are 693 guest rooms and 33 suites. Standard room amenities include things such as flat screen TVs, in-room safes and free daily delivery of USA Today. Suites include a bedroom and generally also have pull out sofas and dining tables.

Things to do nearby
  • Bourbon Street (0.0 mi/0.0 km)
  • Shops at Canal Place (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Saenger Theater (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Harrah's Casino (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Jackson Square and Preservation Hall (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Aquarium of the Americas (0.8 mi/1.4 km)


    Policies and Fees
    • Valet parking fee is $34 USD plus tax per 24-hour period.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Amenities

    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Executive level
    Ice machine
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Children's activities
    Golf
    Tennis
    Dining
    Coffee maker in room
    Lounge
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Maid service
    Concierge desk
    ATM/Cash machine
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Porters
    FAX
    Overhead projector
    Parking
    Parking
    Valet parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities
    Room
    Satellite TV
    DVD player
    Safe
    Desk with lamp
    Free newspaper
    Hairdryer in room
    Cribs available
    In room movies
    Temperature control
    Computer in Room
    Ironing board
    Bath tub

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    29.9535 -90.0694
    Nearby airports
    New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
    Area description
    Downtown, downtown

    Nearby points of interest

    • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
    • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
    • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
    • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
    • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
    • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
    • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
    • Storyville: 0.5 mi
    • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
    • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
    • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
    • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
    • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
    • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
    • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
    • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
    • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
    • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
    • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
    • Storyville: 0.5 mi
    • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
    • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
    • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
    • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
    • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
    • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
    • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
    • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
    • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
    • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
    • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
    • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
    • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
    • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
    • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
    • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
    • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
    • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
    • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
    • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi
    • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    04:00 PM
    Check-out:
    11:00 AM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (279)

    Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Overall score

    4 / 5
    279 out of 279
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4.3
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.7
    Value:
    4

    91% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Cheryl Honey
    Chicago
    Oct 11, 2009

    Perfect Location corner of Bourbon St.

    The hotel was perfectly located and walking distance to everything.. The staff was sooo incredibly accomodating! The concierge was fabulous and his reccommendations were even better.. We checked in late and we received an upgrade at no charge,..Book the executive level if possible..For a few xtra $$, you receive complimentary breakfast daily and also evening cocktails with hors d euvres, served on that floor in what must have been the space for an xtra large suite, now furbished w/ comfy couches, tables, computer for your use and 2 large flat screens, books as well for reading..

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Can't miss G W Fins for dinner! They make an apple pie for you as you dine! The Red Fish was out of this world!

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    aok19
    San Francisco, CA
    Apr 9, 2013

    A great place to stay

    I've been to New Orleans 4 times now and 3 of those times, I've stayed at the Astor Crowne Plaza. It's my go-to hotel - clean, comfortable, good location and the price is right.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    Chicago, Illinois
    Jan 17, 2011

    Perfect location

    The hotel was perfectly located for our trip. It was a good base and not too noisy being on Bourbon and Canal as we thought it might be. The people were friendly and accomodating. The rooms are clean; nothing special, though. If something did not work, they were right there to fix it. The bar and restaurant were very good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    The streetcar will take you to the Garden District and a walk out the hotel door puts you in the heart of music, dining and galleries.

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    LA.
    Jul 25, 2011

    weekend getaway

    was a great place to stay for close dinner and night life.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    Harrisville, MS
    Jan 24, 2011

    New Orleans Vacation

    My husband and I stayed in the Aston Crowne Plaza in New Orleans, LA. The hotel was very nice, and the staff was wonderful. We stayed for two nights. The hotel was located in the heart of the French Quarter. Everything we wanted to see and do was within walking distance. We had a wonderful time and can not wait to go back. We would definitly recommend using [...]. We saved close to $100 per night, which gave us that much more spending money!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Ask the conceierge at your hotel the best resturants to eat at within walking distance. They are always very helpful and well informed.

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Stacy Kelley-Boss
    Houston, Texas
    Jan 4, 2010

    Excellent Trip

    Service was first rate. We were put inthe wrong room with two queen beds upon arrival and as soon as the front desk verified our reservations we were switched to a king bedroom. The front desk was always very polite and helpful. The hotel location is excellent right on the cornor of Canal and Burbon Street. The only down side was you had to valet your car and the hotel charged you $31 a night in parking fees which is a bit excessive. It can also take a while to get your car during peak times. The bonus the hotel automatically extended check-out until 2 pm since it was New Years/Sugar Bowl weekend.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    LA_expat
    Madison, MS
    Mar 22, 2010

    Superb Location, food - Valet hectic

    The location is great for FQ walkers. We never got our car until we were ready to check out. Valets were nice, but it took forever to get car because of where they had to park, and can get very hectic at busy times. I guess thats what you give up for the great address right on Canal and Bourbon. Everything is in walking distance, and the Restaurant in the hotel was great. Newer TV's would be a nice touch, along with some variety of pillows. But I would definately stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    If u like oysters dont stand in line at ACME. The Bourbon house in the hotel has a great oyster bar as does Felixs and Oceana which are very close walk.

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    babydoc
    New Jersey, USA
    Sep 8, 2011

    Good value

    Overall, good value. The only thing to criticize was the room service. Although service was prompt, food was disappointing. Otherwise, bed was extremely comfortable - firm, yet comfy. Room was clean, and staff was courteous and helpful. Great location too - just outside of the madness of Bourbon street, yet within walking distance to most major attractions. Daily parking fees were high - but I don't know how that compares to the rest of the city

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

    Mother's - best Po Boys in town!

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    New Orleans Fan
    Slidell, LA.
    Jun 21, 2009

    Great Location,Very nce hotel

    Great location, nicely appointed rooms, and very good on-site restaurant. Planning a return stay

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    USA
    Jul 15, 2007

    good location for the price

    I expected a bit more since this was a 5 star hotel. To get to my room was going through a maze and the floors changed levels so I had to carry my luggage up and down about 5 stairs. Upon returning to my hotel that night, the fire alarm was going off, but no one had an indication if there was a fire. When we received the all clear signal and went to the room, the alarm went off again. Additionally there was a man trying to check in, but had no identification. He was not allowed to check in, but did leave his bags at the checkin desk and said he would be back in an hour. This made me very nervous since this occurred when I was trying to find out if I could go to my room with the fire alarm going off.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    Bourbon is just around the corner.

    Back to menu Return to top