$999 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Chateau Dupre

3 stars
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
245 reviews
Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote. See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV... See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 4, 2013
Cozy French Quarter hotel in a building that pre-dates the Civil War

The intimate and 100% smoke-free hotel was opened in 1845 and was once home to New Orleans business magnates, matriarchs and statesmen. The Chateau Hotel Dupre offers guests a cozy nest with 62 rooms in the heart of the bustling French Quarter. A caring and attentive staff treats the hotel and its guests with warmth and hospitality.

Highlights
  • French Quarter location
  • Intimate setting
  • Personalized service
  • 100% smoke-free
Rooms

Each of the 62 rooms and suites is warmly decorated in a traditional style and offers amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply), phone (fees apply). Some rooms have in-room faxes, data ports and ceiling fans.

Features

The hotel has no food or beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is particularly useful. Huck Finn's restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • House of Blues
  • French Market
  • Cafe Du Monde
Business
  • Some rooms equipped with fax machines and data ports

 

Policies and fees

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges. There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Chateau Dupre Rooms

Standard
Bed type is not guaranteed and is determined at time of check in Maximum 2 guests recommended per room. This hotel is 100% non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Dupre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9522 -90.0669
Area served
New Orleans; Riverwalk
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport 12mi; Lakefront Airport 12mi
Area description
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 Located in the heart of the French Quarter.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (245)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, LA
Dec 6, 2010

great location

great location, rooms are old and not too clean but we got in at 3 a.m....we just needed a bed and a warm room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to Bourbon

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Walton Beach FL
Dec 6, 2010

Chateau Dupre - Bulleted Review

- On Decatur - Hard to find due to the Hotel sign being tiny. It's a one way street and sits in between the House of Blues and Canal. - Parking is $28. I'm guessing per night. They will hold your vehicle until 4PM on checkout day. So you can check out and go walk around for a while. - Smoky. Apparently the smokes spills over from a neighboring restaurant and fills the building. - You get whatever room is available. I booked the room for my girlfriend and I and we ended up with a room with two double beds, cause that's what they had. - The rooms are basic. Bed, TV, Iron Board and Iron, Little closet, and little desk. -Don't recall seeing an internet connection. -Don't expect to get much sleep. There's a parking garage next to the backside of the building. I don't know what they're doing in there, but there was constant "double honking" going on from 6AM all the way till we checked out. I'm a heavy sleeper and this was annoying and loud enough to wake me up and keep me up. - Service was good. People were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, LA
Dec 6, 2010

great location

great location, rooms are old and not too clean but we got in at 3 a.m....we just needed a bed and a warm room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to Bourbon

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Walton Beach FL
Dec 6, 2010

Chateau Dupre - Bulleted Review

- On Decatur - Hard to find due to the Hotel sign being tiny. It's a one way street and sits in between the House of Blues and Canal. - Parking is $28. I'm guessing per night. They will hold your vehicle until 4PM on checkout day. So you can check out and go walk around for a while. - Smoky. Apparently the smokes spills over from a neighboring restaurant and fills the building. - You get whatever room is available. I booked the room for my girlfriend and I and we ended up with a room with two double beds, cause that's what they had. - The rooms are basic. Bed, TV, Iron Board and Iron, Little closet, and little desk. -Don't recall seeing an internet connection. -Don't expect to get much sleep. There's a parking garage next to the backside of the building. I don't know what they're doing in there, but there was constant "double honking" going on from 6AM all the way till we checked out. I'm a heavy sleeper and this was annoying and loud enough to wake me up and keep me up. - Service was good. People were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Nov 29, 2010

Horrible

The staff and comfort of the beds were the only things good about this hotel. We were on the 4th floor. The hallway fills with the kitchen exhaust from the neighboring hotel so it always stunk. The elevator door would get stuck open. The room had a ceiling leak, the bathroom floor was sticky, there were stains everwhere-towels, bedding, floor, our power went out on one side of the room,housekeeping would take towels and not replace them, and one of the pillows had stuffing sticking out of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Nov 29, 2010

Horrible

The staff and comfort of the beds were the only things good about this hotel. We were on the 4th floor. The hallway fills with the kitchen exhaust from the neighboring hotel so it always stunk. The elevator door would get stuck open. The room had a ceiling leak, the bathroom floor was sticky, there were stains everwhere-towels, bedding, floor, our power went out on one side of the room,housekeeping would take towels and not replace them, and one of the pillows had stuffing sticking out of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
baton rouge
Nov 28, 2010

the worst

the hotel is the worst...directions/signage is not good. the night front desk person was rude. but i do understand that it was alot of check ins. she did seem nicer the next night when it was less busy. the rooms are very old and need a update very bad. the room was over priced and the iron didnt even work. they ran out od towels...who does that? the only good thing was that the hotel was in a good location for party life....i will never book a room there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

burbon

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
baton rouge
Nov 28, 2010

the worst

the hotel is the worst...directions/signage is not good. the night front desk person was rude. but i do understand that it was alot of check ins. she did seem nicer the next night when it was less busy. the rooms are very old and need a update very bad. the room was over priced and the iron didnt even work. they ran out od towels...who does that? the only good thing was that the hotel was in a good location for party life....i will never book a room there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

burbon

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Nov 19, 2010

Avoid

It is definitely not a THREE-STAR hotel. My room was very small, and NO WINDOW. Towels were dirty, not to mention the room was dirty. It is not worth of the money (room charge was not cheap).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Nov 19, 2010

Avoid

It is definitely not a THREE-STAR hotel. My room was very small, and NO WINDOW. Towels were dirty, not to mention the room was dirty. It is not worth of the money (room charge was not cheap).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top