$999 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Chateau Dupre

3 stars
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
245 reviews
Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote. See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV... See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 4, 2013
Cozy French Quarter hotel in a building that pre-dates the Civil War

The intimate and 100% smoke-free hotel was opened in 1845 and was once home to New Orleans business magnates, matriarchs and statesmen. The Chateau Hotel Dupre offers guests a cozy nest with 62 rooms in the heart of the bustling French Quarter. A caring and attentive staff treats the hotel and its guests with warmth and hospitality.

Highlights
  • French Quarter location
  • Intimate setting
  • Personalized service
  • 100% smoke-free
Rooms

Each of the 62 rooms and suites is warmly decorated in a traditional style and offers amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply), phone (fees apply). Some rooms have in-room faxes, data ports and ceiling fans.

Features

The hotel has no food or beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is particularly useful. Huck Finn's restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • House of Blues
  • French Market
  • Cafe Du Monde
Business
  • Some rooms equipped with fax machines and data ports

 

Policies and fees

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges. There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9522 -90.0669
Area served
New Orleans; Riverwalk
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport 12mi; Lakefront Airport 12mi
Area description
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 Located in the heart of the French Quarter.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Dupre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Chateau Dupre Rooms

Standard
Bed type is not guaranteed and is determined at time of check in Maximum 2 guests recommended per room. This hotel is 100% non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (245)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Macon, Ga.
Nov 12, 2010

Cannot reccommend

We were only in New Orleans for one night and what a terrible impression we received. Filthy motel. The towels and wash cloths were dingy and almost thread bear. There was hair on the floor in restroom.The restroom was not sufficiently stocked. Chairs in the bedroom have big stains in the seat. The carpeting in the bedroom and hall-ways is very dirty. The mattress is worn, lumpy, old and uncomfortable. The pillows are so old, they are flat which is gross to think of how many people have slept on them. The batteries fell out of the t.v. remote when I picked it up because there is no battery cover. The coffee stirring sticks are sitting out in a cup, not in sanitary packaging.The floor in the lobby restroom is so nasty, your shoes stick to it. The clerks at the front desk were friendly and helpful with local advice, that is the best thing I can say. I would absolutley not ever stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You should consider Surrey's on Magazine St. for breakfast. The service and food is excellent!

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Macon, Ga.
Nov 12, 2010

Cannot reccommend

We were only in New Orleans for one night and what a terrible impression we received. Filthy motel. The towels and wash cloths were dingy and almost thread bear. There was hair on the floor in restroom.The restroom was not sufficiently stocked. Chairs in the bedroom have big stains in the seat. The carpeting in the bedroom and hall-ways is very dirty. The mattress is worn, lumpy, old and uncomfortable. The pillows are so old, they are flat which is gross to think of how many people have slept on them. The batteries fell out of the t.v. remote when I picked it up because there is no battery cover. The coffee stirring sticks are sitting out in a cup, not in sanitary packaging.The floor in the lobby restroom is so nasty, your shoes stick to it. The clerks at the front desk were friendly and helpful with local advice, that is the best thing I can say. I would absolutley not ever stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You should consider Surrey's on Magazine St. for breakfast. The service and food is excellent!

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Henri1008
Houston, TX
Nov 2, 2010

Worst Experience

Possibly the worst customer service ever. The room and bathroom were filthy. [...] at the front desk made the experience all the worse. Her lack of customer service skills sure made the experience awful. Towels were not placed in the room and hours later I was asked to visit the front desk for towels. The elevator was broken and going up 4 flights of stairs with luggage was not the ideal arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to everything, but it's not worth the money.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Henri1008
Houston, TX
Nov 2, 2010

Worst Experience

Possibly the worst customer service ever. The room and bathroom were filthy. [...] at the front desk made the experience all the worse. Her lack of customer service skills sure made the experience awful. Towels were not placed in the room and hours later I was asked to visit the front desk for towels. The elevator was broken and going up 4 flights of stairs with luggage was not the ideal arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to everything, but it's not worth the money.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollywood, Fl.
Oct 29, 2010

what happened?

