$999 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 6, 2014

Chateau Dupre

3 stars
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
156 reviews
Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote. See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV... See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 4, 2013
Cozy French Quarter hotel in a building that pre-dates the Civil War

The intimate and 100% smoke-free hotel was opened in 1845 and was once home to New Orleans business magnates, matriarchs and statesmen. The Chateau Hotel Dupre offers guests a cozy nest with 62 rooms in the heart of the bustling French Quarter. A caring and attentive staff treats the hotel and its guests with warmth and hospitality.

Highlights
  • French Quarter location
  • Intimate setting
  • Personalized service
  • 100% smoke-free
Rooms

Each of the 62 rooms and suites is warmly decorated in a traditional style and offers amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply), phone (fees apply). Some rooms have in-room faxes, data ports and ceiling fans.

Features

The hotel has no food or beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is particularly useful. Huck Finn's restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • House of Blues
  • French Market
  • Cafe Du Monde
Business
  • Some rooms equipped with fax machines and data ports

 

Policies and fees

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges. There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Dupre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Chateau Dupre Rooms

Standard
Bed type is not guaranteed and is determined at time of check in Maximum 2 guests recommended per room. This hotel is 100% non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Feb 20, 2011

Awful stay at chateau dupre

The location was great but hotel needs alot of work the elevators were broke down and we had to climb the stairs up the 3rd floor! We never saw housekeepers finally had to go down to front desk and ask for fresh linen. service was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Feb 17, 2011

unbelievable (bad)

-The hotel was hard to find even with a GPS -The elevator was not working -The first room the curtains were off the hanger -The second room the curtains were half on the hanger and the TV cable was taped together, which i had to fix -We found cockroach in the bathroom -The outside door to get to the rooms would not lock -The carpet was old and stained -The only nice thing i had to say about our stay was the receptionist was very nice and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, La
Feb 16, 2011

Horrible Stay!!

The elevator was broken, so we had to carry our luggage up three flight of stairs. The entrence to the stairs was kept locked so everytime I wanted to get to my room was a hassle. The room was not cleaned very well ( dirty shower, dirty floors). The only good thing about this hotel is the location. I will NOT ever stay at this place again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SUGAR BOWL FAN
Business
OHIO
Jan 11, 2011

STAY NOT TOO BAD

STAY WAS NOT TOO BAD. HAD PROBLEMS WITH FIRST ROOM, ASKED FRONT DESK AND THEY VERY KINDLY SWITCHED OUR ROOM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

PLENTY TO DO IN FRENCH QUARTER

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jan 9, 2011

Unbelievable

Such a place should not be allowed to operate. It does not meet any of the minimum technical requirements of a commercial building. There were wires everywhere, no shower curtain, the ellevator was in very bad shape. They should close the place down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
give me a towel
Business
arkansas
Jan 8, 2011

Chateau DUMPre

The hotel was horrible!! we had 4 people staying in the tiny room with the cramped bathroom(which ran out of hot water each time anyone would shower), and even though we had to pay an additional fee for the extra 2 people, we still were only allotted 2 towels!! we asked for extras and they said it would be the next morning before we could get any so one person had to dry off with a sheet! the service is horrible, the people are rude, and the valet parking takes forever! WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Jan 6, 2011

Worst hotel ever! Do not stay here!

I chose this hotel based upon [...], their website, and their rating. BUT please whatever you do, please Do not stay here unless the motel 6s are all booked. I like historical aged hotels for character but the only character here is ran down. I finally got to check in after 2 other guests were complaining. First one had no power in room (no lights--nothing) and the other one had no working tv. Hotel employees response is that you are in New Orleans and do not need a tv. We finally got checked in and headed to the room...but elevator was stuck. She showed us how to unstuck the elevator. We got to the room to find carpet unswept, curtains hanging off, holes in wall, creepy little doors (6th sense doors), blood on the comforter, weed (the illegal kind) in the "clean" bed, pee all over the toilet. The room was very small and I paid for the Deluxe King. We could only figure that they named it that since, we had a silver ice bucket. The stairs only lead to an exterior door that you could not enter and stated you could not exit without setting off fire alarm (no alarm went off when we finally opened after elevator would not come to let us out of hotel). I threw out my back trying to unstick it one time. Little lights, few electrical outlets worked, and lamps tilted (broken). We have lots of pictures to share. We talked to the night manager about our room and he confirmed we did get the deluxe room. He waived our communication fee (phone and internet)...even if you don't use, you will still be charged. The internet kept kicking us out. We tried looking for another room and business office. They offer no ammenities!!! Please save yourself and your family from the aggrevation and stay elsewhere. There is nothing historical about this place and it definately does NOT look like the pictures here or on their website. Manager did not offer anything. It also takes hours to get your car from valet (off-site). First time I didn't bring my own pillow, and had to sleep on a one inch hard so-called pillow. One last thing to worn you, walls are thin and heard garbage trucks and delivery trucks clunking all night. Even the employees were telling me much better hotels to stay the next time I come to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is many buildings and shops in the French Quarter that takes some time exploring during the day and at night. Please becareful at night and stay in well lighted areas with a fellow explorer just to be on the safe side. Neat churches and shops but please wear your walking shoes! Pat Os does have the best Hurricanes but they were a little strong this time. Stay anywhere but here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Realtor Kim Slade
Business
Venice, Florida
Dec 20, 2010

Chateau Dupre - very friendly and quaint

This hotel was just around the corner from the host hotel for our Realtor Convention so, Chateau Dupre was our choice. The front desk staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating, they were excellent! It is an old hotel but our room was clean and beds were made daily. I just can't say enough about the staff, every time we left they waved and told us to have a great day and upon our return, we were welcomed back. The restaurant attached had great food too! I'd definitely stay at Chateau Dupre again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend taking the green trolley up to the City Zoo. The walk from the drop-off point through the park was absolutely beautiful, not to mention the Garden area to get there on the trolley was a sight to hold (the gorgeous homes, wow)! We attended the Swamp Festival which was included with the price of admission to the Zoo, the food there was incredible, as was the music and dancing! We were glad we took the time to get out of the downtown area to experience the Garden District, the Zoo and The Swamp Festival!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Charles, LA
Dec 13, 2010

Not quite what we were hoping for...

Friday night, we came back from Bourbon Street to find a sign saying, "The fire alarm earlier was a false alarm. However, the elevator is not working; please use stairs." Twelve flights of stairs aren't much fun with a busted knee. Saturday morning, the fire alarm went off several more times. Saturday night, we again returned from Bourbon, to be told that the hotel had been on fire while we were out. In addition, when we were checking out, the attendant working at the front desk was incredibly rude to us and to the other guests checking out, speaking to us in a very condescending tone, and rolled her eyes at all of us several times. Whenever someone wasn't "bothering" her at the counter, she sat and chatted on her cell phone. I really couldn't believe the service OR the repeated fire alarms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, LA
Dec 6, 2010

great location

great location, rooms are old and not too clean but we got in at 3 a.m....we just needed a bed and a warm room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to Bourbon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top