$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Bourbon Orleans

4 stars
717 Orleans Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
231 reviews
Wonderful hotel in a wonderful city!

The hotel was excellent! It is in the perfect location, our room overlooked Bourbon Street, but it... See full review

  • TLMO
  • Sep 15, 2014
Bourbon Orleans

We had a wonderful time at this hotel! The location was perfect, the pool area was great and the... See full review

  • SooziQ
  • Aug 19, 2014
The Bourbon Orleans Hotel has many stories to tell, sitting on the site of both the grand old Orleans Theater and Ballroom, and a former convent. Restored in the 1960s in the Creole style of the French Quarter, the Bourbon's rooms are all unique. From the gilded hangings of the ballroom and meeting halls to the Provencal furnishings of the Governor's Suite, the grandeur of Old Louisiana is everywhere guests look. A complimentary welcome beverage at the Bourbon O is your initial dose of New Orleans hospitality, while resident Creole restaurant, Roux, serves up jumbo shrimp and fried green tomatoes. The saltwater pool forms a calm oasis in the courtyard, a quiet counterpoint to the Bourbon Street bustle outside the front door.
Key facts
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facility
  • Conference and event spaces: Up to 300 guests
  • Self-service business center
  • Lounge/bar: Bourbon 'O'
  • Restaurant: Roux on Orleans
Neighborhood
Right on Bourbon Street, the Bourbon Orleans boasts quick access to the attractions of the French Quarter, as well as some of the finest music found in the "Birthplace of Jazz". Head down Orleans Street for the pedestrian-only section of Royal Street and its lively outdoor performers, or take a detour down Pirate Alley, which runs along the west side of St. Louis Cathedral and ends at Jackson Square, a U.S. National Historic Landmark. You're also never far from the banks of the Mississippi and its vintage steamboat tours.
Hints and tips
Balcony suites overlook Bourbon Street, St. Ann or Orleans Street, and the grand St. Louis Cathedral, so book here for a unique vantage point.

Those with a taste for the supernatural should keep their eyes peeled for the Bourbon's three 'resident' ghosts, including a confederate soldier patrolling the sixth and third floors and a spectral figure waltzing beneath the ballroom chandeliers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9585 -90.0646
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
New Orleans Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, museums, galleries and nightlife in between.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bourbon Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bourbon Orleans Rooms

Non Refundable Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Non Refundable Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Deluxe 2 double beds -No Balcony
The room with 2 double beds or 1 king including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, blow dryer,some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non - smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Room type based on availability at check in and number of adults reserved in room.
French Quarter Queen-No Balcony
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke.
Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Non Refundable French Quarter Queen
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Non Refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Bourbon Orleans

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Funky Pirate
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 15, 2013

Bourbon Orleans: Right in the Heart of the French Quarter

Could not have been more pleased. This historic hotel (a former convent, amont other things) is located in the heart of the French Quarter. The room was very cool, funky, and cleana; a swimming pool is located in the secluded courtyard; the staff are friendly and helpful; and everything in the Quarter is just a step away from the hotel's own bar. Can't imagine staying anywhere else in New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NOLA Partimer
Nashville, TN
Jan 2, 2014

Great place

Not only is the Bourbon Orleans in the perfect location, but it is a great hotel. Beautiful lobby with either warm (hot cocoa or spiced cider) or cool (fruit infused water) on the entry table when you come back from walking around the Quarter. The rooms are all very comfortable and have free bottles of water for you, plus coffee/tea maker AND when you check in they give you a coupons for free beer/wine or drink of the day in their bar! You just can't beat it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sisterc55
Washington, D.C.
May 6, 2014

Perfect location!

This hotel was in the BEST location. A block from Jackson Square and a block from Bourbon Street. The staff was very nice and gave great restaurant recommendations (try the Wine bar across the street). The only time we could hear any noise from Bourbon Street was Saturday night but other than that it was perfect. I will stay here every time I return to New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate and Leo
Wisconsin
Mar 3, 2014

Right in the Heart of New Orleans

Great hotel right in the heart of the French quarter-one block from Bourbon Street and about 1 1/2 blocks from Jackson square. Close to great restaurants and a short walk to Frenchmen's street and the French market. Beds were comfy. We had a beautiful view of the pool from our room. When we didn't want to wait for a table at Cafe DuMonde we took back our bienets and ate them on the patio next to the pool. Very quiet even at night. Newly remodeled. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stamford, CT
Jul 28, 2009

Bourbon Orleans

It was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Cafe Du Monde for the Beighnets and Caffe aux leit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 19, 2008

Friendly staff

This hotel was an awesome choice for a weekend stay in the French Quarter. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This location was the best that I had ever stayed in out of the many visits that I have made to New Orleans in the past. Both issues were associated with valet and hotel parking. After paying an unexpected $30 a night for hotel parking, I was not so excited. Add insult to injury, Sunday morning retrieval of the cars event was less then unpleasant. It seemed to be an unwishful event for everyone. Obviously everyone was planning to checkout Sunday morning as tho should have been expected by the Valet guys. They first told me that my car would arrive in ten minutes. After 45 minutes or so of several groups waiting, I go to the main valet guy and asked what was taking so much time. He then stated that he could not find my keys and no records of my car. Finally, about an hour and 15 minutes they pulled my car around. Overall, the stay at the hotel was awesome. But expect an un organized group of valet guys which will lead to long wait times for you to get your vehicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It's on Bourbon Street. Not much more to say to that. Awesome location. Has a great party bar at the front of the hotel in itself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TLMO
Hannibal, Mo
Sep 15, 2014

Wonderful hotel in a wonderful city!

The hotel was excellent! It is in the perfect location, our room overlooked Bourbon Street, but it was surprisingly quiet, even with all of the activity at night. The pool was great, the bar was reasonable, and I loved the coffee in the lobby in the morning, and the infused water and iced tea in the afternoon. Plus, the inexpensive Bloody Mary in the morning was delicious! We had a great experience and will be staying here, again, when we go back to the French Quarter. (And spend the money on the valet parking. It was well worth it.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Muriel's and the Acme Oyster House. Both were excellent and reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 11, 2008

Extremely nice hotel

The Bourbon Orleans was a very nice hotel, which had a desk area. Their was coffee and tea available in the room. They had an adequate closet and 2 small dressers for your clothes. The location was just a block from Bourbon Street, anothe block from Jackson Square. It was in the middle of everything on Bourbon Street so you can go in either directions to get to a nice restaurant. I would stay there again on my next visit. I've been to New Orleans four times and I would stay at this hotel the next time I come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great cafe a few blocks away that have their famous beignets. There is access to carriage rides within a 2 block distance. All restaurants are nearby with in a few blocks. The shopping mall is about 3 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Apr 19, 2010

excellent hotel, location terrific

very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blanc
Lafayette, la.
Dec 25, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price.

My husband and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. Location very close to nightlife. Room was very small but clean. The staff was very friendly. We will be booking again at the bourbon Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very very close to nitelife!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top