$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Bourbon Orleans

4 stars
717 Orleans Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
368 reviews
Fabulous!

Terrific hotel! Perfect location and the staff is very friendly yet professional! We will be back. See full review

  • BamaJuju
  • Jun 29, 2014
NOLA

We stayed at the Bourbon Orleans over New Years and had a fantastic stay. We arrived very early (10... See full review

  • VBEN
  • May 29, 2014
The Bourbon Orleans Hotel has many stories to tell, sitting on the site of both the grand old Orleans Theater and Ballroom, and a former convent. Restored in the 1960s in the Creole style of the French Quarter, the Bourbon's rooms are all unique. From the gilded hangings of the ballroom and meeting halls to the Provencal furnishings of the Governor's Suite, the grandeur of Old Louisiana is everywhere guests look. A complimentary welcome beverage at the Bourbon O is your initial dose of New Orleans hospitality, while resident Creole restaurant, Roux, serves up jumbo shrimp and fried green tomatoes. The saltwater pool forms a calm oasis in the courtyard, a quiet counterpoint to the Bourbon Street bustle outside the front door.
Key facts
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facility
  • Conference and event spaces: Up to 300 guests
  • Self-service business center
  • Lounge/bar: Bourbon 'O'
  • Restaurant: Roux on Orleans
Neighborhood
Right on Bourbon Street, the Bourbon Orleans boasts quick access to the attractions of the French Quarter, as well as some of the finest music found in the "Birthplace of Jazz". Head down Orleans Street for the pedestrian-only section of Royal Street and its lively outdoor performers, or take a detour down Pirate Alley, which runs along the west side of St. Louis Cathedral and ends at Jackson Square, a U.S. National Historic Landmark. You're also never far from the banks of the Mississippi and its vintage steamboat tours.
Hints and tips
Balcony suites overlook Bourbon Street, St. Ann or Orleans Street, and the grand St. Louis Cathedral, so book here for a unique vantage point.

Those with a taste for the supernatural should keep their eyes peeled for the Bourbon's three 'resident' ghosts, including a confederate soldier patrolling the sixth and third floors and a spectral figure waltzing beneath the ballroom chandeliers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9585 -90.0646
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
New Orleans Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, museums, galleries and nightlife in between.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bourbon Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bourbon Orleans Rooms

Non Refundable Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Non Refundable Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Deluxe 2 double beds -No Balcony
The room with 2 double beds or 1 king including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, blow dryer,some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non - smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Room type based on availability at check in and number of adults reserved in room.
French Quarter Queen-No Balcony
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke.
Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Non Refundable French Quarter Queen
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Non Refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.8 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.5 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (368)

Ratings and reviews for Bourbon Orleans

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mackenzie1186
St. Louis, MO
Jul 13, 2012

Don't stay anywhere else in Nola

We loved this hotel. The location was perfect for seeing the French quarter and doing bourbon street right. The room was beautiful and clean and quiet we were never disrupted by the party outside. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will always stay at this hotel when in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We had a great meal everywhere we ate in the French Quarter. We would just stop and eat when we were hungry. Don't worry about reviews online just go into what's close and enjoy!

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doo Pie
Cockeysville, MD, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Fantastic Hotel

This was the Second time we have stayed at this fabulous hotel. From the minute we were greeted at the front door to the minute we checked out the service was superb. You can't beat its location in the French Quarter. My husband travels for business in excess of one million air miles per year and has done so for 25 years. Needless to say he has stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and he says that Bourbon Orleans is always one of his favorites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WLLRCKS
Houston, TX
Mar 22, 2010

New Orleans ROCKS!!

The Bourbon Orleans is the best place I have ever stayed while in New Orleans. The staff was so nice and accommodating. They even let us check in a little early, because we had no where else to go. Great location, especally when you have too many. Next time I return to NOLA I will definately be staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Bourbon St.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bourbon Street Girl
Lawton, Michigan
Jul 26, 2010

BEAUTIFUL ROOM & ACCOMMODATING LOCATION!

Upon arrival, the hotel staff greeted us w/great hospitality. The hotel was absolutely beautiful with marble floors and lovely decorations. Our room exceeded our expectations as it was very large w/a spectacular view of the pool yard. All of the hotel employees were so very helpful on advice, directions, time, etc.......we will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family and we will definitely book @ this hotel again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The nightlife is awesome and within walking distance from the hotel. If you know where Bourbon Street is, you can pretty much find any other street you are looking for. Our hotel was centrally located and close to the nightlife, shopping, and restaurants!!!!!

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 2, 2008

Big Bang For The Buck

My wife and I have stayed at a number of hotels in and around New Orleans and I can honestly say that the Bourbon Orleans is one of the very best. The location is fantastic...on Bourbon but away from the noise. The staff is polite, professional and quick to meet whatever needs you might have. The restaurant more than adequately meets our needs in terms of staff, food & ambience. My only concern is navigating to some of the rooms. If you've stayed there, you know that it's quite a trek to reach some of the rooms. That aside, I highly recommend the Bourbon Orleans to anyone who visits New Orleans. I know it's the first hotel I look at when making plans to visit. Keep up the good work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Aug 24, 2009

Excellent Stay

Spectacular location directly behind St Louis Cathedral. Hotel also has a corner on Boubon St. Lovely wind bar with outdoor seating directly across the street. Huge rooms, good beds, marble bath and very kind and helpful staff. Valet parking is great. I've stayed at many hotels in the quarter. Best location and amenities yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Decatur
Sep 1, 2008

Warm and inviting

The staff was very nice and always available to answer our questions and concerns regarding the hurricaine that was approaching New Orleans. the Hotel was very well located and perfect for us. The room was warm and inviting. The beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JLLO
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Perfect trip for two!

This hotel is fabulous! It has all the charm that is New Orleans. The rooms are adorable, the beds are extremely comfortable, the tv is huge and the bathroom is superb. The rooms are pretty small, basically just a bed and a little walking space, but perfect for those not looking to spend their entire vacation in a hotel room. The location could not get better. You are right where all the action is withouth the noise. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast is great, I highly recommend it. I will recommend this hotel to friends and will for sure stay again if I'm ever back in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elmwood Park, *
Jul 11, 2008

beautiful hotel...great location

The hotel was just beatiful and the location was fantastic. I can' wait to go again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

New Orleans has it all within a short walk from the Bourbon Orleans

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shannon D.Ph
Baton Rouge, LA
May 25, 2009

Reservation never received...

Hotel was wonderful. However, the reservation I booked with Orbitz never got to them. The clerk held on the phone for 15 minutes trying to get the billing information but the attendent on the line was VERY slow and would not speak up when asked several times. I was put on the phone to confirm my information and could not hear a thing. At one point the hotel clerk suggested I just cancel the reservation from Orbitz because of the trouble and he'd give me a better rate, when I tried the Orbitz attendent stated I'd still owe 100% of the reservation, THE ONE THAT NEVER GOT THERE!! The Orbitz attendent kept putting us BOTH on hold for 5 minutes at a time! The hotel clerk was by himself and was trying his best to get the information to bill Orbitz, meanwhile, there are 6 people in line behind me EXTREMELY upset because MY ORBITZ RESERVATION never got to the hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is right outside the front door!!! Perfect location for a hotel!!

Back to menu Return to top