$999 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Chateau Dupre

3 stars
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
156 reviews
Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote. See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV... See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 4, 2013
Cozy French Quarter hotel in a building that pre-dates the Civil War

The intimate and 100% smoke-free hotel was opened in 1845 and was once home to New Orleans business magnates, matriarchs and statesmen. The Chateau Hotel Dupre offers guests a cozy nest with 62 rooms in the heart of the bustling French Quarter. A caring and attentive staff treats the hotel and its guests with warmth and hospitality.

Highlights
  • French Quarter location
  • Intimate setting
  • Personalized service
  • 100% smoke-free
Rooms

Each of the 62 rooms and suites is warmly decorated in a traditional style and offers amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply), phone (fees apply). Some rooms have in-room faxes, data ports and ceiling fans.

Features

The hotel has no food or beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is particularly useful. Huck Finn's restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • House of Blues
  • French Market
  • Cafe Du Monde
Business
  • Some rooms equipped with fax machines and data ports

 

Policies and fees

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges. There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Dupre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Chateau Dupre Rooms

Standard
Bed type is not guaranteed and is determined at time of check in Maximum 2 guests recommended per room. This hotel is 100% non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MTM
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 17, 2010

Don't waste your time !

the place was DIRTY ! Dirty bathroom, dirty walls !! Had to ask for clean towels, TV never worked. Down the street is another hotel owned by the same company. I would definitely stay there. Chateau's elevator was broken. Had to take stairs that were dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

At least we were in NOLA. We only slept in the room. Spent no more time than necessary in the 'hotel.' Would not stay here again even if it was free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lecturer
Business
Cambridge, MA
Apr 5, 2010

Bad

I was attending a conference and I used the room only to sleep which was not comfortable at all. No refrigerator in the room. Ice machine ONLY on the 3rd floor. no air conditioning. no telephone connection (phone was not working. though I reminded them several times). not even a small chair in the room. my room was just next to the elevator that made horrible noise. The only good thing about the hotel was the friendly staff at the desk who tried to be helpful but could NOT do that much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
neworleans
Business
Pensacola, FL, USA
Oct 25, 2011

The quarter

We walked in the room, my wife looked around and walked out. As nonrefundable we headed to the Marriott on Canal and got a nice, expensive room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alistair
Business
Utah
Dec 29, 2011

#fail. Rudest manager ever,

Booked only 1 night, thank goodness. Am now looking for another place. Have never seen such a rude hotel manager blowing off guests. "Yup, post it right on Facebook if you want - see if I care" ! egads. Can only recommend you don't damage your holiday by staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Full o Tiger
Business
Tennesee
Jan 12, 2012

Stay somewhere else to do not go.

Our room - 207 - was located right over the sports bar below and right above the band, which played until 2:30 am. The room was very dirty and stunk. I would recommend if you can not stay somewhere else pass on the trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grandma Red
Business
Needville, TX 77461, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Not a happy camper

Checking in staff was very helpful had to put luggage in storage which was ok. But the room not happy. I know the hotel is old but really No coffee in my room to wake up to,the tile in the bathroom all broken I scared it would pinch my feet because it moved.Then the toilet would not flush the phone did not work cable TV had a very bad reception. My first trip to New Orleans not good at all. I do not know if the other rooms were in the same shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the Huck Finns was pretty good. Did like the breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
H Bomb
Business
Columbus Ohio
Apr 30, 2012

Great location, dingy rooms.

I was very excited to stay at Chateau Dupre because I wanted to experience an authentic New Orleans hotel. However, we were disappointed. Although the location was great, the rooms were not very clean or updated. We actually requested to be moved to a different room because the first was so dirty (crumbs on the floor, dusty curtains and mold on the bed pillow). Also, the door lock did not seem secure. The second room was a little cleaner, yet there still was dust on the curtains & bathroom light fixtures. We used a can of Lysol to freshen things up. On a positve note, the staff was very nice & helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chris
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 8, 2012

Cockroaches

When I checked in they put me in a room with no windows that smelled like cigarettes, and when I turned on the light switch a giant cockroach ran across the floor. When I informed the man at the front desk, his response was "Well we are in a swamp" he did "upgrade" me to a larger room with windows, but was less than apologetic about the whole thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Regretable Visitors
Business
Louisiana
Jun 25, 2012

Couple Getaway for anniversary

Noisiest room ever stayed in. No room service for two days. Curtains falling off hook and not closing properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deannie's Seafood Restaurant with great seafood in taste, quantity and price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nubbie
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 10, 2012

Terrible, Terrible!

Upon arrival, the door was open to my room, and it had not been cleaned. The beds were not made up. I had requested a bed with a bed sofa. The desk worker, Charmica, told me that they did not get the request from you all. The hotel is not clean. It appears to be a health hazard. I willl not stay at another Chateau Dupri. It gives me second thoughts about booking through you'll. Like several others, I wanted my money back, but I had no choice, because there were no other hotels available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

I went to the Essence Festival at the super dome. It was quiet a distance to walk. The hotel have no parking available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top