$999 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Chateau Dupre

3 stars
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
245 reviews
Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote. See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV... See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 4, 2013
Cozy French Quarter hotel in a building that pre-dates the Civil War

The intimate and 100% smoke-free hotel was opened in 1845 and was once home to New Orleans business magnates, matriarchs and statesmen. The Chateau Hotel Dupre offers guests a cozy nest with 62 rooms in the heart of the bustling French Quarter. A caring and attentive staff treats the hotel and its guests with warmth and hospitality.

Highlights
  • French Quarter location
  • Intimate setting
  • Personalized service
  • 100% smoke-free
Rooms

Each of the 62 rooms and suites is warmly decorated in a traditional style and offers amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply), phone (fees apply). Some rooms have in-room faxes, data ports and ceiling fans.

Features

The hotel has no food or beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is particularly useful. Huck Finn's restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • House of Blues
  • French Market
  • Cafe Du Monde
Business
  • Some rooms equipped with fax machines and data ports

 

Policies and fees

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges. There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9522 -90.0669
Area served
New Orleans; Riverwalk
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport 12mi; Lakefront Airport 12mi
Area description
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 Located in the heart of the French Quarter.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Dupre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Chateau Dupre Rooms

Standard
Bed type is not guaranteed and is determined at time of check in Maximum 2 guests recommended per room. This hotel is 100% non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (245)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 245
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fate of life
Gilboa,New York
Apr 3, 2014

Needs improvement

Location was perfect! Not enough towels to go around and the elevator didn't work. They need to put some money into the place and it would be beautiful!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to side street bars around the corners

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New Orleans travel girl
New Orleans, LA
Sep 30, 2013

Complete disappointment

This hotel is old and it shows. Our room was dark, musty, and dirty. If you have allergies of any kind dont bother. Faucet handles were broken and mismatched. Bathroom floor tile was broken in several places. No wash cloths, no hand towels. The hair dryer had been stolen I assume since the holder was still on the wall. No coffee pot even tho once is listed in the amenities section. The windows did not open. Carpet was very old and very dirty. This room was NOT worth the money we spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DreamGirlRN
Pittsburgh, PA
May 2, 2013

Rough and Smelly

First that me say the Staff was excellent. They all were kind and helpful and happy. Greeted us every time we left or were coming back in for the night. Very Friendly. Second, the location was great. Everything was within a few walking distance and easy to navigate and could catch a cab very easy as well. The room...I believe that we may have had BED BUGS!!!!!! we did the bed bug check however my friend had bite that are consistent with bed bug bites. Our stuff is now in quarantine to rid the bugs! the room was not clean and very out of date. Most important it was NOT CLEAN...the hair in the bathroom and the dust on everything. our room and all of our stuff smelled from the ventilation from Huck Finns next door. we never had enough towels and when we asked they were not sure that they even had any to spare. Due to the location we were only a few blocks from Bourbon without the noise, only a few blocks from Jackson Square, took cooking class from the wonderful Sandra at the new Orleans school of cooking the food was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

New Orleans school of cooking on St Louis. the food was great, the story telling was awesome and the food was out of this world!!!! Only $29.00 well worth it!!!!

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sabzrina
NJ
Apr 29, 2013

Great Location

Chateau Dupre is quite possibly in the best location of the French Quarter. You pay for the hotel location, not the fancy room with lots of amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Frenchmen Street for good live music and a true NOLA experience.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TLVH
Kent, Ohio
Oct 17, 2012

Fantastic Location

Location, location, location. That was the best thing about this Hotel. Staff was extremely friendly. Take note that no parking is available at the Hotel and you have to park in a Public Lot which was $$$ and a few blocks away. It was extremely noisy so no sleep was had by anyone in the room. We were located on the street side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Du Monde and Cafe Maspero's are my favorite spots.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Jul 16, 2012

A good place to pass out after a late night

Kinda dingy but location was great. It was excactly what we were looking for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Vaca
Orlando, Florida
Jun 11, 2012

Good for Mardi Gras, I guess

While the room itself was clean and very attractive, the location was unfortunate. There were loud noises every night from dumpsters or trucks. If not indistrial noise, it was people screaming and yelling at each other. The last night there we actually heard an entire fight going on. Good thing was we could hear the cool blues playing from the bar across the way, but it didn't stifle the upsetting noises. I imagine if you're going for Mardi Gras this hotel would be perfect as you're probably not planning on getting much sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking for the hotel is located a block over. It's $25 an hour and there are two lots. You want to park in the one closest to Canal St so you don't have to cross too many intersections.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mari81
Galveston, TX
Jan 27, 2012

Location was awesome but that was it!

The front desk guy was rude because he said he couldnt find my reservation. He was like thats what happens when you book on the same day. I told him excuse me but I booked this 2 weeks ago. Then my room a/c didnt work. So I had to get another room. The lighting in this placed sucked. I understand that the building is very old but they can still do some updates. The remote to the tv had tape on the back of it. The only good thing about this hotel is that the location is awesome close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The attractions are not far from this hotel at all. Everything is in walking distance.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dissatisfied guest
Louisville, KY
Sep 12, 2011

Hotel *ell

From the moment we checked in, we received terrible customer service. We were completely shocked by the disrespectful and inconsiderate nasty attitude of the front desk clerk. She would never give her name but I believe I heard one of her co-workers call her Charmaine. She knowingly booked us in a room that had no window pane. They had used duct tape to tape a piece of cardboard over it. We awoke to pigeons cooing and trying to tap their way into our window. They moved us to another room which didn't lock unless you slammed the door so hard, it woke all the other guests. She never once apologized and just gave attitude like we were inconveniencing her. The other employees even told us that she had a nasty attitude, something about she was mad because she hadn't gotten a paycheck in a while...well don't take it out on us!. The room also had a broken thermostat, the towel rack was hanging by one screw, the traffic noise was horrible. There was not one good thing about this hotel. The elevator door would shut on you and crush you if you didn't hold the "open door" button. Stay away from this hotel...the worst I have ever stayed in in all my travels and I have travelled a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dissatisfied guest
Louisville, KY
Sep 12, 2011

Hotel *ell

From the moment we checked in, we received terrible customer service. We were completely shocked by the disrespectful and inconsiderate nasty attitude of the front desk clerk. She would never give her name but I believe I heard one of her co-workers call her Charmaine. She knowingly booked us in a room that had no window pane. They had used duct tape to tape a piece of cardboard over it. We awoke to pigeons cooing and trying to tap their way into our window. They moved us to another room which didn't lock unless you slammed the door so hard, it woke all the other guests. She never once apologized and just gave attitude like we were inconveniencing her. The other employees even told us that she had a nasty attitude, something about she was mad because she hadn't gotten a paycheck in a while...well don't take it out on us!. The room also had a broken thermostat, the towel rack was hanging by one screw, the traffic noise was horrible. There was not one good thing about this hotel. The elevator door would shut on you and crush you if you didn't hold the "open door" button. Stay away from this hotel...the worst I have ever stayed in in all my travels and I have travelled a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top