$999 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Chateau Dupre

3 stars
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
245 reviews
Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote. See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV... See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 4, 2013
Cozy French Quarter hotel in a building that pre-dates the Civil War

The intimate and 100% smoke-free hotel was opened in 1845 and was once home to New Orleans business magnates, matriarchs and statesmen. The Chateau Hotel Dupre offers guests a cozy nest with 62 rooms in the heart of the bustling French Quarter. A caring and attentive staff treats the hotel and its guests with warmth and hospitality.

Highlights
  • French Quarter location
  • Intimate setting
  • Personalized service
  • 100% smoke-free
Rooms

Each of the 62 rooms and suites is warmly decorated in a traditional style and offers amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply), phone (fees apply). Some rooms have in-room faxes, data ports and ceiling fans.

Features

The hotel has no food or beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is particularly useful. Huck Finn's restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • House of Blues
  • French Market
  • Cafe Du Monde
Business
  • Some rooms equipped with fax machines and data ports

 

Policies and fees

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges. There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Chateau Dupre Rooms

Standard
Bed type is not guaranteed and is determined at time of check in Maximum 2 guests recommended per room. This hotel is 100% non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Dupre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9522 -90.0669
Area served
New Orleans; Riverwalk
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport 12mi; Lakefront Airport 12mi
Area description
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 Located in the heart of the French Quarter.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (245)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Apr 5, 2011

NOT as appears in pictures...

I just returned from New Orleans and a stay at the Chateau Dupre. I picked this hotel only b/c there was no availability anywhere else in the Quarter. Despite its convenient location, the hotel is nothing as advertised on their website. The entire place had a old, moldy stinch about it and the only elevator in the place was painfully slow. Although the Chateau Dupre is conveniently located in the Quarter it is certainly not worth the $200/night that we paid, especially considering the MUCH nicer Royal Sonesta is only about $30 more per night. While I am glad I was able to find rooms for the weekend, I would definitely avoid this establishment in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hattiesburg, MS
Apr 5, 2011

You get what you pay for.

This is the cheapest place in the quarter. It's in a good spot. It's run down, but the staff is nice. The moral of this story is: you get what you pay for. I usually stay here because it's cheap. Don't expect any frills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks from Bourbon.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Apr 5, 2011

NOT as appears in pictures...

I just returned from New Orleans and a stay at the Chateau Dupre. I picked this hotel only b/c there was no availability anywhere else in the Quarter. Despite its convenient location, the hotel is nothing as advertised on their website. The entire place had a old, moldy stinch about it and the only elevator in the place was painfully slow. Although the Chateau Dupre is conveniently located in the Quarter it is certainly not worth the $200/night that we paid, especially considering the MUCH nicer Royal Sonesta is only about $30 more per night. While I am glad I was able to find rooms for the weekend, I would definitely avoid this establishment in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hattiesburg, MS
Apr 5, 2011

You get what you pay for.

This is the cheapest place in the quarter. It's in a good spot. It's run down, but the staff is nice. The moral of this story is: you get what you pay for. I usually stay here because it's cheap. Don't expect any frills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks from Bourbon.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
woodbridge va
Apr 1, 2011

Good and bad

had to walk up 3 levels of stairs the whole trip no working services. One day housekeeking when home with out putting in fresh towels, water was cold. not good. clean room not good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

subway

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 1, 2011

Beware!

What they failed to mention when you book this hotel is that it is four stories with no elevator. They have an elevator but it appears to have been broken for some time based on other reviews and they have made no attempt to fix it for many months. Also, thier $25 valet service is per day whether you use your car or not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay on Decatur street for dining. much quieter than bourbon street and i think the food was better. Check out Coops Place for the best Jambalaya.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 1, 2011

Beware!

What they failed to mention when you book this hotel is that it is four stories with no elevator. They have an elevator but it appears to have been broken for some time based on other reviews and they have made no attempt to fix it for many months. Also, thier $25 valet service is per day whether you use your car or not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay on Decatur street for dining. much quieter than bourbon street and i think the food was better. Check out Coops Place for the best Jambalaya.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Starkville,Ms.
Mar 16, 2011

Nice hotel to stay at for that price

We were just minutes from bourbon street, the casino many nice restaurants. I look forward to traveling to New Orleans again. Each visit is always an adventure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BuckeyeCarly424
Columbus, MS
Mar 13, 2011

Chateau Du'Not so great

The staff was friendly & helpful. The room was alright. The bathroom sink was missing a hot water handle & was a little drippy. I didn't expect the Ritz but a little disappointed but heck it was under a $100 just right down the street from House of Blues. The pillows were horrible but again can't expect too much for a cheap price. Kinda hard to see off the street. Very small plaque/ sign. There was what appeared to be a blood stain on the carpet right down the hall from our room and right next to it was a even bigger bleach spot on the carpet so maybe it was a homicide location at one time? The elevator was shabby. Had to push the door a couple times to make it go & was so slooooow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal St Deli. DELICIOUS!! small & not packed. locals. good prices.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BuckeyeCarly424
Columbus, MS
Mar 13, 2011

Chateau Du'Not so great

The staff was friendly & helpful. The room was alright. The bathroom sink was missing a hot water handle & was a little drippy. I didn't expect the Ritz but a little disappointed but heck it was under a $100 just right down the street from House of Blues. The pillows were horrible but again can't expect too much for a cheap price. Kinda hard to see off the street. Very small plaque/ sign. There was what appeared to be a blood stain on the carpet right down the hall from our room and right next to it was a even bigger bleach spot on the carpet so maybe it was a homicide location at one time? The elevator was shabby. Had to push the door a couple times to make it go & was so slooooow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal St Deli. DELICIOUS!! small & not packed. locals. good prices.

Back to menu Return to top