$999 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Chateau Dupre

3 stars
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
156 reviews
Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote. See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV... See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 4, 2013
Cozy French Quarter hotel in a building that pre-dates the Civil War

The intimate and 100% smoke-free hotel was opened in 1845 and was once home to New Orleans business magnates, matriarchs and statesmen. The Chateau Hotel Dupre offers guests a cozy nest with 62 rooms in the heart of the bustling French Quarter. A caring and attentive staff treats the hotel and its guests with warmth and hospitality.

Highlights
  • French Quarter location
  • Intimate setting
  • Personalized service
  • 100% smoke-free
Rooms

Each of the 62 rooms and suites is warmly decorated in a traditional style and offers amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply), phone (fees apply). Some rooms have in-room faxes, data ports and ceiling fans.

Features

The hotel has no food or beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is particularly useful. Huck Finn's restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • House of Blues
  • French Market
  • Cafe Du Monde
Business
  • Some rooms equipped with fax machines and data ports

 

Policies and fees

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges. There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Dupre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Chateau Dupre Rooms

Standard
Bed type is not guaranteed and is determined at time of check in Maximum 2 guests recommended per room. This hotel is 100% non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Springfield, MA
Dec 16, 2008

Great location / reasonable price

I have stayed in New Orleans a number of times. This hotel is small scale, laid back with loads of character. The staff was genuine and willing to help. The room was large and clean. Some facilities needed updating but nothing that would interfere with your comfort. The location was the best part. Everything is close and within walking distance. If you want to get the flavor of New Orleans then you can?t go wrong with this hotel. It has a great location and staff, at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car. A shuttle to and from the airport is all you need. Everything else is in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ailecec
Business
Jersey City, NJ, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Birthday getaway

I planned this fantastic birthday getaway to New Orleans. It was everything I could have hoped for and more! The staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful in assisting to making this a most memorable birthday ever! My celebratory dinner was at Antoine"s on Royal Street, the dining staff sang Happy Birthday, gave me a tour and brief history of renowned restaurant. They even took pictures with me, the Chef came out to inquire if the meal was to my liking. And of course, it was!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soozi
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Jan 30, 2012

It doesn't get any better!

We were on our way to a cruise and we had booked the hotel for one night. It was right in thhe middle of the Frenchquarter! So many things to do and to see! And the people! The staff was excellent and tried in every way to make our stay there enjoyable. Kudos!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ACAlum
Business
Hayward, Wi
Jun 9, 2011

a definite future repeat performance

Chateau Dupre offered a pleasant stay. Great location, friendly and helpful staff, they have done alot of upkeep and maintenance on the hotel which was built in 1854 (which gives it even more character and charm. The temperature inside was comfortable.I enjoyed being right above the street which provided entertainment at times outside with spontaneous parades going by, street muscians, etc. Despite the frequent fire trucks from down the street passing by, it was quiet and a great place to relax. An excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Every morning walked all over French Quarter, along Mississippi River, to parks, restaurants and cafes, and also to conference several blocks away. Being able to walk all over, with lots to see and do within a short jaunt was great. Tour shop right next store person was very helpful and steered me in great directions from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Earth
Aug 14, 2010

Perfect for a short, busy trip

Was in town for a short, busy business trip. It was very hot outside and there was a lot of walking. The Hotel was the perfect place to either end the day or nap in between events. The A/C worked great, the staff was friendly, and Huck Finns next door was fun (and delicious).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dive bars and pubs on Decatur are quiet and friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 5, 2008

Unique Hotel in French Quarter

The hotel was in a great location as far as catching Sheraton Shuttle to jazz fest and walking around the French Quarter in the evening. Free continental breakfast was basic - cereal, doughnuts, biscuts, fruit, coffee, juice - but was perfect to start off the day (as long as you could make it to breakfast before 9am). House-keeping was a little questionable as there was a wet wash cloth left in the shower and melted ice left in the ice bucket upon our arrival. I also had to ask for more towels (only two towels in a 2 Queen-bed room) and had to ask for more toilet paper when it was not re-stocked when the room was cleaned. Overall it was a pleasant experience and I would return. One thing to note is the outside noise. Although it didn't bother me because I currently live in a major city, it might be bothersome for families with small children. Lots of noise coming from the street outside - people shouting, cars, sirens....but it's a Sat night in New Orleans - to be expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Blues is only a block away and Tipitina's dowtown is around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Starkville,Ms.
Mar 16, 2011

Nice hotel to stay at for that price

We were just minutes from bourbon street, the casino many nice restaurants. I look forward to traveling to New Orleans again. Each visit is always an adventure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latgirablanca
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Cheap and great!

What a great fun staff! Totally honest with an out of towner for suggestions and great location. In the Quarter but a little off the main drag so you can actually sleep, relax, walk up the road to Cafe DuMonde... Deeply quiet rooms with no windows = awesome crash pad. More a place for non families and people looking to hide out after partying a bit. I love this place and am staying there next year. :) Please note; this is NOT a fancy hotel nor a B&B. Go elsewhere if you need ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a 'shrimp boat' at the food stalls in the actual French Quarter Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orangeslices
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Safe, convenient & comfortable ... but noisy!

Big room! Nice bathroom and the bed was comfortable. The lobby bathrooms were gross so I would avoid that. The elevator kept getting stuck on floors because the door had problems getting stuck open. This was easily fixed by pressing the door or the desk attendant would fix. I would request a room that faces Decatur because we stayed on the opposite side and could hear the traffic from the Marriott all night/morning. I felt safe and the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistreaux on Toulouse (truffle mac & cheese), Felipes Taqueria on N. Peters

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zydeco Junkie
Business
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Great Festival location!

The Chateau Dupre is an old boutique hotel with a great location (just 1 block from the House of Blues), and wonderful staff! Also, it's connected to Huck Finn's restaurant (great food!). Room was clean, staff is very helpful, and I would definitely go back there again! The biggest problem was no parking facility. We had to park in a public lot several blocks away which was inconvenient, but not a deal breaker!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

It's a long walk to the French Market, but other shopping is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top