$999 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Chateau Dupre

3 stars
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
156 reviews
Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote. See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV... See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 4, 2013
Cozy French Quarter hotel in a building that pre-dates the Civil War

The intimate and 100% smoke-free hotel was opened in 1845 and was once home to New Orleans business magnates, matriarchs and statesmen. The Chateau Hotel Dupre offers guests a cozy nest with 62 rooms in the heart of the bustling French Quarter. A caring and attentive staff treats the hotel and its guests with warmth and hospitality.

Highlights
  • French Quarter location
  • Intimate setting
  • Personalized service
  • 100% smoke-free
Rooms

Each of the 62 rooms and suites is warmly decorated in a traditional style and offers amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply), phone (fees apply). Some rooms have in-room faxes, data ports and ceiling fans.

Features

The hotel has no food or beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is particularly useful. Huck Finn's restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • House of Blues
  • French Market
  • Cafe Du Monde
Business
  • Some rooms equipped with fax machines and data ports

 

Policies and fees

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges. There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9522 -90.0669
Area served
New Orleans; Riverwalk
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport 12mi; Lakefront Airport 12mi
Area description
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 Located in the heart of the French Quarter.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Dupre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Chateau Dupre Rooms

Standard
Bed type is not guaranteed and is determined at time of check in Maximum 2 guests recommended per room. This hotel is 100% non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New Orleans travel girl
New Orleans, LA
Sep 30, 2013

Complete disappointment

This hotel is old and it shows. Our room was dark, musty, and dirty. If you have allergies of any kind dont bother. Faucet handles were broken and mismatched. Bathroom floor tile was broken in several places. No wash cloths, no hand towels. The hair dryer had been stolen I assume since the holder was still on the wall. No coffee pot even tho once is listed in the amenities section. The windows did not open. Carpet was very old and very dirty. This room was NOT worth the money we spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DreamGirlRN
Pittsburgh, PA
May 2, 2013

Rough and Smelly

First that me say the Staff was excellent. They all were kind and helpful and happy. Greeted us every time we left or were coming back in for the night. Very Friendly. Second, the location was great. Everything was within a few walking distance and easy to navigate and could catch a cab very easy as well. The room...I believe that we may have had BED BUGS!!!!!! we did the bed bug check however my friend had bite that are consistent with bed bug bites. Our stuff is now in quarantine to rid the bugs! the room was not clean and very out of date. Most important it was NOT CLEAN...the hair in the bathroom and the dust on everything. our room and all of our stuff smelled from the ventilation from Huck Finns next door. we never had enough towels and when we asked they were not sure that they even had any to spare. Due to the location we were only a few blocks from Bourbon without the noise, only a few blocks from Jackson Square, took cooking class from the wonderful Sandra at the new Orleans school of cooking the food was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

New Orleans school of cooking on St Louis. the food was great, the story telling was awesome and the food was out of this world!!!! Only $29.00 well worth it!!!!

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Milwaukee Mike
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 30, 2013

The dump in New Orleans

It was awful! We were put in a double room with a broken AC first. Then a single with a very small bed and a door lock that half the time did not work, and no dressers. We could not find another room, as Jazz fest was going on, so we were stuck there. For you to represent this hotel is very dissappointing and we will not be using you again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Frenchmen Street was awsome

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sabzrina
NJ
Apr 29, 2013

Great Location

Chateau Dupre is quite possibly in the best location of the French Quarter. You pay for the hotel location, not the fancy room with lots of amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Frenchmen Street for good live music and a true NOLA experience.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mill House Designer
Pensacola FL
Apr 22, 2013

Great Location, Faded Glory

I've stayed at this hotel before and know what to expect, great location, courteous staff amid the faded glory of an antebellum hotel. It works for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Attiki, great Middle Eastern food,

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NoLo traveler
New Orleans
Mar 25, 2013

Great trip - the hotel was pretty bad

The Hotel Dupre is run down with no amenities. The ice is on one floor. The coke machine does not work. The room did not have a blow dryer as advertised. Some of the staff was rude. The drapes did not work. The electical outlets where covered or loose. The room did not seem clean. The location is almost out of the French Quarter. We had a great trip even though the hotel was pretty bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
return of the ex new york
Florida
Mar 7, 2013

This is the worst hotel experience I every Had!

There is no way this is rated 3 stars! The rooms were in need of renovation, our first room (notice I said first room) had watermarked ceilings, broken floor tiles, and was actually in terrible condition, I said first room because we moved to another room because of the general bad condition and the fact that one tv was broken and the other did not have the correct remote and we could not see the controls. We asked the front desk for a remote, but none was found. so we moved to another room, in better condition, but no remote. We remembered that our first room had the right brand of remote, so we took the remote from our first room. On our second day we returned to our room which had not been made-up. We complained to the front desk and was assured that this would not happen again. Well, it did happen again- no towels, trash filling the garbage cans, no bed made, etc. Two days without housekeeping! There was never a manager, we were told he would be in in the morning, he was never there. This hotel has no way to keep our luggage - put it in the corner she said. I also have a complaint about your company. We called to cancel our paid reservation (4 days) and were told this could not be done "without the managers approval". Since the manager was NEVER there how could this happen? So it was lose $700+ or suffer. As I opened this essay, this was the worst hotel I have ever experienced and I am 67 years old and widely traveled. I hold your company responsible because of the rating it was given, and not accepting OUR Word about canceling. A credit of 5% would not compensate us for the unpleasantness we experienced. We loved our location and we will stay in a well known, more responsible hotel on our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

an excellent location to see the French Quarter.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scradd4475
peoria, IL
Feb 14, 2013

Mardi Gra stay

The rooms are small but adequate for the true amount of time spent there. I question the extra charge for the phone/internet connection. Especially when the 4th floor had little to no signal to the wireless net work of the hotel, but good connection could be made from a neighboring business. The phone never being used? charged ??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
aubrey anne
Hagerstown, MD
Oct 23, 2012

Extremely disappointed.

On our first trip to NOLA, we were extremely disappointed when we arrived at the hotel. The canopy was shredded, the lobby was disgustingly dirty as well as the furniture in the lobby. The elevator became a joke amongst all staying there, in that it starts closing on you 2 seconds after the door opens. There is no luggage storage facility. The rooms were cleaner than the lobby, but still very dirty and old and tattered. The sink and the shelf in the bathroom were both coming off the wall. There was no hair dryer in my room and no ironing board. We would NOT recommend this to anyone going to NOLA. Not even worth the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Slipper for breakfast....was amazing!

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TLVH
Kent, Ohio
Oct 17, 2012

Fantastic Location

Location, location, location. That was the best thing about this Hotel. Staff was extremely friendly. Take note that no parking is available at the Hotel and you have to park in a Public Lot which was $$$ and a few blocks away. It was extremely noisy so no sleep was had by anyone in the room. We were located on the street side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Du Monde and Cafe Maspero's are my favorite spots.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search