$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 124, St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
28 reviews
Awesome family trip for Mardi Gras!!!

We had a great time! Staff were very nice and helpful. Wonderful location!! Very clean! Will be... See full review

  • Roleisha R.
  • Feb 10, 2015
Easy access with parking nearby

Don't expect a free breakfast, but the Starbucks was very good. See full review

  • James G.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Central hotel with Southern flavor, close to all Crescent City sights
 

The Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown near the French Quarter Hotel is an imposing corner building spread over six floors. The lobby area incorporates a stunning atrium containing a bistro and gathering area. Guests enjoy the successful combination of traditional Southern style with modern, contemporary touches such as free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and a 24-hour convenience store. Discover countless New Orleans attractions within minutes of the Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown near the French Quarter Hotel.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Offers fine accommodation close to all New Orleans attractions
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
  • On-site bistro for buffet breakfasts and delicious dinners
Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown near the French Quarter Rooms
 

The Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown near the French Quarter Hotel offers 140 stunning guest rooms decorated in traditional style, with an emphasis on comfort. Fully air-conditioned and equipped with quality bedding, guests receive a good night of sleep. A cable TV, coffee-maker, hair-dryer, ironing board and iron are in every room. For those working on the move, a large desk and an ergonomically designed work chair awaits, along with a two-line phone with voice mail. Guests keep up to date on world events with a complimentary newspaper from the lobby and the hotel information board keeps them updated on travel and airport conditions. Parking is available (fees apply) at the Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown near the French Quarter Hotel.

Things To Do:

  • Harrah's Casino (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Bourbon Street (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Confederate Memorial Hall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Natchez Steamboat Cruise (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.4 mi/0.8 km)
  • St Louis Cathedral (0.4 mi/0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Morial Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.6 km)
  • French Market (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (11.4 mi/18.5 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WYNM
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 17, 2012

BED BUGS - Horrible Service

My Girlfriend, her friend and myself all stayed at this Courtyard on this February. All three of us slept in the room this evening. When we woke up all of us noticed small bite marks on different parts of our body. After getting a shower and getting into the car I slowly realized just how many bites I had on the drive back home. I was covered in bug bites. The bites were large and swollen on me and little concentrated red ones on my girlfriend. I checked my body when I got home and found 35+ bites on my scalp, eyelid, forehead, arms, legs, back, chest, and so on. Due to the severity of the bites and my swollen eye I went to the doctor who confirmed that these were bites and most likely bed bug bites due to the pattern of the bites and the location where I got them. I brought this to the manager’s attention at the hotel that proceeded to get the room checked for evidence; he called to tell me that they checked the room and did not find any trace of bedbugs. The manager I spoke with kept blaming it on bugs outside in the streets. I explained that we were no where else to get the bites and that when we entered the room no one had any bites and 8 hours later when we woke up all three of us had the same bites. I further explained that they could be fleas or something but something in the room bit all of us in an extreme manner. The manager was no help and was accusatory. I eventually got put in touch with a claims department who’s customer service was even worse than the manager at the hotel. I explained that I am a platinum member and have never filed a claim or made a formal complaint before and I stay in Marriott hotels over 200+ nights a year for 4 years now. I was still treated like a liar. No manager would ever show me proof that the room was checked and cleared of bed bugs. I forwarded the claims department photos of both my bites and my girlfriend’s bites along with a doctors bill and prescription bills for the visit after the hotel stay. I was refused any payment for my belongings that I discarded before getting back to my home. In the end Marriott treated me horrible. The management staff refused to pay for the bag that I had to throw out and the change of clothes that we threw out. I wanted my experience to be heard so that future customers can no what to expect from Marriott regarding their handling of a situation such as this. Keep in mind that I am a high level Platinum Elite member and this is how I was treated. Imagine if how they would treat someone with no status at this company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Lo
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Jun 22, 2011

Close to everything

Lobby is nice and updated. Room was a bit musty smelling. Bed was firm. Close to Canal and Bourbon St. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ab77
Business
Louisiana, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Average

Stayed one night..close to Bourbon..room was just average..the whole experience was just average. probably won't stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loujtcot
Business
Alabama, USA
Jan 12, 2012

National Campionship Football Game

The only complaint I have about the entire experience of staying at the Merriott Courtyard in New Orleans is the towels. They were very scratchy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LBSunShine
Business
Memphis TN
Aug 17, 2013

Family vacation

Clean hotel friendly staff and in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon St

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Juliana1977
Business
Napa, CA
Sep 13, 2013

Inexpensive and safe but....

I know it's a Courtyard, but I didn't expect that would mean my window didn't actually look outside. Other Courtyard Marriot's I've stayed in had me looking at an outside courtyard. This one looked inside across the hall at another door. The room was tiny, and there was a wierd spot on the carpet that was soaking wet, outside the bathroom, and not near the air conditioner. This was on the 3rd floor. I complained about it, but nothing was done. It's fine and it's safe for business travelers just outside of the French Quarter, but there have got to be better options out there when visiting NOLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to eat outside of the French Quarter, I recommend Lucky Rooster for Asian fusion...it was excellent, fun, and hip, and not that expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
geo
Business
nyc
May 2, 2009

great location

This hotel is in a great location! Short, very short walking distance to French Quarter. You basically walk across Canal St. and you are there!! If you are looking for a cozy hotel, this is not the place for you. This hotel is clean, staff is great, but decor is very basic. Great value! Make sure they remove the fee breakfast charge from your bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the St. Charles street car to the GARDEN DISTRICT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RachelB
Business
Providence, RI
Nov 29, 2009

Adequate

Adequate, nothing special. Our room was above the lobby which was very noisy late at night. But the front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. They even gave us a complimentary upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ed
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 16, 2010

Good Location

The hotel is pretty close to the French Quarter and Bourbon Street. The staff was pleasant but unremarkable. The valet parking was a little expensive, but that's the way it is in the middle of New Orleans. The room was a good size, but the bathroom door was a sliding door that scrapped loudly when opening and closing. The middle of the hotel tower is open from the ground to the top floor, so hallway sound can carry somewhat, and revellers can be loud. Overall, though, the hotel served its purpose: It was close enough to everything we wanted to see, and it was the right price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Darkwing Duck
Business
Moreno Valley, CA
Jul 27, 2010

Great 2nd year anniversary trip

Great location to walking distance from the main streets, staff is great, only down fall is that there is no pool in building, if you want pool you need to walk to another building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top