$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 CANAL STREET @ BOURBON, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
278 reviews
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Great Location

Very nice stay . Room was clean ,the staff was nice and polite . I will always stay here when am... See full review

  • Yellow camero
  • Aug 19, 2013
Fine dining, lavish rooms and Southern hospitality at this Big Easy gem

Standing tall and majestic, the Crown Plaza New Orleans French Quarter is a luxurious hotel that is conveniently located close to many of the treasures located throughout this historic city. For business travelers, the hotel boasts 32,000 square feet of space for events as well as a business center and free Wi-Fi in the lobby. Also located on the premises is Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant and Seafood Bar, where travelers are able to enjoy some fantastic local seafood. For swimmers, a beautiful saltwater pool is a great place to exercise or relax.

Reasons to stay
  • Close proximity to entertainment, shops, dining and recreation
  • Elegant, sophisticated decor, yet comfortable and welcoming
  • Saltwater pool on rooftop
  • Valet parking (fees apply)
Crown Plaza New Orleans French Quarter rooms

When staying at the Crown Plaza New Orleans French Quarter, guests receive complimentary items such as lavender linen spray and eye masks, designed to help them relax and get a good night's rest. There are 693 guest rooms and 33 suites. Standard room amenities include things such as flat screen TVs, in-room safes and free daily delivery of USA Today. Suites include a bedroom and generally also have pull out sofas and dining tables.

Things to do nearby
  • Bourbon Street (0.0 mi/0.0 km)
  • Shops at Canal Place (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Saenger Theater (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Harrah's Casino (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Jackson Square and Preservation Hall (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Aquarium of the Americas (0.8 mi/1.4 km)


    Policies and Fees
    • Valet parking fee is $34 USD plus tax per 24-hour period.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Amenities

    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Executive level
    Ice machine
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Children's activities
    Golf
    Tennis
    Dining
    Coffee maker in room
    Lounge
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Maid service
    Concierge desk
    ATM/Cash machine
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Porters
    FAX
    Overhead projector
    Parking
    Parking
    Valet parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities
    Room
    Satellite TV
    DVD player
    Safe
    Desk with lamp
    Free newspaper
    Hairdryer in room
    Cribs available
    In room movies
    Temperature control
    Computer in Room
    Ironing board
    Bath tub

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    29.9535 -90.0694
    Nearby airports
    New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
    Area description
    Downtown, downtown

    Nearby points of interest

    • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
    • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
    • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
    • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
    • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
    • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
    • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
    • Storyville: 0.5 mi
    • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
    • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
    • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
    • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
    • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
    • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
    • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
    • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
    • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
    • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
    • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
    • Storyville: 0.5 mi
    • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
    • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
    • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
    • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
    • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
    • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
    • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
    • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
    • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
    • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
    • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
    • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
    • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
    • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
    • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
    • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
    • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
    • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
    • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
    • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi
    • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    04:00 PM
    Check-out:
    11:00 AM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (278)

    Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Overall score

    4 / 5
    278 out of 278
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4.3
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.7
    Value:
    4

    91% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    5
    Erniw
    Business
    New York, NY
    Mar 5, 2013

    Fun Business Trip

    I wasn't really expecting much but turned out better than anticipated. The staff was exceptionally friendly and courteous. The bed was the most comfortable I've slept in in a while. Even though the room was on the corner of Canal and Bourbon, it was exceptionally quiet. The only thing that could have been better was the carpet (a bit worn) but definitely not a deal killer..

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    SoBou

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    84v65
    Williston ND
    Apr 14, 2014

    Right next to everything

    Very nice hotel very nice staff would recommend it to anyone

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Traveling Nurse '08
    Michigan
    Apr 14, 2014

    Quick Stay

    This is in a great location (right off of Bourbon street in French Quarter). It is an older building, but well kept. Clean and no issues. Would stay again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    5
    bhsickler
    Business
    Portland
    Apr 4, 2014

    Great place in the French Quarter

    Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    the pharoa
    Business
    cairo. egypt
    Apr 4, 2014

    a good choice

    perfect location, good restaurants, clean and safe

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Landy's seafood restaurant Yammmmmy

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Trusty Rusty
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Mar 30, 2014

    Night in New Orleans

    The location of this Hotel is great. It is at the corner of Bourbon Street and Canal. Great restaurants and lots of French Quarter night life within minuets by walk. The Street Cars run right by the front of the Hotel on Canal Street. The Room was small but comfortable. Small is the norm for what you will find in the Historic French Quarter Hotels. People must have been smaller back then. Staff was courteous and very attentive. The one inconvenience was the long wait to have my car retrieved from the valet parking. apparently the Valet parking lot is off sight and it took a while (we waited 30mins) to get our car brought around to us when we checked out.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    On a sunny day the street performers (music, magic, and fortune tellers) set up on Royal Street in the French Quarter. Royal Street runs parallel to Bourbon Street and is a refreshing break form the bar scene on Bourbon.

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Humbert
    Business
    NY
    Mar 26, 2014

    Fantastic

    For the first time among many hotels, the service was prompt to provide me with the shower chair that I always hope to find or provided with. Excellent service.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Galvez Restaurant at the FQ, 914 N Peters. I strongly recommended. The rights soft music, nice environment, bar and food.

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Working on the Bucket Lis
    Michigan
    Mar 13, 2014

    Weekend getaway.

    We tried to call the hotel numerous times before we arrived to request that our rooms (traveled with friends) be located close together. No one would ever call us back. When we arrived the front desk employees were rude and not helpful. When calling the front desk, they would transfer us to another number and no one would ever answer the phone. It seems that the hotel needs more employees. But the location was perfect. I would stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Grewgirl4
    Midwest
    Mar 13, 2014

    Hotel Nice, But Could Upgrade Their Front Desk Service

    First, the hotel is in a fantastic location, and the streetcar stops right in front of the hotel., making it very convenientt and inexpensive to get around. Room was clean, and the shower was very good. Had in-room coffee service, ironing capabilities, a blow-dryer, and a functional tv. There was a nice bar and separate restaurant downstairs, although the bar closed early at 11 p.m. Some drawbacks: There was no ice on the 13th floor the entire 4-1/2 days there despite calling to report the machine malfunction. Also, the front desk was so slow. It took forever to check-in, and it was obvious people were not happy. There should have been more employees working the front desk. Overall, it was a pleasant experience, and again, the location was really an advantage.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Mardi Gras lover
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Mar 3, 2014

    Mardi Gras perfect

    We went for Mardi Gras weekend and the location is ideal and great for being in the heart of New Orleans during Mardi Gras. The hotel was well staffed with security to make sure only paying guest were in the hotel. However, the other staff was less than good. On Friday during the peak check in time there were 2 people working the front counter while 4 others sat in the back and did nothing. Also parking for this hotel is a NIGHTMARE!! We arrived late because of traffic and were told we couldn't valet park because the parade was coming which we understood and expected. What we didn't expect was to be told the wrong address for the parking garage they use. We finally found some parking near the hotel and boy do I wish we had just left the car there and paid the price. I moved the car Saturday morning just for peace of mind to their valet. Sunday when trying to retrieve our car well before check out time I was told they were not bring cars to the hotel because of traffic and we had 2 options. We could wait an hour for a shuttle to take us or we could walk what they called 3 blocks. We choose to walk but it wasn't 3 blocks it was more like 8 blocks! We will return to this hotel but we will never use their valet parking again!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    nursk1211
    baton rouge, la
    Feb 27, 2014

    ..

    we enjoyed our stay at the astor crown plaza even though we we not in a room much

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Back to menu Return to top