$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Bourbon Orleans

4 stars
717 Orleans Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
236 reviews
new orleans

All around great hotel and staff. At the beginning of the party on Bourbon Street See full review

  • popeyezangel
  • Dec 1, 2014
Had a wonderful visit

Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking St. Ann Street. We loved the room and the view. Every... See full review

  • Lecach
  • Oct 20, 2014
The Bourbon Orleans Hotel has many stories to tell, sitting on the site of both the grand old Orleans Theater and Ballroom, and a former convent. Restored in the 1960s in the Creole style of the French Quarter, the Bourbon's rooms are all unique. From the gilded hangings of the ballroom and meeting halls to the Provencal furnishings of the Governor's Suite, the grandeur of Old Louisiana is everywhere guests look. A complimentary welcome beverage at the Bourbon O is your initial dose of New Orleans hospitality, while resident Creole restaurant, Roux, serves up jumbo shrimp and fried green tomatoes. The saltwater pool forms a calm oasis in the courtyard, a quiet counterpoint to the Bourbon Street bustle outside the front door.
Key facts
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facility
  • Conference and event spaces: Up to 300 guests
  • Self-service business center
  • Lounge/bar: Bourbon 'O'
  • Restaurant: Roux on Orleans
Neighborhood
Right on Bourbon Street, the Bourbon Orleans boasts quick access to the attractions of the French Quarter, as well as some of the finest music found in the "Birthplace of Jazz". Head down Orleans Street for the pedestrian-only section of Royal Street and its lively outdoor performers, or take a detour down Pirate Alley, which runs along the west side of St. Louis Cathedral and ends at Jackson Square, a U.S. National Historic Landmark. You're also never far from the banks of the Mississippi and its vintage steamboat tours.
Hints and tips
Balcony suites overlook Bourbon Street, St. Ann or Orleans Street, and the grand St. Louis Cathedral, so book here for a unique vantage point.

Those with a taste for the supernatural should keep their eyes peeled for the Bourbon's three 'resident' ghosts, including a confederate soldier patrolling the sixth and third floors and a spectral figure waltzing beneath the ballroom chandeliers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bourbon Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bourbon Orleans Rooms

Non Refundable Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Non Refundable Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Deluxe 2 double beds -No Balcony
The room with 2 double beds or 1 king including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, blow dryer,some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non - smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Room type based on availability at check in and number of adults reserved in room.
French Quarter Queen-No Balcony
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke.
Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Non Refundable French Quarter Queen
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Non Refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for Bourbon Orleans

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 236
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jmbeitia
Business
Dallas
Aug 11, 2014

Nice hotel

Great location, nice clean rooms and friendly staff. Also nice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melasan
Business
New Orleans
May 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel ..good location...some disorganization

This hotel is beautiful. The location is perfect. The only issues I had were with the morning staff. We stayed in a beautiful 2 story suite with the bed located upstairs. Very early in the morning, housekeeping staff was congregating outside our upstairs door, talking loudly and complaining about everything. I don't know if the housekeeping station was located outside in the hallway or not. But listening to her complain about her personal life LOUDLY to all the other girls, was extremely annoying. My boyfriend and I didn't want to cause a problem but we could not fall back asleep. It was very tiresome. Now that we had little sleep we decided to order room service for breakfast. That was a nightmare. They didn't answer the phone..early morning front desk girl was quite rude about it saying "there's no point to leave a message for them, they won't check it". Again, my boyfriend and i are in the service Industry and were being very kind regardless.. Finally 45min later, they answer and take the order, then call back in 20 min because "someone threw away the order"... Ohkay.... Then when it finally did arrive, it was wrong and cold. (This was on a weds morning..not a busy time) We ate it anyway. Other than that, it was a beautiful room and the daytime front desk girl was awesome..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Californiz
May 12, 2012

Something special...something splendid!

