$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Bourbon Orleans

4 stars
717 Orleans Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
236 reviews
Bourbon Orleans

We had a wonderful time at this hotel! The location was perfect, the pool area was great and the... See full review

  • SooziQ
  • Aug 19, 2014
Fabulous!

Terrific hotel! Perfect location and the staff is very friendly yet professional! We will be back. See full review

  • BamaJuju
  • Jun 29, 2014
The Bourbon Orleans Hotel has many stories to tell, sitting on the site of both the grand old Orleans Theater and Ballroom, and a former convent. Restored in the 1960s in the Creole style of the French Quarter, the Bourbon's rooms are all unique. From the gilded hangings of the ballroom and meeting halls to the Provencal furnishings of the Governor's Suite, the grandeur of Old Louisiana is everywhere guests look. A complimentary welcome beverage at the Bourbon O is your initial dose of New Orleans hospitality, while resident Creole restaurant, Roux, serves up jumbo shrimp and fried green tomatoes. The saltwater pool forms a calm oasis in the courtyard, a quiet counterpoint to the Bourbon Street bustle outside the front door.
Key facts
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facility
  • Conference and event spaces: Up to 300 guests
  • Self-service business center
  • Lounge/bar: Bourbon 'O'
  • Restaurant: Roux on Orleans
Neighborhood
Right on Bourbon Street, the Bourbon Orleans boasts quick access to the attractions of the French Quarter, as well as some of the finest music found in the "Birthplace of Jazz". Head down Orleans Street for the pedestrian-only section of Royal Street and its lively outdoor performers, or take a detour down Pirate Alley, which runs along the west side of St. Louis Cathedral and ends at Jackson Square, a U.S. National Historic Landmark. You're also never far from the banks of the Mississippi and its vintage steamboat tours.
Hints and tips
Balcony suites overlook Bourbon Street, St. Ann or Orleans Street, and the grand St. Louis Cathedral, so book here for a unique vantage point.

Those with a taste for the supernatural should keep their eyes peeled for the Bourbon's three 'resident' ghosts, including a confederate soldier patrolling the sixth and third floors and a spectral figure waltzing beneath the ballroom chandeliers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9585 -90.0646
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
New Orleans Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, museums, galleries and nightlife in between.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bourbon Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bourbon Orleans Rooms

Non Refundable Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Non Refundable Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Deluxe 2 double beds -No Balcony
The room with 2 double beds or 1 king including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, blow dryer,some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non - smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Room type based on availability at check in and number of adults reserved in room.
French Quarter Queen-No Balcony
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke.
Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Non Refundable French Quarter Queen
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Non Refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for Bourbon Orleans

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 17, 2009

Good place to sleep.

It was a comfortable place to sleep. The room was reasonably clean & modern, though there were stains on the carpet and a broken chest of drawers. The pool area was a nice place to relax. Despite being half a block from Bourbon Street, the room was surprisingly quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emeril Lagasse's NOLA restaurant is a short walk from the hotel and is a great casual gourmet creole spot with a reasonable price point. Emeril's Delmonico is a short cab ride or a long walk, and is a formal dining experience, but still reasonably priced.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anna21
Madison, AL
Feb 20, 2012

Decent hotel in the French Quarter

The hotel was nice but chaotic. It was a little frustrating. However, the breakfast was amazing!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

K-Paul's is amazing!

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zumbagirl
iowa
Mar 8, 2012

vacation

small, but okay. location great. fun time, would recommend stay to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ejerome
nyc
Feb 22, 2013

good

We were given, without asking a duplex. The bedroom and bathroom were on the 2nd floor but no half bath on the first floor where the living room was. There was also no chair in the bedroom. Otherwise, the stay was enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melasan
New Orleans
May 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel ..good location...some disorganization

This hotel is beautiful. The location is perfect. The only issues I had were with the morning staff. We stayed in a beautiful 2 story suite with the bed located upstairs. Very early in the morning, housekeeping staff was congregating outside our upstairs door, talking loudly and complaining about everything. I don't know if the housekeeping station was located outside in the hallway or not. But listening to her complain about her personal life LOUDLY to all the other girls, was extremely annoying. My boyfriend and I didn't want to cause a problem but we could not fall back asleep. It was very tiresome. Now that we had little sleep we decided to order room service for breakfast. That was a nightmare. They didn't answer the phone..early morning front desk girl was quite rude about it saying "there's no point to leave a message for them, they won't check it". Again, my boyfriend and i are in the service Industry and were being very kind regardless.. Finally 45min later, they answer and take the order, then call back in 20 min because "someone threw away the order"... Ohkay.... Then when it finally did arrive, it was wrong and cold. (This was on a weds morning..not a busy time) We ate it anyway. Other than that, it was a beautiful room and the daytime front desk girl was awesome..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
itsmedivz
New Jersey
Jun 8, 2014

my stay at bourbon Orleans

The stay was very comfortable and the strategic location of this hotel is such a plus .. Bourbon street is a 30second walk .. Now coming to the things I didn't like .. We had a standard room and the hotel staff encouraged that we upgrade to a better room with a king size bed as the standard room would have a queen size bed and no view ... We did that at an additional cost of 15 USD per night .. The room was perfect but when we decided to go for a swim we got to know that that the pool was shut due to maintainance .. Now when we spoke to the manager about it he wasn't ready to accomadate the loss of a pool with making the upgrade free and offering complimentary breakfast ... Nothing .. When we pay for the hotel we pay for all the amentities if one of them is missing the hotel should compensate by offering something so that the consumers don't feel cheated .. We stayed at the hotel for three nights and since it was so hot in Nola we always wanted to end our day with a swim but unfortunately we were unable to. Small things leave a lasting impression ... Just saying ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Captain R
Business
Maine
Jan 30, 2011

Good hotel in the Quarter

Great location, small room with queen bed but comfortable. No room to work at the desk and wireless did not reach this 6th floor corner room. Tub backed up when showering, asked to get it fixed and they never did. Staff was friendly with good suggestions on food and things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NOLA!

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kentucky
May 26, 2009

Excellent location

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. It is a good hotel with an excellent location. You cannot beat the location on Bourbon street. The staff are pretty friendly and helpful. It needs a little work now. I'm sure that it was at once a 4 or 5 star hotel but these days it is just average at a 3. In the past year I've stayed in 2 different rooms where the white paint or coating on the bath tub is comming off in big areas. I take a shower so its not bad but for people who want a bath I feel that would be not be acceptable. The pool is excellent and it has a nice fitness room. It is a bit noisy at night but then that is what most of us go to Bourbon street for. It doesn't bother me but might bother some older folks or folks with small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are on Bourbon street and the back view of St. Louis Cathederal is amazing at night with the statue of Jesus' refection on the wall.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Olathe
Jul 2, 2008

Business

There was only one elevator and I had a room that I had to down 4 long hallways to get to, but I understand that there is another elevator that was out of service during my stay. The room was comfortable, but a bit small. Cleanliness was about average, not outstanding. If I stayed again, I would request a larger room with a balcony closer to an elevator. I didn't have time to enjoy any of the amenities due to a full schedule and I wasn't at the hotel much except to shower and sleep. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is lots of great dining and shopping within walking distance.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
notljohn
va.
Aug 31, 2010

bourbon orleans

family visit, b'day. no ok, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search