$999 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 8, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Chateau Dupre

3 stars
View map of 131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bdub1988
Business
Huntsville, AL, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Location

Great location. Old room mastery shower old beds. Had to slap the tube tv. Nice staff and again great location. But for price I paid not again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Full o Tiger
Business
Tennesee
Jan 12, 2012

Stay somewhere else to do not go.

Our room - 207 - was located right over the sports bar below and right above the band, which played until 2:30 am. The room was very dirty and stunk. I would recommend if you can not stay somewhere else pass on the trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Football Fan Tuscaloosa
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Event Weekend

My stay in the Chateau Dupre was during the Saint's Wildcard NFL game and NCAA BCS football game between LSU/Alabama. The city was packed with people. This hotel has a great location near Canal Street, the river, and in the French Quarter. When you walk out of the front door, you are next to the House of Blues! The room was larger than I thought it would be, but was dark and dated. It needs new TV's, new carpet, and new furniture. The AC worked as did everything in the bathroom! It was over priced for this big weekend, but so was everything else. The two people I encountered at the front desk were nice and helpful. It was nice to have a restaurant/bar connected to the hotel. I would stay here again, but only if there were no other reasonable options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There is great food and entertainment within a few yards of this hotel! Great location for all activities in the French Quarter, and a 15 min. walk to the Dome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alistair
Business
Utah
Dec 29, 2011

#fail. Rudest manager ever,

Booked only 1 night, thank goodness. Am now looking for another place. Have never seen such a rude hotel manager blowing off guests. "Yup, post it right on Facebook if you want - see if I care" ! egads. Can only recommend you don't damage your holiday by staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latgirablanca
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Cheap and great!

What a great fun staff! Totally honest with an out of towner for suggestions and great location. In the Quarter but a little off the main drag so you can actually sleep, relax, walk up the road to Cafe DuMonde... Deeply quiet rooms with no windows = awesome crash pad. More a place for non families and people looking to hide out after partying a bit. I love this place and am staying there next year. :) Please note; this is NOT a fancy hotel nor a B&B. Go elsewhere if you need ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a 'shrimp boat' at the food stalls in the actual French Quarter Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
neworleans
Business
Pensacola, FL, USA
Oct 25, 2011

The quarter

We walked in the room, my wife looked around and walked out. As nonrefundable we headed to the Marriott on Canal and got a nice, expensive room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Staying in the French Quarter

I was able to do a weekend get away to New Orleans. Flew in on a Friday afternoon and back on Sunday. The stay was at the hotel was OK. I really liked the older/authenticate building vs chrome/plastic on the big chains. Beds/pillows/sheets/towels were somewhat worn/thin but I wasn't going to New Orleans to hang out in the room. Location was just on the edge of the French Quarter so easy walking. Next time I go back I'd strongly consider this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolley Car was close by and great for getting to the Garden District as an alternative to the french quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dissatisfied guest
Business
Louisville, KY
Sep 12, 2011

Hotel *ell

From the moment we checked in, we received terrible customer service. We were completely shocked by the disrespectful and inconsiderate nasty attitude of the front desk clerk. She would never give her name but I believe I heard one of her co-workers call her Charmaine. She knowingly booked us in a room that had no window pane. They had used duct tape to tape a piece of cardboard over it. We awoke to pigeons cooing and trying to tap their way into our window. They moved us to another room which didn't lock unless you slammed the door so hard, it woke all the other guests. She never once apologized and just gave attitude like we were inconveniencing her. The other employees even told us that she had a nasty attitude, something about she was mad because she hadn't gotten a paycheck in a while...well don't take it out on us!. The room also had a broken thermostat, the towel rack was hanging by one screw, the traffic noise was horrible. There was not one good thing about this hotel. The elevator door would shut on you and crush you if you didn't hold the "open door" button. Stay away from this hotel...the worst I have ever stayed in in all my travels and I have travelled a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rioguy2011
Business
Clearwater, Florida
Sep 6, 2011

Tropical storm Lee and me in New Orleans

Close to downtown and casinos. A bit far from Bourbon Street activities. Had to request room with table and dresser to store luggage. Old style TV in room. Had to pay a communications fee which I had no devices to access internet. Several fee wifi hot near hotel. No continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SusieJJ
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Dark and Moldy

I checked into the Chateau Dupre Hotel Friday evening. Upon entering the hotel there was a mildew/mold odor, but since it was pouring I ignored it. While checking in the front desk worker said "You know this is run of the house bedding right?" I said yes. (Really, do I care what the bedding is..) When we went to use the elevator it closed on us numerous times. When we walked into our room the lights didn't work.. Only 1 lamp in the whole room worked. The room smelled moldy as well. I was meeting people for dinner so I threw my stuff down and went to meet them. I was very drunk upon returning to the room so I just moved the comforter and slept on the first sheet. I was also trying to give the place the benefit of the doubt and considering it a place with character... The next morning I opened the curtains to get some light in (no lights.. remember) and one of the windows was missing a piece of glass from the lower right corner - Probably about 3" x 1" and rain was coming in the room.. Right under the window was a 3' x 2' patch of wet carpet - Well, know where that mold smell is coming from.. The curtains were also moldy. The other window had men's size 48"x30" pants stickers stuck on it... Upon seeing the broken window I began to freak out. This was just the final straw for me. I continued to freak out throughout the day and booked a room at the J. W. Marriot for my remaining 2 nights in New Orleans. Upon checking out (I waited patiently to NOT have to speak in front of the 2 guys checking in.. but the desk staff insisted) they asked why I was leaving. I said, "well, I got a new hotel. The window is broken and water is pouring into the room and the lights don't work." They said, "ok, you're all set." and we went on our merry way to the J. W. Marriot which is the COMPLETE AND UTTER OPPOSITE of The Chateau Dupre Hotel and only a 2 minute walk from it.. I would never stay at the Chateau Dupre Hotel and I would never recommend anyone stay here for any reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top