We were only going to be in New Orleans for a couple days (and one night), so I had spent hours...days even!..shopping around for a great bargain on a comfortable hotel that would help make our short stay the most pleasant experience as possible, WITHOUT having to spend a ridiculous amount of money. Without question, the Bourbon-Orleans was the ticket!! From the moment we pulled up in front of the hotel, we were treated like "special guests". Every step of the way from the lobby to our room, we were treated like royalty and felt like we were dropped into the lap of luxury. Our room was even ready 2 hours early, so were able to leave our bags and go straight to sight-seeing WITHOUT having to lug our travel bags around all over the town until the standard check-in time. ALL the staff members we encountered were friendly and professional, but still with a down-to-earth local feel. The location was just perfect, our room was small but very comfortable and made to feel like it was prepped especially for us (...and the complimentary cocktails were a lovely bonus!) Just an overall SPLENDID EXPERIENCE indeed! Posh, yet affordable...elegant, yet not pretentious. There is no doubt about where we'll be staying the next time we come to New Orleans, and the fact that each room has its own unique design makes it an even more appealing and adventurous experience to look forward to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was only one thing that I wanted to shop for and bring home from New Orleans, and that was a unique new pack of Tarot cards. I was told that I should have no problem finding that in The French Quarter, however, I went into countless souvenir shops in the area and, surprisingly, I didn't find any. It wasn't until I met a couple of locals who told me where to go to find them, and that was Marie Laveau's House of Voodoo...just a stone's throw away from the Bourbon-Orleans hotel. So there are a LOT of "tourist-ee" trinket shops in The French Quarter, but if you're looking for something unique and "special" try Marie Laveau's first...and DEFINITELY don't miss an opportunity to stay at the Bourbon-Orleans!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimbo 12345678
Business
SF
Feb 25, 2012

Great location and staff ...very small room

Great location right on the corner of bourbon and orleans street but still quiet enough to get some sleep Room next to service elevator was too small bed was a full not a queen as described by O. Great staff would return but would go with a bigger room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check room size and location to elevators

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Orleans Visitor
Business
New York, NY
Feb 23, 2012

Completely Satisfactory

It was Mardis Gras, so one can expect a little chaos, but the hotel provided everything they promised at a reasonable price for a last minute reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lafite's Blacksmith Shop, the oldest bar in the U.S., is not far.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RustyB
Business
Virginia
Sep 29, 2011

A gem in the rough

The Bourbon Orleans is a fantastic value right in the heart of the French Quarter. Usually when someone says "value" many people think "cheap, low-quality" but in this case you get a lot of hotel for your money. The rooms are spacious, modern, and clean. The staff are friendly and very helpful, and the price is very reasonable. I arrived late-morning hoping to check in but there were no rooms ready. The desk agent, seeing that I was about to fall asleep on their lobby couch, had housekeeping quickly prepare a room. I was in by noon. Plus the hotel is located in the heart of the French Quarter so any time of day the center of activity is a few blocks from your room. Highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sloneycho
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Weekday getaway

I stayed Tuesday-Friday, and felt like I had this hotel to myself... and the construction workers. I'm not sure how long the work on the second floor will last, but it made for a noisy room on the first floor. Also, room 104 was quite large, but it also was next to the elevators, so there was quite a bit of mechanical noise. It was probably a handicapped accessible room at one point, with lowered counter and sink, and holes in the bath tile where grab bars once were installed. Not very accommodating when you're 6'5". Finally, the flat bottom sheet on the extra deep mattress became untucked the moment I sat on the bed, and wadded up overnight. The pool and surrounding chairs and tables were clean and well maintained, but the ambient A/C noise made it difficult to hold a conversation in the area. The fitness center was clean and well equipped with a bench, free weights, treadmills, cycle, water, and towels. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant (eggs, bacon, pancakes) was average and pricey. That leaves the location, which can't be beat. So if you don't plan on spending much time at the hotel, it will be perfect. Otherwise, if you are willing to walk a bit, the four star Canal Street and CBD hotels are better quality for the same money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the hotel breakfast, and walk one block down Bourbon to the Clover Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy in NOLA
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Living New Orleans Style!

Stayed 5 nights. Great 2 story townhouse within the hotel. First floor huge upper balcony which was more like a huge porch facing St. Ann's Street. Great sitting out at all times. Balcony was somewhat shaded by balconey above. Grocery store in the quarter made it feel like I lived there. I was eating my way... Loved my trip. The best yet and I've been traveling to NOLA for about 10 years annually at a minimum!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the grocer a tiny block away. Great fresh produce! Walgreens is also a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mesquite, TX
Apr 12, 2011

On my own trip

It was a beautiful hotel. Great customer service. Wonderfully large rooms. The only problem was that I shared an adjoining room door, and the couple next to me woke up extremely early and I could hear every word they were saying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't have to travel far for amazing food. The hotel is at the corner of Bourban and Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 6, 2010

French Quarter Getaway

The hotel was very nice, although my room was small and very far away from the elevators. Service was excellent, and I did not run into any ghosts (which are reputed to haunt this particular hotel.) I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is about a half block from Jackson Square, with restaurants and shopping areas, and just a short walk from the Mississippi, the Grey Line tours and the streetcar line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top