$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
View map of 739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
367 reviews
Awesome girls long weekend

Hotel location was perfect. Right on the edge of the French Quarters and close enough to the... See full review

  • Candice V.
  • Aug 21, 2015
Fantastic place to stay!

Great hotel in the middle of everything. Highly recommended! See full review

  • Robert W.
  • Aug 15, 2015
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, Internet access (fees apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Location
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Highlights
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Fees
  • Parking is $39 USD plus tax.
  • Internet access fee is $16.95 USD per 24-hour period.
  • This hotel does not allow coolers in rooms.
Policies
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

★★★★★
$159
4.4 / 5 299 reviews
★★★
$84
4.0 / 5 327 reviews
★★★★
$89
4.4 / 5 19 reviews
★★★★
$92
4.0 / 5 452 reviews
★★★★
$84
4.2 / 5 241 reviews
★★★★
$144
4.3 / 5 290 reviews
★★★
$80
3.9 / 5 214 reviews
★★★
$90
4.0 / 5 282 reviews
★★★
$80
4.1 / 5 57 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Dining

Bourbon House
Located in the Astor Crowne Plaza, Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House is all about local seafood. If it's not in season, you won't find it on the menu. Enjoy authentic New Orleans dishes at New Orleans' premier oyster bar and seafood restaurant. Bourbon Hou
Palace Cafe
This classic New Orleans restaurant, located at the foot of the Franch Quarter, serves contempory Creole food in an upbeat and lively grand cafe. As bearers of the torch keeping Creole cusine alive and vital, Dickie Brennan and the Palace Cafe's culinary
Bourbon House Bar
Bourbon House is also more than just a name. The restaurant offers New Orleans' most extensive and impressive selection of small batch and single barrel bourbons, a delicious Frozen Bourbon Milk Punch, and the one and only New Orleans Bourbon Society.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
367 out of 367
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erniw
Business
New York, NY
Mar 5, 2013

Fun Business Trip

I wasn't really expecting much but turned out better than anticipated. The staff was exceptionally friendly and courteous. The bed was the most comfortable I've slept in in a while. Even though the room was on the corner of Canal and Bourbon, it was exceptionally quiet. The only thing that could have been better was the carpet (a bit worn) but definitely not a deal killer..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SoBou

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KimQ
Couples
N/A
Aug 25, 2015

Quick weekend getaway

Everything was wonderful..except valet parking. It's a big issue due to location. We waited 40 minutes in our vehicle to get to valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Candice V.
Friends
N/A
Aug 21, 2015

Awesome girls long weekend

Hotel location was perfect. Right on the edge of the French Quarters and close enough to the warehouse district to walk to restaurants. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room service was outstanding. Food always hot, fresh and quick. Would stay there again in a heart beat! Loved it#

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert W.
Single
Hampden
Aug 15, 2015

Fantastic place to stay!

Great hotel in the middle of everything. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michael G.
Family
N/A
Aug 15, 2015

Hotel

Hotel is old. Room basic amenities are not good. But the employees and people are nice good people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert W.
Single
Hampden
Aug 13, 2015

Great place. Highly recommended

Fabulous place. Right in the heart of Bourbon Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lt
Family
Prentiss
Aug 11, 2015

Mrs

Very good, very clean and comfortable. Would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barry H.
Family
N/A
Aug 9, 2015

Perfect location

The physical facility is showing wear and tear on the guest room levels. At times the front desk was overwhelmed by the volume of guests. But everyone was pleasantly helpful when I got their attention. Thes restaurant was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlbT
Business
Newcastle
Aug 2, 2015

Awesome conference trip

Great location. Close to all the attractions especially bourbon street. I really enjoy the McDonald breakfast next to the hotel/ Awesome deal!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darrin W.
Single
Las Vegas
Aug 1, 2015

Fun Trip with friends

The location was the best!. Staff very friendly and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ashley A.
Family
Gainesville
Jul 29, 2015

Unfriendly staff, mice, and terrible parking/valet service

My experience with this hotel started with an hour wait to pull up to the front of the hotel, which admittedly is not the hotel's fault - there is construction on Canal Street funneling 3 lanes of traffic into one lane. On check in, the hotel receptionist was extremely rude and engaged in inappropriate conversation with another receptionist while I was trying to check in. The first night we were there, we saw mice running around the base of the bar in the Bourbon House (restaurant in hotel). I tried to use my car twice during the weekend - the first time, it took 90 minutes and I had to walk to the parking garage to get my car. The second time, the valet coordinator failed to inform us we had to catch a shuttle to the parking garage, so after an hour of sitting right next to the valet desk, I asked if there was any hope of getting my car within the next hour and he said that I needed to walk across the street and catch a shuttle with no apology or acknowledgement that wasn't relayed when I asked for my car the first time. After finally getting shuttled to the parking garage, there was another 30 minute wait because even though I told them my valet number, they forgot - I just happened to see my car keys in one of their hands and asked if I was anywhere close to getting my car. The entire process took 2 hours and 15 minutes and was the most unorganized valet service I've even experienced. The hotel room was clean and comfortable, and many of the valet staff were friendly especially dealing with so many upset customers which was refreshing after dealing with the hotel receptionist. Regardless of the cessation of construction on Canal Street, I would not ever stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top