$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 CANAL STREET @ BOURBON, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
472 reviews
Fantastic weekend in New Orleans, LA !

Everything was the best! Also, hotel was in walking area to the events in New Orleans. Had a great... See full review

  • GRTT
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi (fees may apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.

  • The pool and fitness centre will be closed from 6-10 August 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (472)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
472 out of 472
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
babydoc
New Jersey, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Good value

Overall, good value. The only thing to criticize was the room service. Although service was prompt, food was disappointing. Otherwise, bed was extremely comfortable - firm, yet comfy. Room was clean, and staff was courteous and helpful. Great location too - just outside of the madness of Bourbon street, yet within walking distance to most major attractions. Daily parking fees were high - but I don't know how that compares to the rest of the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mother's - best Po Boys in town!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaye, Chicago lover
Asheville, NC
Sep 20, 2010

Great location to enjoy New Orleans

We loved everything about the hotel and our stay. The staff inside the hotel was tremendous. Our only complaint would be the young men outside the front door. They were there to assist with bags, get cabs,etc. and we found that they barely made eye contact with anyone. We got our own cab on two occasions. We would definitely stay again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mena's for lunch!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeaghanB.
Columbus, OH
Jan 28, 2013

Pre-Mardi Gras / Super Bowl Vacay

The location of this hotel is perfect! The front doors open to Canal St, which was perfect because there were many parades throughout the weekend, as the city was gearing up for Mardi Gras. We were able to walk into the French Quarter/ Bourbon Street/ Jackson Square within 5 minutes, which made it very nice if we wanted to swing back to the hotel to drop off souvenirs, etc. The hotel was very clean, and had an upbeat vibe. The cost of the hotel was influenced by location, as there really wasn't anything too special about the decor or hotel itself (not to take away from the hotel - just nothing overly exciting). The hotel bar was very busy - seemed like a popular spot earlier in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Felix's for amazing oysters (they were my first ever!) Visit Hotel Monteleone's Carousel Bar - it actually spins! Visit Frenchman Street if you want to feel like a local.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
elizabethtown, Kentucky
Jul 27, 2009

aniversary holiday

we had a great time at the crown plaza. the location is fantastic. with bourbon and canal streets right there, you dont have to walk far to any destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we ate dinner at galatories resturant for our aniversary meal and the food was outstanding. Another great little place is the gumbo shop resturant it had the best seafood gumbo.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
spanish fort
Nov 28, 2010

good to go...

the Hotel was properly and the employees where very polite and helpfully. The Restaurant was also good but the Cafe as well the cafe Latte could be better...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect location for folks who wants to become acquainted with the night life and do not want to walk that much...also you can reach the harbor and other stuff really fast.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 13, 2009

This is a beautiful and great hotel!

Great time! Excellent location. Walking distance to everything! Only drawback was the long wait for the valet parking. We waited to check into valet parking about 20 mins and there was only 2 cars in front of us! Then there were no other options to self park. Valet was the only option and it was expensive for the quality of service upon arrival

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street has everything! You don't need to drive anywhere!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
OFallon, IL
Jun 15, 2009

Bourbon Street week-end

Great service from everyone from the front desk staff to housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is on the corner of Canal and Bourbon, close to everything in the French Quarter

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gulfport, MS
Apr 28, 2007

Great Location

Wonderful hotel, great staff and perfect location. Only complaint is the parking, it is very expensive and it is a very long wait for the valet to bring your car back. I would advise anyone staying at this hotel to find other parking arrangements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need and want is located within walking distance. Arrange parking.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Markijoe
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Apr 9, 2012

As Close to Bourbon Street Without Being On It !!!!

We were very pleased with our hotel selection. Convenient to everything we went to do. The Riverwalk, Bourbon Street, nice restaurants, street car transportation (makes the Garden District and Zoo easily accessible), great seafood ( I ate oysters on half shell everyday !!). We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Gotta do Bourbon Street at night ! Great live music, drinks, food and an overall carnival of all types. Don't do this with children !

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanba
Chicago
Feb 5, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Value!

This hotel is the best value I have encountered and an absolutely perfect French Quarter location. It is at the outer edge of Bourbon Street, so you are steps from the action but get none of the noise. We requested a high floor (14 floors total), which probably helped. The lobby is lovely and the whole hotel is extremely clean. There is a business center offering 3 computers with internet for guests. Rooms are large and very clean. Great workout room and indoor pool. I was expecting a budget hotel but this far surpassed our expectations. Staff was also really wonderful, accommodating and helpful. My only criticism is that we waited 35 minutes to get our car out of hotel parking on Sunday morning. The hotel's parking is by valet only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the trolley rather than cabs if you plan to visit other areas. It stops right in front of the hotel, comes very frequently (never waited more than 10 minutes), and is only $1.25. Plus you experience a lot more of the city and residents. Also, if you are looking for a wonderful down-homey local breakfast, away from the French Quarter tourist traps, take the trolley about 1 mile straight up Canal Street to Betsy's Pancake House (you could even walk it if you're in the mood). We stopped there while picking up our rental car and had a fantastic breakfast. Highly recommend it if you are looking for some local flavor.

Back to menu Return to top