$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 12, 2014 Check-out: Nov 14, 2014

Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans

3 stars
1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
99 reviews
great price and location

Nice clean room,quiet,friendly staff,about 3-5 min walk from Bourbon st. See full review

  • jay m the traveler
  • Nov 28, 2013
Nice hotel

The room was nice and clean. Staff was all super friendly. The room was a little smaller than I... See full review

  • Britt1234
  • Oct 28, 2013
Modern accommodations for independent travelers in central New Orleans

The Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel is conveniently located in downtown New Orleans, with all the must-see attractions within easy walking distance. Louisiana Superdome, Harrah's Casino and Morial Convention Center are all close by. Modern guest accommodations provide well-appointed, comfortable suites. Business travelers at Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel will appreciate the 24-hour business center, where fax and copying services are standard. Facilities for on-site meetings are also available.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Pet-friendly hotel
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Close to Bourbon Street and the Louisiana Superdome
Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans Rooms

These sleek towers of the Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel rise above the vibrant streets of New Orleans, offering 157 well-appointed accommodations, many with excellent views over the city. Comfortable and modern guest rooms come equipped with refrigerators, coffee-makers, work desks, microwaves, irons, ironing boards and hair-dryers. Stay connected free, using the high-speed wireless Internet that is available in all rooms. Free local calls and voice mail are also standard in rooms. Guests can secure valuables in the in-room safes. Whirlpool bathtubs, kitchenettes and flat-screen televisions are in some rooms. If required, connecting rooms are available. All rooms benefit from air-conditioning. The Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel is also a pet-friendly establishment (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • French Quarter (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Bourbon Street (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Aquarium of the Americas (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Confederate Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Harrah's Casino (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Garden District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • City Park (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pet accommodation: $75 USD pet/per night. Must be in kennel.
  • Pet limit: Two pets per room under 25 pounds.
  • Car parking: $14 USD per day with in/out priviledges. Valet parking available weekends and special events. $22 USD per day 24 hour access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9564 -90.0741
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Canal & Saratoga

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.7 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Uduak
Business
1125 North Oak Park, IL 60302
Mar 3, 2014

Attended a conference

OK overall...accomodations matched 3 star hotel rating. Note for the prices being charged (albeit a Mardi Gras wekend),

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs Hunter
Business
Katy Tx
Mar 3, 2014

Mardi Gras stay- $189 a night- booked Dec 2013

While the hotel is not the best/most fabulous on Canal, it is good value for money. Could stand some updating but staff is attentive. Ample parking available around the hotel also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at Tulane Medical /Lasalle garage around the corner on Lasalle Street - hotel's lot is small and 1st come 1st served. Overnight for 3 nights at Lasalle Garafe cost me $43 (avg of $14 per day).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Traveling Queen 5
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 3, 2014

The pictures online make it look "nice"

The hotel is very very old, ac didn't work the first night. "queen beds" no more like full, that made it hard for me and my fiancé to sleep comfortably. It was close to bourbon street and had breakfast though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madhu1
Business
Sydney, Australia
Jan 21, 2014

Great location. Decent hotel

Awesome location is the best part. Right next to the french quarter but at a cheaper cost. Amenities and cleanliness are decent. The hotel staff can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melissa 10
Business
Shreveport, LA
Jan 7, 2014

Saints Game Weekend

We enjoyed this hotel. When we first arrived we were not told who to give our keys to so we could valet our truck. Once we figured that out then we were told we would have to wait for a cart to come back down to carry our luggage to our room. We ended up carrying it ourselves and I should mention the clerk never told us where the elevator was. I think we were a little frustrated because we worked all day, drove from Shreveport to New Orleans and were expected to figure everything out on our own. We were a little tired:) In our room you can hear the elevator catching on something, I guess since it's so old plus you can hear everyone walking and talking down the hall. The security guard at the hotel was always friendly to us and the valet was helpful to us too. The overall experience was good! The first night we got there was the only real downfall to the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billy BB
Business
San Jose, California
Jan 4, 2014

good experience

Great time in New Orleans. Valet is great so you don't have to be concerned about where to park your car, and when picking up your car, the service is quick. The location is also great as its not too far from Bourbon Streete and is right on Canal Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TinaMoran
Business
Texas
Dec 11, 2013

Great location, excellent staff!

I booked this hotel for our first trip to New Orleans and it proved to be an excellent decision! The location was right on the bus line, but far enough away from the wild nightlife, so it was nice and quiet. There was a slight mix up with our room assignment, so the desk clerk immediately offered to upgrade our room, even though we weren't upset at all. Later, he gave us a great tip about walking down the street at night and feeling safe. We really appreciated that! The next morning, the lady at the front desk told us which trolley to catch to reach our destination and even gave us a map! Each time we came back from our adventures, someone always welcomed us back. The room was clean and spacious. When it came time to leave, the man at the desk called us a cab to the airport. When it didn't come, he went outside until he hailed one for us. We were so impressed with everyone there! You will not be disappointed with your stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jay m the traveler
Business
Dallas tx
Nov 28, 2013

great price and location

Nice clean room,quiet,friendly staff,about 3-5 min walk from Bourbon st.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TallKool1
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 6, 2013

Fantastic Business Suite Stay in New Orleans

Despite several negative reviews about Clarion's "scary" Canal St. location, and the hotel being "old" and "noisy", I chose to stay there for the bargain price and closeness to my meetings downtown. It was an excellent value, with truly great service from desk mgrs Fernando, Demetria, and Lorraine. Room was very clean, free wi-fi was fast and easy, free breakfast was quite tasty, fridge and coffee maker in room, very comfortable bed, 24 hour fitness center that was clean, modern, and well-maintained; best parking prices in the area by far, and the location isn't nearly the frightful place that some users have indicated. It is near a hospital and a bus stop, and it is in central New Orleans, just a 10 minute walk from Burboun St. There are black people there, and they will talk to you, and the city is noisy. Welcome to New Orleans, folks. I was there for a week on business and for Halloween fun, and both went great. Staying at the Clarion was not my first choice, but after saving almost $600 choosing it instead of other premium French Quarter locations, I would put it at or near the top of my list for my next trip. Great value for the business traveler. Spend your savings on dinner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bayou Burger on Burboun street - grab an early dinner just before sunset, and get a balcony table to sit and watch the party go by. Creole bar food that tastes amazing for under 20$ a person, and you can't beat the view of the city!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1Displaced traveler
Business
Jackson, Missouri
Nov 5, 2013

Close to the Quarter and street car lines but tiny

Perfect location for walking to the quarter with a reasonable place to park. There is multiple parking lots and garages on the block and I paid $5 per day at one. About 2 blocks above rampart. Location: going down the side of street it is on is full of people "hanging out", but cross the street and there is a bunch of fancy hotels and safe walking. 5 blocks down is street car access to St. Charles street car line. Hotel: Great breakfast with eggs, bacon., ect. Bed was not a queen- smaller than Queen. Room was nice with a TV, fridge, small sink, microwave, and coffee pot. Bathroom was tiny with only a tiny cube of a shower and about 5 inches of counter around the sink. Decent sized closet and TV was on a dresser. The room was so small that the 2 of us had to "excuse me" every time we tried to walk around the bed. The other had to move out of the way just to walk past. However for the price it was great and the staff were so nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Place on Decatur near the french market that is called Rare Finds. Most awesome little shop which specializes in hard to find and unusual items. Definitely worth checking out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top