The hotel was nothing at all as it was in the picture.The room was not good either. The drapes look like thet were on there last limb that if you try too open them they would fall down. Were the coffee make was there was an extention cord were if i wanted to use it i had to unplug the light. It took us forever to find the hotel because the sign was way to small. The only they that we thought was very very good was the whole staff, especially the one that was there when we checked in. I am sorry we couldn't remeber her name but she was right on point with everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the tours they come to the hotel to pick you up. THey were really good guides.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollywood, Fl.
Oct 29, 2010

what happened?

The hotel was nothing at all as it was in the picture.The room was not good either. The drapes look like thet were on there last limb that if you try too open them they would fall down. Were the coffee make was there was an extention cord were if i wanted to use it i had to unplug the light. It took us forever to find the hotel because the sign was way to small. The only they that we thought was very very good was the whole staff, especially the one that was there when we checked in. I am sorry we couldn't remeber her name but she was right on point with everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the tours they come to the hotel to pick you up. THey were really good guides.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pace, Fl
Oct 4, 2010

Chateau Dupre, ok for stay

Very good stay at a great value. One must appreciate the age of the establishment, it is not a new building. Enjoyed both nights stay, beware of the horns...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Natchez Steamboat lunch cruise, excellent cruise on the Mississippi with a awesome buffet lunch.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pace, Fl
Oct 4, 2010

Chateau Dupre, ok for stay

Very good stay at a great value. One must appreciate the age of the establishment, it is not a new building. Enjoyed both nights stay, beware of the horns...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Natchez Steamboat lunch cruise, excellent cruise on the Mississippi with a awesome buffet lunch.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jose Morales
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 12, 2010

Where should I start! Stay AWAY!

Front desk staffs were not friendly at all. We had to wait all day, till 4:00 PM for our room, although they had 33 rooms available, but would not let us check in until after 4:00 PM, even though we got there at 10:00 AM. The room was AWFUL! It smelled and everything in it was old and dirty. The furniture looked like something out of a thrift shop. The mattress was so old and lumpy that I think Napoleon himself slept on it. Did I mention the bed frame was broken on one side so the mattress was not leveled. The bathroom had water leaking from the ceiling onto the floor. The shower head was so filthy and green with mold it was disgusting. The bathroom sink was barely hanging on the wall. I was waiting for the thing to fall off any moment. There was a glass shelve over the toilet that was so slanted everything would slide off onto the floor. The toilet was constantly running water. The towel rack was unusable because the bar would fall off and would not hold any towels. The carpet looked as if it been there since the early 1900's. The AC register was right over the bed so you had this constant stream of air blowing on your face all night, so if you have allergies, this can be a huge problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The only good thing about this hotel is that it was near to everything, but I will NEVER stay here EVER again.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jose Morales
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 12, 2010

Where should I start! Stay AWAY!

Front desk staffs were not friendly at all. We had to wait all day, till 4:00 PM for our room, although they had 33 rooms available, but would not let us check in until after 4:00 PM, even though we got there at 10:00 AM. The room was AWFUL! It smelled and everything in it was old and dirty. The furniture looked like something out of a thrift shop. The mattress was so old and lumpy that I think Napoleon himself slept on it. Did I mention the bed frame was broken on one side so the mattress was not leveled. The bathroom had water leaking from the ceiling onto the floor. The shower head was so filthy and green with mold it was disgusting. The bathroom sink was barely hanging on the wall. I was waiting for the thing to fall off any moment. There was a glass shelve over the toilet that was so slanted everything would slide off onto the floor. The toilet was constantly running water. The towel rack was unusable because the bar would fall off and would not hold any towels. The carpet looked as if it been there since the early 1900's. The AC register was right over the bed so you had this constant stream of air blowing on your face all night, so if you have allergies, this can be a huge problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The only good thing about this hotel is that it was near to everything, but I will NEVER stay here EVER again.

Back to menu Return to top