$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

2 stars
346 Baronne St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
57 reviews
Great place to stay

We had a rather unpleasant stay at another hotel the previous night and fortunately for us they did... See full review

  • Travelling Snowbirds
  • Apr 5, 2014
Great location to everything in New Orleans

This was my first time going to New Orleans and I booked this hotel without knowing where it was to... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 18, 2013
Located in the CBD (Central Business District), just 3 blocks from the historic French Quarter and walking distance to the Superdome, Harrah's Casino, Riverwalk Marketplace and Canal Place. Deluxe accommodations include either 1 queen bed or 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and all modern amenities. Both non-smoking and smoking rooms available and all rates include a scrumptious continental breakfast. Self parking (subject to availability) off-site at 16.00/day with in/out privileges. Rate subject to change. Valet parking is 21.00/day. Please do not request connecting rooms. Front Desk Hours: 24 Hours. Housekeeping Service: Daily. Security Guard: 6:00pm - 8:00am Hotel provides: Continental Breakfast Daily, Free Local Phone Calls and No Pets Allowed.

Hotel Map

29.9512 -90.0728
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 14.00, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 5.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, Barronne atUnion

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Snowbirds
Canada
Apr 5, 2014

Great place to stay

We had a rather unpleasant stay at another hotel the previous night and fortunately for us they did not have another night available as most of the city was full because of Wrestlemania. We were afraid we wouldn't get another hotel in the area but I was able to book this hotel online and it was a lot cheaper. As we wanted to be able to tour around New Orleans the following day we needed to see if Comfort Inn would be able to take our luggage early in the morning. As it was just down the street from where we were staying we walked in and spoke to the front desk clerks. They were very accommodating and provided a room right away. They even allowed us to have breakfast which we thought was very considerate. The parking was half the price as before and we could leave the car parked until 4 pm the next day giving us lots of time to tour around and leave the city. They even let us keep our cooler in the storage room until we left. When we called down to the front desk about a burnt out bulb in the bathroom they fixed it within minutes. The only complaint was the internet service was extremely slow and we were unable to do some things we wanted to do. Otherwise they were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DM a finicky traveler
Indianapolis
Jul 14, 2014

Affordable o.k. Accommodations near French Qtr

It was a last minute emegency booking and we felt lucky to have an affordable room so close to the French Qtr. Martha, the front desk clerk, was very nice. However, altho the room appeared to be clean, it had an AWEFUL smell. Not sure what it was related to, maybe cleaning solutions, but it was toxic-like in nature and difficult to stomach. The rest of the hotel did not have the smell our room did. The couch in the room was icky and the bed squeaky and uncomfortable with tiny pillows and antiquated dingy bedding. The upside: the hotel appears to be working on updating it's look with fresh paint and other modern furniture. If they fix the smell, (at least in the room we stayed in) put in a better bed with brighter updated bedding, and a couch one might consider sitting on, it would be nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost all the food in the French Qtr area was expensive. Either bring your own if the hotel has a refrigerator and microwave or leave the area to find more affordable food.

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Snowbirds
Canada
Apr 5, 2014

Great place to stay

We had a rather unpleasant stay at another hotel the previous night and fortunately for us they did not have another night available as most of the city was full because of Wrestlemania. We were afraid we wouldn't get another hotel in the area but I was able to book this hotel online and it was a lot cheaper. As we wanted to be able to tour around New Orleans the following day we needed to see if Comfort Inn would be able to take our luggage early in the morning. As it was just down the street from where we were staying we walked in and spoke to the front desk clerks. They were very accommodating and provided a room right away. They even allowed us to have breakfast which we thought was very considerate. The parking was half the price as before and we could leave the car parked until 4 pm the next day giving us lots of time to tour around and leave the city. They even let us keep our cooler in the storage room until we left. When we called down to the front desk about a burnt out bulb in the bathroom they fixed it within minutes. The only complaint was the internet service was extremely slow and we were unable to do some things we wanted to do. Otherwise they were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mrs.tee martin
new orleans, la
Feb 24, 2014

can u a few up dating

When u walk in does not smell so fresh no valet parkingin the hallways was hot and had a muggy smell

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bourge
Montegut, Louisiana
Jan 2, 2014

A nice hotel

The Comfort Inn is very conveniently located, on Baronne Street a few blocks off Canal Street. It's only two blocks from the Roosevelt Hotel, which has excellent bars and dining room, and only three blocks from the beautiful Jesuit church on Baronne St., where I went to mass on New Year's morning. It's a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lynette a mom
BR, La
Oct 27, 2013

Concert

The hotel is in a good location.. Walking distance to shopping , dining and other attractions in New Orleans. The hotel is way too expensive for what's offered... It's really nothing to brag about... The hallways are stuffy and just drab.... Lower your prices and you'd definitely get what you paid for... Overall it's a decent place in a nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Treveler 11
Business
Rutherford, NJ
Oct 8, 2013

Pretty Good

Decent location, 10 min walk to Bourbon St. Overall pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BedBugBittenNYC
New York, NY
Jun 3, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! BED BUGS

I stayed in this hotel with friends for the second weekend of Jazz Fest. May 1-6 2013. When I left on the last day I realized I was covered in bed bug bites. Unfortunately I brought them home with me without my knowledge. This whole fiasco has cost me about $1500 (so far) and the hotel general manager refuses to return my phone calls. The one and only time I could get him on the phone he told me the room did not have bed bugs and that we left it trashed. Which was far from the case. Even if it was dirty that does not warrant lying to someone about their being bed bugs in the room and then refusing to work with them after all the financial and emotional trama I have been through now as a result of my stay at this hotel. STAY AWAY. It is not worth any price or anything else they can give you to stay at this hotel. I would have put zero stars if the rating system allowed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hendersonville, Tennessee
May 18, 2013

Great location to everything in New Orleans

This was my first time going to New Orleans and I booked this hotel without knowing where it was to the tourist attractions. This hotel is the best for your money. It is only a 5-15 minute walk from everything that downtown New Orleans has to offer. Very close to casino, Bourbon street, and all of the New Orleans favorites! Staff was friendly. Free breakfast was very good! Rooms could use updating but were clean and perfect for a vacation!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Funky Joe
NC
May 6, 2013

Not bad for a weekend

We needed something vaguely affordable during Jazz Fest, and this fit the bill. It's a great location, average room, and average staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nola traveler 2626
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Apr 24, 2013

Excellent location

Great location, great amenities, appropriate breakfast. Rooms need a bit updating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top