$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Bourbon Orleans

4 stars
717 Orleans Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
228 reviews
Bourbon Orleans

We had a wonderful time at this hotel! The location was perfect, the pool area was great and the... See full review

  • SooziQ
  • Aug 19, 2014
Fabulous!

Terrific hotel! Perfect location and the staff is very friendly yet professional! We will be back. See full review

  • BamaJuju
  • Jun 29, 2014
The Bourbon Orleans Hotel has many stories to tell, sitting on the site of both the grand old Orleans Theater and Ballroom, and a former convent. Restored in the 1960s in the Creole style of the French Quarter, the Bourbon's rooms are all unique. From the gilded hangings of the ballroom and meeting halls to the Provencal furnishings of the Governor's Suite, the grandeur of Old Louisiana is everywhere guests look. A complimentary welcome beverage at the Bourbon O is your initial dose of New Orleans hospitality, while resident Creole restaurant, Roux, serves up jumbo shrimp and fried green tomatoes. The saltwater pool forms a calm oasis in the courtyard, a quiet counterpoint to the Bourbon Street bustle outside the front door.
Key facts
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facility
  • Conference and event spaces: Up to 300 guests
  • Self-service business center
  • Lounge/bar: Bourbon 'O'
  • Restaurant: Roux on Orleans
Neighborhood
Right on Bourbon Street, the Bourbon Orleans boasts quick access to the attractions of the French Quarter, as well as some of the finest music found in the "Birthplace of Jazz". Head down Orleans Street for the pedestrian-only section of Royal Street and its lively outdoor performers, or take a detour down Pirate Alley, which runs along the west side of St. Louis Cathedral and ends at Jackson Square, a U.S. National Historic Landmark. You're also never far from the banks of the Mississippi and its vintage steamboat tours.
Hints and tips
Balcony suites overlook Bourbon Street, St. Ann or Orleans Street, and the grand St. Louis Cathedral, so book here for a unique vantage point.

Those with a taste for the supernatural should keep their eyes peeled for the Bourbon's three 'resident' ghosts, including a confederate soldier patrolling the sixth and third floors and a spectral figure waltzing beneath the ballroom chandeliers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9585 -90.0646
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
New Orleans Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, museums, galleries and nightlife in between.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bourbon Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bourbon Orleans Rooms

Non Refundable Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Non Refundable Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Deluxe 2 double beds -No Balcony
The room with 2 double beds or 1 king including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, blow dryer,some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non - smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Room type based on availability at check in and number of adults reserved in room.
French Quarter Queen-No Balcony
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke.
Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Non Refundable French Quarter Queen
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Non Refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for Bourbon Orleans

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAZZYSUPERNURSE
HOUSTON TEXAS
Apr 29, 2013

GREAT TIME TO BE HAD

GREAT LOCATION. EVERYTHING WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN THE FRENCH QUARTER. STAFF GREAT. ONLY DRAW BACK WAS THE PLASTIC MATRESS COVER WHICH MAKES YOU SWEAT EVEN WITH THE AIR ON HIGH..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Easywind
Montreal, Canda
May 5, 2010

1 night hotel in nola to extand jazzfest

I booked this room at the last minute to stay an extra night in New Orleans with a freind. The rate was right as was the location. Everythin worked out nice. The room over looked pool which was a nice pool. So it was a basic stay we did not use the amenities much. But thanks to [...] and the Bourbon Orleans everything worked out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dori4512
Palm Coast, FL
Jul 21, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Room beginning to show wearbut clean!Was central to the places we had to go! Parking is by valet only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chetro
Lafayette, Louisiana
Jul 16, 2010

Bourbon Orleans

The rooms are large and were clean. The location is perfect. The only Negative that I experienced was the expensive Valet Parking at $28/night. Also overheard Two parties staying at hotel complaining to staff about Damage to veh and missing Items from vehicles that were valet parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ralph and Kacoos Seafood Resteraunt. 40 yrs in operation and consistant Quality.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy in NOLA
Buffalo, NY, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Living New Orleans Style!

Stayed 5 nights. Great 2 story townhouse within the hotel. First floor huge upper balcony which was more like a huge porch facing St. Ann's Street. Great sitting out at all times. Balcony was somewhat shaded by balconey above. Grocery store in the quarter made it feel like I lived there. I was eating my way... Loved my trip. The best yet and I've been traveling to NOLA for about 10 years annually at a minimum!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the grocer a tiny block away. Great fresh produce! Walgreens is also a few blocks away.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goosed in NOLA
Chicago, IL
Jun 20, 2011

In the heart of the Quarter, and you kno

This hotel is centrally located right near Bourbon St and Jackson Square. There is often a party atmosphere by the "pool", which is much smaller than the pictures imply. Our room was on the main level, opening out to St. Anne street, and was therefore really noisy with the traffic and service entrance loading. Overall, nice place to stay, but next time we'll find something a little more off the beaten path.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a bicycle and check out the parks and the garden district, but beware the 7th ward.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHUCHO
TAMPICO, MEXICO
Jan 5, 2010

very good location

I will stay again on my next trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zrtread
Seattle, WA
May 27, 2009

Orbitz misrepresentation and no satisfac

My Orbitz confirmation was for a junior suite. We were provided a tiny room on the top floor with a tiny window. Front desk clerk that day said Orbitz erred and did not have the ability to give us a junior suite. He would NOT fulfill the written confirmation I had from Orbitz. He was not good to deal with. I even indicated we would pay some additional money for a better room but received a snippy answer. We were given the same room (tiny) but at a lower floor so the windows were full size. For instance only chairs in the room were the desk chair and another straight back chair. Paula Crane

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just get a taste of Bourbon street. It is too wild for enjoyment for even an hour. But just within a block either way, the French Quarter was great and the hotel was in a good location for that.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian Kid 31
Windsor, ON
Mar 10, 2014

Great for our needs

This was an excellent hotel right in the heart of the French Quarter. Great location, great staff. The rooms were fine. Perfect for what you'd expect in an old French Quarter hotel. Wasn't too noisy at all even given we were there during the peak of Carnival. Only complaint is that I was hoping to see a ghost!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SKR JRR
Monroe, Iowa
Jun 3, 2013

How can you not go to the Big Easy?

This was a fantastic trip. My 1st time to New Orleans and my wife's 2nd. We stayed mainly in the French Quarter and this Hotel was a perfect location. Great Service and nice amenities. Some of the best music I have ever heard. We went to the 4th Annual Oyster Festival and had the best food the City had to offer. Can't wait to come back! Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Flanagan's Pub. Great little pub!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search