$999 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 8, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Chateau Dupre

3 stars
View map of 131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soozi
St Louis, MO, USA
Jan 30, 2012

It doesn't get any better!

We were on our way to a cruise and we had booked the hotel for one night. It was right in thhe middle of the Frenchquarter! So many things to do and to see! And the people! The staff was excellent and tried in every way to make our stay there enjoyable. Kudos!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Charles, LA
Dec 13, 2010

Not quite what we were hoping for...

Friday night, we came back from Bourbon Street to find a sign saying, "The fire alarm earlier was a false alarm. However, the elevator is not working; please use stairs." Twelve flights of stairs aren't much fun with a busted knee. Saturday morning, the fire alarm went off several more times. Saturday night, we again returned from Bourbon, to be told that the hotel had been on fire while we were out. In addition, when we were checking out, the attendant working at the front desk was incredibly rude to us and to the other guests checking out, speaking to us in a very condescending tone, and rolled her eyes at all of us several times. Whenever someone wasn't "bothering" her at the counter, she sat and chatted on her cell phone. I really couldn't believe the service OR the repeated fire alarms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, LA
Dec 6, 2010

great location

great location, rooms are old and not too clean but we got in at 3 a.m....we just needed a bed and a warm room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to Bourbon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Walton Beach FL
Dec 6, 2010

Chateau Dupre - Bulleted Review

- On Decatur - Hard to find due to the Hotel sign being tiny. It's a one way street and sits in between the House of Blues and Canal. - Parking is $28. I'm guessing per night. They will hold your vehicle until 4PM on checkout day. So you can check out and go walk around for a while. - Smoky. Apparently the smokes spills over from a neighboring restaurant and fills the building. - You get whatever room is available. I booked the room for my girlfriend and I and we ended up with a room with two double beds, cause that's what they had. - The rooms are basic. Bed, TV, Iron Board and Iron, Little closet, and little desk. -Don't recall seeing an internet connection. -Don't expect to get much sleep. There's a parking garage next to the backside of the building. I don't know what they're doing in there, but there was constant "double honking" going on from 6AM all the way till we checked out. I'm a heavy sleeper and this was annoying and loud enough to wake me up and keep me up. - Service was good. People were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Nov 29, 2010

Horrible

The staff and comfort of the beds were the only things good about this hotel. We were on the 4th floor. The hallway fills with the kitchen exhaust from the neighboring hotel so it always stunk. The elevator door would get stuck open. The room had a ceiling leak, the bathroom floor was sticky, there were stains everwhere-towels, bedding, floor, our power went out on one side of the room,housekeeping would take towels and not replace them, and one of the pillows had stuffing sticking out of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baton rouge
Nov 28, 2010

the worst

the hotel is the worst...directions/signage is not good. the night front desk person was rude. but i do understand that it was alot of check ins. she did seem nicer the next night when it was less busy. the rooms are very old and need a update very bad. the room was over priced and the iron didnt even work. they ran out od towels...who does that? the only good thing was that the hotel was in a good location for party life....i will never book a room there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

burbon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Nov 19, 2010

Avoid

It is definitely not a THREE-STAR hotel. My room was very small, and NO WINDOW. Towels were dirty, not to mention the room was dirty. It is not worth of the money (room charge was not cheap).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Macon, Ga.
Nov 12, 2010

Cannot reccommend

We were only in New Orleans for one night and what a terrible impression we received. Filthy motel. The towels and wash cloths were dingy and almost thread bear. There was hair on the floor in restroom.The restroom was not sufficiently stocked. Chairs in the bedroom have big stains in the seat. The carpeting in the bedroom and hall-ways is very dirty. The mattress is worn, lumpy, old and uncomfortable. The pillows are so old, they are flat which is gross to think of how many people have slept on them. The batteries fell out of the t.v. remote when I picked it up because there is no battery cover. The coffee stirring sticks are sitting out in a cup, not in sanitary packaging.The floor in the lobby restroom is so nasty, your shoes stick to it. The clerks at the front desk were friendly and helpful with local advice, that is the best thing I can say. I would absolutley not ever stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You should consider Surrey's on Magazine St. for breakfast. The service and food is excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Henri1008
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 2, 2010

Worst Experience

Possibly the worst customer service ever. The room and bathroom were filthy. [...] at the front desk made the experience all the worse. Her lack of customer service skills sure made the experience awful. Towels were not placed in the room and hours later I was asked to visit the front desk for towels. The elevator was broken and going up 4 flights of stairs with luggage was not the ideal arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to everything, but it's not worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollywood, Fl.
Oct 29, 2010

what happened?

The hotel was nothing at all as it was in the picture.The room was not good either. The drapes look like thet were on there last limb that if you try too open them they would fall down. Were the coffee make was there was an extention cord were if i wanted to use it i had to unplug the light. It took us forever to find the hotel because the sign was way to small. The only they that we thought was very very good was the whole staff, especially the one that was there when we checked in. I am sorry we couldn't remeber her name but she was right on point with everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the tours they come to the hotel to pick you up. THey were really good guides.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pace, Fl
Oct 4, 2010

Chateau Dupre, ok for stay

Very good stay at a great value. One must appreciate the age of the establishment, it is not a new building. Enjoyed both nights stay, beware of the horns...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Natchez Steamboat lunch cruise, excellent cruise on the Mississippi with a awesome buffet lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top