$999 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Chateau Dupre

3 stars
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
156 reviews
Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote. See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV... See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 4, 2013
Cozy French Quarter hotel in a building that pre-dates the Civil War

The intimate and 100% smoke-free hotel was opened in 1845 and was once home to New Orleans business magnates, matriarchs and statesmen. The Chateau Hotel Dupre offers guests a cozy nest with 62 rooms in the heart of the bustling French Quarter. A caring and attentive staff treats the hotel and its guests with warmth and hospitality.

Highlights
  • French Quarter location
  • Intimate setting
  • Personalized service
  • 100% smoke-free
Rooms

Each of the 62 rooms and suites is warmly decorated in a traditional style and offers amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply), phone (fees apply). Some rooms have in-room faxes, data ports and ceiling fans.

Features

The hotel has no food or beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is particularly useful. Huck Finn's restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • House of Blues
  • French Market
  • Cafe Du Monde
Business
  • Some rooms equipped with fax machines and data ports

 

Policies and fees

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges. There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Dupre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Chateau Dupre Rooms

Standard
Bed type is not guaranteed and is determined at time of check in Maximum 2 guests recommended per room. This hotel is 100% non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 156
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.6

35% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roslin
Business
NY,NY
Jun 24, 2012

Disappointment in NOLA

Awful room! No window! Not sure it was a legal room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grandma Red
Business
Needville, TX 77461, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Not a happy camper

Checking in staff was very helpful had to put luggage in storage which was ok. But the room not happy. I know the hotel is old but really No coffee in my room to wake up to,the tile in the bathroom all broken I scared it would pinch my feet because it moved.Then the toilet would not flush the phone did not work cable TV had a very bad reception. My first trip to New Orleans not good at all. I do not know if the other rooms were in the same shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the Huck Finns was pretty good. Did like the breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Surfer Bob
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Jan 17, 2012

Good Value For The Money

I was pretty apprehensive about this place after reading reviews...but the price was right. Actually was fairly impressed with all, again for the money. Elevator worked, room was clean, had heat, hot water & towels. Drapes were falling off but taped them up & had a view of Decatur St. Location was excellent in french quarter & attached restaurant, Huck Finns, wasn't bad for beer & food in pinch. The worst part was that parking was 4-5 blocks away & was a surface lot for an additional $22.00/Day. Also loud noise from within & st level went on until 4-5 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try BBQ Poor Boy at Huck Finns, Gumbo also not bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
darknight
Business
philadelphia pa
Jul 4, 2011

need some work

The hotels was nice but, needs major renovations to interior

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe du mon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
May 16, 2011

Excellent value

What I liked was the inexpensive price and the location, in the heart of New Orleans. I came for a meeting at the Convention Center, and it was close enough I could ride the same shuttle bus service everyone who paid much more than me used, because I had to walk only about 1 block to use it. The room decor was better than I usually see for the price. Although not as nice as rooms costing $100/night up, it was quite elegant for the price. The room came with a coffee server and iron and ironing board. The hotel had a temporary problem with their elevator, so they discounted my stay about $15/night. But my room was on 2nd, and staff carried my luggage both ways. Motel 6 doesn't provide that. The only thing I really missed was a small table in my room, but I made do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

By being located centrally downtown, it was only a cheap local bus ride from the Amtrak station, and it was within walking distance of the convention center, the riverfront, shopping and fast food. It was in the French Quarter, for those who want to explore it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Apr 10, 2011

Great Location

I liked it. People were very nice and corteous, comfortable room and close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful with the Hurricanes (drink), they are sweet but they can get to your head...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Feb 17, 2011

unbelievable (bad)

-The hotel was hard to find even with a GPS -The elevator was not working -The first room the curtains were off the hanger -The second room the curtains were half on the hanger and the TV cable was taped together, which i had to fix -We found cockroach in the bathroom -The outside door to get to the rooms would not lock -The carpet was old and stained -The only nice thing i had to say about our stay was the receptionist was very nice and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jan 9, 2011

Unbelievable

Such a place should not be allowed to operate. It does not meet any of the minimum technical requirements of a commercial building. There were wires everywhere, no shower curtain, the ellevator was in very bad shape. They should close the place down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Realtor Kim Slade
Business
Venice, Florida
Dec 20, 2010

Chateau Dupre - very friendly and quaint

This hotel was just around the corner from the host hotel for our Realtor Convention so, Chateau Dupre was our choice. The front desk staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating, they were excellent! It is an old hotel but our room was clean and beds were made daily. I just can't say enough about the staff, every time we left they waved and told us to have a great day and upon our return, we were welcomed back. The restaurant attached had great food too! I'd definitely stay at Chateau Dupre again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend taking the green trolley up to the City Zoo. The walk from the drop-off point through the park was absolutely beautiful, not to mention the Garden area to get there on the trolley was a sight to hold (the gorgeous homes, wow)! We attended the Swamp Festival which was included with the price of admission to the Zoo, the food there was incredible, as was the music and dancing! We were glad we took the time to get out of the downtown area to experience the Garden District, the Zoo and The Swamp Festival!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Nov 29, 2010

Horrible

The staff and comfort of the beds were the only things good about this hotel. We were on the 4th floor. The hallway fills with the kitchen exhaust from the neighboring hotel so it always stunk. The elevator door would get stuck open. The room had a ceiling leak, the bathroom floor was sticky, there were stains everwhere-towels, bedding, floor, our power went out on one side of the room,housekeeping would take towels and not replace them, and one of the pillows had stuffing sticking out of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top