$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
View map of 739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Nurse '08
Business
Michigan
Apr 14, 2014

Quick Stay

This is in a great location (right off of Bourbon street in French Quarter). It is an older building, but well kept. Clean and no issues. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
84v65
Business
Williston ND
Apr 14, 2014

Right next to everything

Very nice hotel very nice staff would recommend it to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the pharoa
Business
cairo. egypt
Apr 4, 2014

a good choice

perfect location, good restaurants, clean and safe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Landy's seafood restaurant Yammmmmy

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bhsickler
Business
Portland
Apr 4, 2014

Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trusty Rusty
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 30, 2014

Night in New Orleans

The location of this Hotel is great. It is at the corner of Bourbon Street and Canal. Great restaurants and lots of French Quarter night life within minuets by walk. The Street Cars run right by the front of the Hotel on Canal Street. The Room was small but comfortable. Small is the norm for what you will find in the Historic French Quarter Hotels. People must have been smaller back then. Staff was courteous and very attentive. The one inconvenience was the long wait to have my car retrieved from the valet parking. apparently the Valet parking lot is off sight and it took a while (we waited 30mins) to get our car brought around to us when we checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

On a sunny day the street performers (music, magic, and fortune tellers) set up on Royal Street in the French Quarter. Royal Street runs parallel to Bourbon Street and is a refreshing break form the bar scene on Bourbon.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grewgirl4
Business
Midwest
Mar 13, 2014

Hotel Nice, But Could Upgrade Their Front Desk Service

First, the hotel is in a fantastic location, and the streetcar stops right in front of the hotel., making it very convenientt and inexpensive to get around. Room was clean, and the shower was very good. Had in-room coffee service, ironing capabilities, a blow-dryer, and a functional tv. There was a nice bar and separate restaurant downstairs, although the bar closed early at 11 p.m. Some drawbacks: There was no ice on the 13th floor the entire 4-1/2 days there despite calling to report the machine malfunction. Also, the front desk was so slow. It took forever to check-in, and it was obvious people were not happy. There should have been more employees working the front desk. Overall, it was a pleasant experience, and again, the location was really an advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working on the Bucket Lis
Business
Michigan
Mar 13, 2014

Weekend getaway.

We tried to call the hotel numerous times before we arrived to request that our rooms (traveled with friends) be located close together. No one would ever call us back. When we arrived the front desk employees were rude and not helpful. When calling the front desk, they would transfer us to another number and no one would ever answer the phone. It seems that the hotel needs more employees. But the location was perfect. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mardi Gras lover
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 3, 2014

Mardi Gras perfect

We went for Mardi Gras weekend and the location is ideal and great for being in the heart of New Orleans during Mardi Gras. The hotel was well staffed with security to make sure only paying guest were in the hotel. However, the other staff was less than good. On Friday during the peak check in time there were 2 people working the front counter while 4 others sat in the back and did nothing. Also parking for this hotel is a NIGHTMARE!! We arrived late because of traffic and were told we couldn't valet park because the parade was coming which we understood and expected. What we didn't expect was to be told the wrong address for the parking garage they use. We finally found some parking near the hotel and boy do I wish we had just left the car there and paid the price. I moved the car Saturday morning just for peace of mind to their valet. Sunday when trying to retrieve our car well before check out time I was told they were not bring cars to the hotel because of traffic and we had 2 options. We could wait an hour for a shuttle to take us or we could walk what they called 3 blocks. We choose to walk but it wasn't 3 blocks it was more like 8 blocks! We will return to this hotel but we will never use their valet parking again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nursk1211
Business
baton rouge, la
Feb 27, 2014

..

we enjoyed our stay at the astor crown plaza even though we we not in a room much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GREG AL
Business
MCKINNEY TEXAS
Feb 26, 2014

MARDI GRAS SUPERIOR LOCATION

THE LOCATION OF THIS HOTEL TO BOURBON STREET AND CANAL STREET CAN NOT GET ANY BETTER. UPON ENTERRING THIS HOTEL YOU ARE GREETED BY A LOOK OF OPULANCE. THEN THE TRUE CONDITION OF THE HOTEL IS REFELCTED IN THE ROOMS. THE CARPET WAS TORN AND FRAYED AT THE BATHROOM DOOR. THE CURTAIN DRAPERY DRAW PULL WAS BROKEN AND LAYING IN THE WINDOW SILL, THE A/C & HEATER PANEL HAD COME AWAY FROM THE WALL. THERE IS A LARGE CHIP IN THE BATHROOM SINK - A DIME SIZE PIECE OF PORCELAIN MISSING. THE UPHOLSTERY FURNITURE IS WORN AND DATED. THERE IS A LEAK SOMEWHERE IN THE DRESSING AREA AND THE CARPET WAS SATURATED AND RUINED A PIECE OF OUR LUGGAGE. THE BEDS WERE HARD AND THE PILLOWS WERE FOAM NOT DOWN - THIS WAS NOT LIKE THE WESTINS "HEAVENLY BEDDING" WE ARE USED TO. OF THE 3 NIGHTS WE WERE THERE WE DID NOT HAVE HOT WATER 2 OF THE NIGHTS AND 2 OF THE MORNINGS - MAINTENENCE WAS ADVISED. UPON ENTERRING OUR ROOM LATE ONE NIGHT PART OF THE LOCKING MECHANISM FELL OFF OUR DOOR AND WOULD NOT ALLOW THE DOOR TO BE SHUT OR LOCKED - MAINTENANCE WAS ADVISED AND CAME WITHIN 10 MINUTES. WE WERE INFORMED THE LOCK WAS INSTALLED WRONG AND WAS NOTHING WE DID. WE TIPPED THE MAINTENANCE MAN. OF THE 3 MORNINGS WE WERE THERE WE ONLY REQUIRED ROOM CLEANING AND NEW TOWELS 1 DAY. ON THE DAY WE NEEDED ASSISTANCE WITH ROOM CLEANING WE RETUENED TO OUR ROOM AT 2:30 IN THE AFTERNOON TO FIND THAT OUR ROOM WAS NOT CLEANED. WE REQUESTED NEW TOWELS WHICH LAUNDRY BROUGHT UP - NONE THE LESS, WE NEVER HAD ROOM CLEANING DURING OUR ENTIRE STAY. THE SAYING YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR DOES NOT APPLY TO THIS HOTEL - SINCE ROOMS GO FOR OVER $400 A NIGHT YOU DON'T GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. WE ARE EASY GOING AND DON'T TRY TO MAKE MANY WAVES BUT THIS HOTEL SERIOUSLY NEEDS TO GET THEIR ACT TOGETHER WHEN IT COMES TO THEIR ROOMS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top