$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

3 stars
124, St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
29 reviews
Great place

Great Hotel and nice area. No worries about anything . See full review

  • Billybob Jumpback
  • Jul 8, 2013
Nice night in the big easy

Nice room quiet, staff friendly And helpful, good location just off of Canal See full review

  • MikenCarol
  • Feb 22, 2014
Central hotel with Southern flavor, close to all Crescent City sights
 

The Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown near the French Quarter Hotel is an imposing corner building spread over six floors. The lobby area incorporates a stunning atrium containing a bistro and gathering area. Guests enjoy the successful combination of traditional Southern style with modern, contemporary touches such as free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and a 24-hour convenience store. Discover countless New Orleans attractions within minutes of the Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown near the French Quarter Hotel.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Offers fine accommodation close to all New Orleans attractions
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
  • On-site bistro for buffet breakfasts and delicious dinners
Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown near the French Quarter Rooms
 

The Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown near the French Quarter Hotel offers 140 stunning guest rooms decorated in traditional style, with an emphasis on comfort. Fully air-conditioned and equipped with quality bedding, guests receive a good night of sleep. A cable TV, coffee-maker, hair-dryer, ironing board and iron are in every room. For those working on the move, a large desk and an ergonomically designed work chair awaits, along with a two-line phone with voice mail. Guests keep up to date on world events with a complimentary newspaper from the lobby and the hotel information board keeps them updated on travel and airport conditions. Parking is available (fees apply) at the Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown near the French Quarter Hotel.

Things To Do:

  • Harrah's Casino (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Bourbon Street (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Confederate Memorial Hall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Natchez Steamboat Cruise (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.4 mi/0.8 km)
  • St Louis Cathedral (0.4 mi/0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Morial Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.6 km)
  • French Market (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (11.4 mi/18.5 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Scuba diving
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9529 -90.0693
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 12.00, MI, W;
Area description
Oceanfront

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your French Quarter dining destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikenCarol
Tupelo, MS
Feb 22, 2014

Nice night in the big easy

Nice room quiet, staff friendly And helpful, good location just off of Canal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful fresh seafoo at GW Finns

Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cehiend
Lafayette louisiana
Jan 14, 2014

A plus staff

Staff was very nice and helpful. Rooms were nice but beds were very hard. Location was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Juliana1977
Business
Napa, CA
Sep 13, 2013

Inexpensive and safe but....

I know it's a Courtyard, but I didn't expect that would mean my window didn't actually look outside. Other Courtyard Marriot's I've stayed in had me looking at an outside courtyard. This one looked inside across the hall at another door. The room was tiny, and there was a wierd spot on the carpet that was soaking wet, outside the bathroom, and not near the air conditioner. This was on the 3rd floor. I complained about it, but nothing was done. It's fine and it's safe for business travelers just outside of the French Quarter, but there have got to be better options out there when visiting NOLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to eat outside of the French Quarter, I recommend Lucky Rooster for Asian fusion...it was excellent, fun, and hip, and not that expensive.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LBSunShine
Memphis TN
Aug 17, 2013

Family vacation

Clean hotel friendly staff and in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon St

Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Billybob Jumpback
Katy, Texas
Jul 8, 2013

Great place

Great Hotel and nice area. No worries about anything .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from Bourbon street and all the nightlife.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ann Arbor Matt
Business
Ann Arbor
Feb 8, 2013

better than expected

This hotel was pretty nice. It is about a 2 minute walk from bourbon street. Also the parade route for Mardi gras goes right outside the front enterance. I was actually able to facetime part of the parade using the free Wifi while on the street to some family back home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMurph
Meridian, MS
Aug 26, 2012

great hotel

convenient location to bourbon street and comfortable hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WYNM
Chicago, IL
Aug 17, 2012

BED BUGS - Horrible Service

My Girlfriend, her friend and myself all stayed at this Courtyard on this February. All three of us slept in the room this evening. When we woke up all of us noticed small bite marks on different parts of our body. After getting a shower and getting into the car I slowly realized just how many bites I had on the drive back home. I was covered in bug bites. The bites were large and swollen on me and little concentrated red ones on my girlfriend. I checked my body when I got home and found 35+ bites on my scalp, eyelid, forehead, arms, legs, back, chest, and so on. Due to the severity of the bites and my swollen eye I went to the doctor who confirmed that these were bites and most likely bed bug bites due to the pattern of the bites and the location where I got them. I brought this to the manager’s attention at the hotel that proceeded to get the room checked for evidence; he called to tell me that they checked the room and did not find any trace of bedbugs. The manager I spoke with kept blaming it on bugs outside in the streets. I explained that we were no where else to get the bites and that when we entered the room no one had any bites and 8 hours later when we woke up all three of us had the same bites. I further explained that they could be fleas or something but something in the room bit all of us in an extreme manner. The manager was no help and was accusatory. I eventually got put in touch with a claims department who’s customer service was even worse than the manager at the hotel. I explained that I am a platinum member and have never filed a claim or made a formal complaint before and I stay in Marriott hotels over 200+ nights a year for 4 years now. I was still treated like a liar. No manager would ever show me proof that the room was checked and cleared of bed bugs. I forwarded the claims department photos of both my bites and my girlfriend’s bites along with a doctors bill and prescription bills for the visit after the hotel stay. I was refused any payment for my belongings that I discarded before getting back to my home. In the end Marriott treated me horrible. The management staff refused to pay for the bag that I had to throw out and the change of clothes that we threw out. I wanted my experience to be heard so that future customers can no what to expect from Marriott regarding their handling of a situation such as this. Keep in mind that I am a high level Platinum Elite member and this is how I was treated. Imagine if how they would treat someone with no status at this company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlam
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

French Quarter Festival

The hotel was very nice. It was located downtown right in the mix of things . The only negative thing is the parking. We were hit with a $60.00 parking fee at checkout. They should have mentioned that at check-in. If your staying there parking should be free.There was cheaper parking in that area that I would have considered. Other than that it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask if parking is free

Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loujtcot
Alabama, USA
Jan 12, 2012

National Campionship Football Game

The only complaint I have about the entire experience of staying at the Merriott Courtyard in New Orleans is the towels. They were very scratchy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top