$999 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 6, 2014

Chateau Dupre

3 stars
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
156 reviews
Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote. See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV... See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 4, 2013
Cozy French Quarter hotel in a building that pre-dates the Civil War

The intimate and 100% smoke-free hotel was opened in 1845 and was once home to New Orleans business magnates, matriarchs and statesmen. The Chateau Hotel Dupre offers guests a cozy nest with 62 rooms in the heart of the bustling French Quarter. A caring and attentive staff treats the hotel and its guests with warmth and hospitality.

Highlights
  • French Quarter location
  • Intimate setting
  • Personalized service
  • 100% smoke-free
Rooms

Each of the 62 rooms and suites is warmly decorated in a traditional style and offers amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply), phone (fees apply). Some rooms have in-room faxes, data ports and ceiling fans.

Features

The hotel has no food or beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is particularly useful. Huck Finn's restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • House of Blues
  • French Market
  • Cafe Du Monde
Business
  • Some rooms equipped with fax machines and data ports

 

Policies and fees

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges. There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9522 -90.0669
Area served
New Orleans; Riverwalk
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport 12mi; Lakefront Airport 12mi
Area description
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 Located in the heart of the French Quarter.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Dupre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Chateau Dupre Rooms

Standard
Bed type is not guaranteed and is determined at time of check in Maximum 2 guests recommended per room. This hotel is 100% non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 156
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.7

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big B the Big C
Business
Midwest
Apr 1, 2014

Interesting.....Very interesting

Pros: Good location in the French Quarter. Great Bars and Restaurants very close by. Staff was friendly. Cons: Elevator was sketchy...in fact it only worked the first night, and even then I was worried that we would get stuck. Since the elevator was out of order the only way in and out of the hotel to our rooms was through a stairwell that opened to the street...with no lock. Just open to the public, with no security at all. Dirty and dingy carpets. Overall cleanliness was poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashgag10
Business
Folsom, La
Mar 24, 2014

Chateau dupre

The location is awesome but the hotel is old. The staff is very nice and helpful. Since the hotel is old it is very obvious, there were not extra towels available and the air conditioner did not work very well. I would not consider this room during the summer months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Karen0702
Business
St. Louis, Mo
Mar 18, 2014

save yourself the trouble

There were no hand towels, elevator was shaky and sometimes out of service, couch in room was torn and filthy. Overall we are glad we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
madone
Business
baton rouge la
Mar 17, 2014

terrible

worst hotel stay ever elevator not working had note in elevator if you have trouble call for help had to carry luggage up 4 flights of stairs room smeeled like mold carpet was nasty stains all over will never stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
xzfc
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Feb 25, 2014

New orleans

Very noisy til 3am. Room not very clean. Elevator issues. Hotel is a 1 star at best. Access to rooms from street via stairs uncontrolled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daisy Dukes had great breakfast and great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Juris Doctor
Business
Oklahoma City
Nov 30, 2013

Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Juris Doctor
Business
Oklahoma City
Nov 4, 2013

Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV remote needed to be changed. The room was clean and the staff is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I always bring some food for the room which is a great idea when you don't want to get out of bed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Milwaukee Mike
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 30, 2013

The dump in New Orleans

It was awful! We were put in a double room with a broken AC first. Then a single with a very small bed and a door lock that half the time did not work, and no dressers. We could not find another room, as Jazz fest was going on, so we were stuck there. For you to represent this hotel is very dissappointing and we will not be using you again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Frenchmen Street was awsome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NoLo traveler
Business
New Orleans
Mar 25, 2013

Great trip - the hotel was pretty bad

The Hotel Dupre is run down with no amenities. The ice is on one floor. The coke machine does not work. The room did not have a blow dryer as advertised. Some of the staff was rude. The drapes did not work. The electical outlets where covered or loose. The room did not seem clean. The location is almost out of the French Quarter. We had a great trip even though the hotel was pretty bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
return of the ex new york
Business
Florida
Mar 7, 2013

This is the worst hotel experience I every Had!

There is no way this is rated 3 stars! The rooms were in need of renovation, our first room (notice I said first room) had watermarked ceilings, broken floor tiles, and was actually in terrible condition, I said first room because we moved to another room because of the general bad condition and the fact that one tv was broken and the other did not have the correct remote and we could not see the controls. We asked the front desk for a remote, but none was found. so we moved to another room, in better condition, but no remote. We remembered that our first room had the right brand of remote, so we took the remote from our first room. On our second day we returned to our room which had not been made-up. We complained to the front desk and was assured that this would not happen again. Well, it did happen again- no towels, trash filling the garbage cans, no bed made, etc. Two days without housekeeping! There was never a manager, we were told he would be in in the morning, he was never there. This hotel has no way to keep our luggage - put it in the corner she said. I also have a complaint about your company. We called to cancel our paid reservation (4 days) and were told this could not be done "without the managers approval". Since the manager was NEVER there how could this happen? So it was lose $700+ or suffer. As I opened this essay, this was the worst hotel I have ever experienced and I am 67 years old and widely traveled. I hold your company responsible because of the rating it was given, and not accepting OUR Word about canceling. A credit of 5% would not compensate us for the unpleasantness we experienced. We loved our location and we will stay in a well known, more responsible hotel on our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

an excellent location to see the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top