Chateau Dupre

3 stars
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
158 reviews
Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote. See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV... See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 4, 2013
Cozy French Quarter hotel in a building that pre-dates the Civil War

The intimate and 100% smoke-free hotel was opened in 1845 and was once home to New Orleans business magnates, matriarchs and statesmen. The Chateau Hotel Dupre offers guests a cozy nest with 62 rooms in the heart of the bustling French Quarter. A caring and attentive staff treats the hotel and its guests with warmth and hospitality.

Highlights
  • French Quarter location
  • Intimate setting
  • Personalized service
  • 100% smoke-free
Rooms

Each of the 62 rooms and suites is warmly decorated in a traditional style and offers amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply), phone (fees apply). Some rooms have in-room faxes, data ports and ceiling fans.

Features

The hotel has no food or beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is particularly useful. Huck Finn's restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • House of Blues
  • French Market
  • Cafe Du Monde
Business
  • Some rooms equipped with fax machines and data ports

 

Policies and fees

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges. There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9522 -90.0669
Area served
New Orleans; Riverwalk
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport 12mi; Lakefront Airport 12mi
Area description
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 Located in the heart of the French Quarter.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Dupre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Chateau Dupre Rooms

Standard
Bed type is not guaranteed and is determined at time of check in Maximum 2 guests recommended per room. This hotel is 100% non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Earth
Aug 14, 2010

Perfect for a short, busy trip

Was in town for a short, busy business trip. It was very hot outside and there was a lot of walking. The Hotel was the perfect place to either end the day or nap in between events. The A/C worked great, the staff was friendly, and Huck Finns next door was fun (and delicious).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dive bars and pubs on Decatur are quiet and friendly.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pensacola
Jul 26, 2010

Mixed Bag

[...] Valet parking is $25 per night. No parking facility at the hotel.After I got home, I found out that my cell phone had been stolen from the car while in the custody of the valet parking service. I think they are just used by the hotel and not connected to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jul 12, 2010

Don't even bother. Receptionist

Don't even bother. Receptionist rude and checking us in was clearly a bother. Lift kept breaking. Couldn't have a shower as it didn't work and the rudeness of staff stopped us asking them to fix it. The carpet in the hallway was filty and the whole place smelt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ms.Hudson
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 7, 2010

hole in wall

Due to the french name (my last name) I decided to give this hotel a shot. Needless to say, it was very creepy, damp and not traveler friendly. I tried to use the phone in my room it was very sticky much so disgusting. The door was crooked on the hindges. Wash clothes were very worn out along with the tiles. The toilet ran all night. It was the worst overall...Definitely need to remodel that creepy place... Never again will I stay there!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
baton rouge resident
baton rouge, la
Jun 29, 2010

Old charm

It was our wedding night. We were close enough to the french quarter to walk around that night but not far enough away to escape the noise of the quarter. Didn't quiet down outside until sun up. Other than that the service was great. Soon after we got to our room the desk clerk called to see if everything was ok with the room. The next day the day clerk was just as kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restuarants were in in walking distance. We left our vehicle with the hotel after we had checked out and walked for a few hours around the quarter.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jun 23, 2010

Nothing like the photos

Hotel charges for internet access but rooms do not have access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pensacola, FL
Jun 17, 2010

Great location and price

I was only coming to town for one night to attend a show at House of Blues. This hotel was the best place to stay since it was only 1 block from HOB. The staff was friendly and the hotel was great for the one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door to the House of Blues.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sarasota, FL
May 15, 2010

The good, the Bad the Ugly

We will not return. Food at Huck Finn (attached) was great on weekend, lousy during week. Staff were all very helpful. Beds were changed during our stay from comfortable to terrible, soiled uncomfortable. Our room had a sink, no vanity, no where to set anything down! To use WIFI -for which you are automatically charged, you have to sit in the lobby (2 chairs) and balance on lap with no where to plug in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

To everything

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 26, 2010

Hotel Dupree Dump

Overall this hotel was over priced under serviced and the rooms were in terrible shape. The staff was friendly but theres not much else positive I could say about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Dakota
Apr 10, 2010

Good experience, with one exception

For the most part, my experience at Chateau Dupre was good. The rooms are small, but servicable. The place is a little shabby, but for the price not bad. Staff is friendly and helpful. The one bad thing that happened is that my computer was stolen out of my bag when I left it in their (unlocked, no door) luggage storage room after check out. This falls under "should have known better," although they need to have a locked door on this room if they are going to allow people to store their luggage. Leave your luggage there after or before check out at your own risk; otherwise, a good cheap place to stay, right on the edge of the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Chateau Dupre is only about four blocks from Bourbon Street for New Orleans revelers looking for a convenient, inexpensive place to stay.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search