$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Bourbon Orleans

4 stars
717 Orleans Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
368 reviews
Fabulous!

Terrific hotel! Perfect location and the staff is very friendly yet professional! We will be back. See full review

  • BamaJuju
  • Jun 29, 2014
NOLA

We stayed at the Bourbon Orleans over New Years and had a fantastic stay. We arrived very early (10... See full review

  • VBEN
  • May 29, 2014
The Bourbon Orleans Hotel has many stories to tell, sitting on the site of both the grand old Orleans Theater and Ballroom, and a former convent. Restored in the 1960s in the Creole style of the French Quarter, the Bourbon's rooms are all unique. From the gilded hangings of the ballroom and meeting halls to the Provencal furnishings of the Governor's Suite, the grandeur of Old Louisiana is everywhere guests look. A complimentary welcome beverage at the Bourbon O is your initial dose of New Orleans hospitality, while resident Creole restaurant, Roux, serves up jumbo shrimp and fried green tomatoes. The saltwater pool forms a calm oasis in the courtyard, a quiet counterpoint to the Bourbon Street bustle outside the front door.
Key facts
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facility
  • Conference and event spaces: Up to 300 guests
  • Self-service business center
  • Lounge/bar: Bourbon 'O'
  • Restaurant: Roux on Orleans
Neighborhood
Right on Bourbon Street, the Bourbon Orleans boasts quick access to the attractions of the French Quarter, as well as some of the finest music found in the "Birthplace of Jazz". Head down Orleans Street for the pedestrian-only section of Royal Street and its lively outdoor performers, or take a detour down Pirate Alley, which runs along the west side of St. Louis Cathedral and ends at Jackson Square, a U.S. National Historic Landmark. You're also never far from the banks of the Mississippi and its vintage steamboat tours.
Hints and tips
Balcony suites overlook Bourbon Street, St. Ann or Orleans Street, and the grand St. Louis Cathedral, so book here for a unique vantage point.

Those with a taste for the supernatural should keep their eyes peeled for the Bourbon's three 'resident' ghosts, including a confederate soldier patrolling the sixth and third floors and a spectral figure waltzing beneath the ballroom chandeliers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9585 -90.0646
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
New Orleans Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, museums, galleries and nightlife in between.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bourbon Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bourbon Orleans Rooms

Non Refundable Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Non Refundable Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Deluxe 2 double beds -No Balcony
The room with 2 double beds or 1 king including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, blow dryer,some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non - smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Room type based on availability at check in and number of adults reserved in room.
French Quarter Queen-No Balcony
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke.
Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Non Refundable French Quarter Queen
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Non Refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.8 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.5 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (368)

Ratings and reviews for Bourbon Orleans

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Billy Guidry
Slaughter,La
Jan 9, 2014

Nice Hotel, Really Nice !

Can't say enough. Been before and keep returning .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining all around the hotel, but the hotel has great food also.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Resa2
Elkton, MD
Jul 13, 2012

Wonderful Hotel and Staff

We had a Great Time the location is great Hotel is clean Bed very comfortable Loved the Stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dargo's Charbroiled Oysters a Must Have!!

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SherrySR
Mansfield, Pa
Dec 28, 2013

Christmas getaway

I met a friend at the hotel to spend Christmas together in NOLA. It was perfect. Great hotel, great location, very quiet room. Excellent. Will definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal is right around the corner. Shopping doesn't get any better!

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jan 26, 2010

Great Hotel !!

Bourbon Orleans was definitely a great hotel. We didn't find anything wrong with it to tell the truth. We stayed the weekend for the Saints game, so we wanted a hotel near the Superdome and Bourbon street, and Bourbon Orleans surely took care of that. The workers in there were nice and polite. It was and overall good experience while staying in the Bourbon Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

BOURBON !

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Memphis, TN
Sep 8, 2009

bourbon orleans

We went to party, shop, and eat. It was all right there! Great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the middle of the action!

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shannon D.Ph
Baton Rouge, LA
May 25, 2009

Reservation never received...

Hotel was wonderful. However, the reservation I booked with Orbitz never got to them. The clerk held on the phone for 15 minutes trying to get the billing information but the attendent on the line was VERY slow and would not speak up when asked several times. I was put on the phone to confirm my information and could not hear a thing. At one point the hotel clerk suggested I just cancel the reservation from Orbitz because of the trouble and he'd give me a better rate, when I tried the Orbitz attendent stated I'd still owe 100% of the reservation, THE ONE THAT NEVER GOT THERE!! The Orbitz attendent kept putting us BOTH on hold for 5 minutes at a time! The hotel clerk was by himself and was trying his best to get the information to bill Orbitz, meanwhile, there are 6 people in line behind me EXTREMELY upset because MY ORBITZ RESERVATION never got to the hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is right outside the front door!!! Perfect location for a hotel!!

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NOLA Festive
NC
May 5, 2013

Definitely A Great Choice

We would definitely select to stay here on our on next visit to the Big Easy. It is right between Royal and Bourbon which is great because Royal is great to visit during the day, with Bourbon for your evening entertainment. There is a lot to do and see within the French Qtr that is within easy walking distance.' Next time we won't get a rental car since everything not in walking distance is a very short taxi ride away. With parking cost at $35 a day plus tips, it's just not worth having a rental IMO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Apr 27, 2010

Great Hotel, Valets & Location!

We were in New Orleans for the Jazz Festival. This hotel is located in the French Quarter so you could walk to everything! The valets were especially attentive and accommodating. This was a last minute booking through [...] but it was a great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, Californiz
May 12, 2012

Something special...something splendid!

We were only going to be in New Orleans for a couple days (and one night), so I had spent hours...days even!..shopping around for a great bargain on a comfortable hotel that would help make our short stay the most pleasant experience as possible, WITHOUT having to spend a ridiculous amount of money. Without question, the Bourbon-Orleans was the ticket!! From the moment we pulled up in front of the hotel, we were treated like "special guests". Every step of the way from the lobby to our room, we were treated like royalty and felt like we were dropped into the lap of luxury. Our room was even ready 2 hours early, so were able to leave our bags and go straight to sight-seeing WITHOUT having to lug our travel bags around all over the town until the standard check-in time. ALL the staff members we encountered were friendly and professional, but still with a down-to-earth local feel. The location was just perfect, our room was small but very comfortable and made to feel like it was prepped especially for us (...and the complimentary cocktails were a lovely bonus!) Just an overall SPLENDID EXPERIENCE indeed! Posh, yet affordable...elegant, yet not pretentious. There is no doubt about where we'll be staying the next time we come to New Orleans, and the fact that each room has its own unique design makes it an even more appealing and adventurous experience to look forward to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was only one thing that I wanted to shop for and bring home from New Orleans, and that was a unique new pack of Tarot cards. I was told that I should have no problem finding that in The French Quarter, however, I went into countless souvenir shops in the area and, surprisingly, I didn't find any. It wasn't until I met a couple of locals who told me where to go to find them, and that was Marie Laveau's House of Voodoo...just a stone's throw away from the Bourbon-Orleans hotel. So there are a LOT of "tourist-ee" trinket shops in The French Quarter, but if you're looking for something unique and "special" try Marie Laveau's first...and DEFINITELY don't miss an opportunity to stay at the Bourbon-Orleans!

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess10
Jackson, MS
Jul 15, 2010

GREAT location, wonderful hotel

This was our first time staying in New Orleans, and we didn't know what to really expect. This hotel looked very nice but sometimes the picture is deceiving, but this hotel was amazing, great staff, huge room, great view to the pool, and best of all it was in the middle of everything but still somehow very quite!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top