Chateau Dupre

3 stars
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
156 reviews
Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote. See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV... See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 4, 2013
Cozy French Quarter hotel in a building that pre-dates the Civil War

The intimate and 100% smoke-free hotel was opened in 1845 and was once home to New Orleans business magnates, matriarchs and statesmen. The Chateau Hotel Dupre offers guests a cozy nest with 62 rooms in the heart of the bustling French Quarter. A caring and attentive staff treats the hotel and its guests with warmth and hospitality.

Highlights
  • French Quarter location
  • Intimate setting
  • Personalized service
  • 100% smoke-free
Rooms

Each of the 62 rooms and suites is warmly decorated in a traditional style and offers amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply), phone (fees apply). Some rooms have in-room faxes, data ports and ceiling fans.

Features

The hotel has no food or beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is particularly useful. Huck Finn's restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • House of Blues
  • French Market
  • Cafe Du Monde
Business
  • Some rooms equipped with fax machines and data ports

 

Policies and fees

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges. There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9522 -90.0669
Area served
New Orleans; Riverwalk
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport 12mi; Lakefront Airport 12mi
Area description
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 Located in the heart of the French Quarter.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Dupre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Chateau Dupre Rooms

Standard
Bed type is not guaranteed and is determined at time of check in Maximum 2 guests recommended per room. This hotel is 100% non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 156
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scradd4475
peoria, IL
Feb 14, 2013

Mardi Gra stay

The rooms are small but adequate for the true amount of time spent there. I question the extra charge for the phone/internet connection. Especially when the 4th floor had little to no signal to the wireless net work of the hotel, but good connection could be made from a neighboring business. The phone never being used? charged ??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lenny Will
Dallas, TX
Aug 13, 2012

Built in the 1800s and it shows.It was okay for a single person 1 or 2 nights

When I first walked into the lobby, it smelled bad and it was hot in the lobby. The poor lady at the front desk had to use a FAN. The rooms, hallways, and restaurant were well cooled but the carpet was dirty and stained badly in the hallways and rooms. Room Service took all day to get to my room for cleaning and fresh towels. The flooring in my room was uneven like the floor was warped underneathed the carpet. The window sills needed cleaning and sprayed with insecticides. The location was perfect... right in the Quarters, very close to everything, very historic hotel, and the staff was great... they did their best considering the infrastructure and they were always positive and freindly. Like I said it's good for 1 person staying 1 or 2 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The best night life and dining experience in the world. I would like to go to New Orleans at least once a month to party, eat good, and let loose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pepette
Athens, GA, USA
Aug 1, 2012

Great Location, Great Price

Spent a 3 night weekend here for $250. Conveniently located - steps away from Harrah's casino and the riverfront. Right next to Canal St and St. Charles St where you can catch streetcars to Zoo and Museum of Art. A block away from Megabus stop. (You really don't need a car in New Orleans.) The hotel itself was adequate for my needs. The front desk people were helpful and friendly - I asked for a quiet room and got an interior room (no windows) and never heard a sound. The room and bathroom were clean although a little tired looking. If you are looking for new and fancy, go elsewhere. If you want some place clean and safe and affordable in a perfect location, then this is your place. Trust me -you won't be in the hotel that much anyway - so much to see and do outside the hotel. (FYI - there are movie theaters located in nearby Canal Place next to Westin Hotel if you get rained out)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chris
Los Angeles, CA
May 8, 2012

Cockroaches

When I checked in they put me in a room with no windows that smelled like cigarettes, and when I turned on the light switch a giant cockroach ran across the floor. When I informed the man at the front desk, his response was "Well we are in a swamp" he did "upgrade" me to a larger room with windows, but was less than apologetic about the whole thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alistair
Utah
Dec 29, 2011

#fail. Rudest manager ever,

Booked only 1 night, thank goodness. Am now looking for another place. Have never seen such a rude hotel manager blowing off guests. "Yup, post it right on Facebook if you want - see if I care" ! egads. Can only recommend you don't damage your holiday by staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latgirablanca
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Cheap and great!

What a great fun staff! Totally honest with an out of towner for suggestions and great location. In the Quarter but a little off the main drag so you can actually sleep, relax, walk up the road to Cafe DuMonde... Deeply quiet rooms with no windows = awesome crash pad. More a place for non families and people looking to hide out after partying a bit. I love this place and am staying there next year. :) Please note; this is NOT a fancy hotel nor a B&B. Go elsewhere if you need ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a 'shrimp boat' at the food stalls in the actual French Quarter Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Staying in the French Quarter

I was able to do a weekend get away to New Orleans. Flew in on a Friday afternoon and back on Sunday. The stay was at the hotel was OK. I really liked the older/authenticate building vs chrome/plastic on the big chains. Beds/pillows/sheets/towels were somewhat worn/thin but I wasn't going to New Orleans to hang out in the room. Location was just on the edge of the French Quarter so easy walking. Next time I go back I'd strongly consider this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolley Car was close by and great for getting to the Garden District as an alternative to the french quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rioguy2011
Clearwater, Florida
Sep 6, 2011

Tropical storm Lee and me in New Orleans

Close to downtown and casinos. A bit far from Bourbon Street activities. Had to request room with table and dresser to store luggage. Old style TV in room. Had to pay a communications fee which I had no devices to access internet. Several fee wifi hot near hotel. No continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ailecec
Jersey City, NJ, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Birthday getaway

I planned this fantastic birthday getaway to New Orleans. It was everything I could have hoped for and more! The staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful in assisting to making this a most memorable birthday ever! My celebratory dinner was at Antoine"s on Royal Street, the dining staff sang Happy Birthday, gave me a tour and brief history of renowned restaurant. They even took pictures with me, the Chef came out to inquire if the meal was to my liking. And of course, it was!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
amezcua
california
Aug 14, 2011

great location.

Room was not great but was clean and stayed cold. Location was close to everything fun including bourbon st

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search