$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Bourbon Orleans

4 stars
717 Orleans Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
237 reviews
new orleans

All around great hotel and staff. At the beginning of the party on Bourbon Street See full review

  • popeyezangel
  • Dec 1, 2014
Had a wonderful visit

Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking St. Ann Street. We loved the room and the view. Every... See full review

  • Lecach
  • Oct 20, 2014
The Bourbon Orleans Hotel has many stories to tell, sitting on the site of both the grand old Orleans Theater and Ballroom, and a former convent. Restored in the 1960s in the Creole style of the French Quarter, the Bourbon's rooms are all unique. From the gilded hangings of the ballroom and meeting halls to the Provencal furnishings of the Governor's Suite, the grandeur of Old Louisiana is everywhere guests look. A complimentary welcome beverage at the Bourbon O is your initial dose of New Orleans hospitality, while resident Creole restaurant, Roux, serves up jumbo shrimp and fried green tomatoes. The saltwater pool forms a calm oasis in the courtyard, a quiet counterpoint to the Bourbon Street bustle outside the front door.
Key facts
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facility
  • Conference and event spaces: Up to 300 guests
  • Self-service business center
  • Lounge/bar: Bourbon 'O'
  • Restaurant: Roux on Orleans
Neighborhood
Right on Bourbon Street, the Bourbon Orleans boasts quick access to the attractions of the French Quarter, as well as some of the finest music found in the "Birthplace of Jazz". Head down Orleans Street for the pedestrian-only section of Royal Street and its lively outdoor performers, or take a detour down Pirate Alley, which runs along the west side of St. Louis Cathedral and ends at Jackson Square, a U.S. National Historic Landmark. You're also never far from the banks of the Mississippi and its vintage steamboat tours.
Hints and tips
Balcony suites overlook Bourbon Street, St. Ann or Orleans Street, and the grand St. Louis Cathedral, so book here for a unique vantage point.

Those with a taste for the supernatural should keep their eyes peeled for the Bourbon's three 'resident' ghosts, including a confederate soldier patrolling the sixth and third floors and a spectral figure waltzing beneath the ballroom chandeliers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bourbon Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bourbon Orleans Rooms

Non Refundable Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Non Refundable Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Deluxe 2 double beds -No Balcony
The room with 2 double beds or 1 king including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, blow dryer,some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non - smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Room type based on availability at check in and number of adults reserved in room.
French Quarter Queen-No Balcony
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke.
Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Non Refundable French Quarter Queen
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Non Refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Bourbon Orleans

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unpleasant Stay
Business
Shreveport, LA
Jul 12, 2010

Rat Room

Rat in Room. and many other issues

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 17, 2008

Poor staff

The staff at the bourbon orleans was not very helpful upon check in and did not provide wake up call services after setting it up and then later confirming the wakeup. Also they didn't provide check out like they had said upon check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

bourbon street is very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 23, 2011

Poor service and dirty rooms

Stayed at this hotel during JazzFest. Was relatively happy with my stay. As my boyfriend and I left the hotel he had realized that he left a poster that he had bought in his room. We called the hotel and asked that it be shipped to our home if it wasn't too much trouble. Needless to say, the hotel had charged my credit card $46.26!!! If they would have told me it would have cost 4x the cost of the actual poster I would have said keep it. I considered looking past the uncleanliness of this hotel because of its location, but now I know that these people are scammers. I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN. Go to a better hotel in New Orleans, you may pay a little bit more, but at least you know that you won't get scammed. Ridiculous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, Mo
Jun 11, 2010

Broken down - disappointment

At first appearance the hotel and room was beautiful. However, the toilet did not flush! And after several failed attempts to have someone come look at it. We had to resort to using the public bathroom down the hall. The "fold out" sofa sleeper was broken, when we pulled it out, the springs broke. Therefore we had no couch or bed. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plano, TX
Nov 27, 2010

Great valet and bellman staff.

The valet and bellman staff was great, very polite and attentive and eager to assist. The room, although old, was clean and spacious. The housekeeping left a lot to be desired, sheets were not changed, no additional coffee was left, nor were paper cups replaced, trash was not collected. The hair dryer workded in spurts. The hotel has a great location in the French Quarter, had a great lobby and a nice dinning area that served good and reasonably priced food. Would not recommend the hotel to anyone. Dinning and entertainments are great in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

New Orleans is like a great party, staying in the French Quarter is great as you can walk to great restaurants and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jeremiah jones traveller
Business
austin, tx
Jul 27, 2010

bourbon orleans

It was a very stuffy hotel with drab decor and right outside is bourbon st. Which is ok but not in the summer. Tourists everywhere. Only breakfast items on the room service menu. Very expensive valet parking. Basically if you are going for mardi gras or just to get wasted and not spend much time in your room, this IS a great location. If you want to relax or anything else, though, try Prytania Oaks. Nice hotel. Nice staff. Nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
optotraveler
Business
fort lauderdale, florida
Oct 18, 2010

poor service, great location

location was perfect, however hotel staff were not helpful. ac worked improperly so room was extremely cold..reported the issue but staff did nothing!! very uncomfortable stay!! other issues arose and again, staff did nothing!! will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Virginia0TX
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 24, 2014

Not Customer Service Oriented

The hotel itself is in a perfect location and absolutely beautiful. Unfortunately, the staff isn't very guest friendly. My evening was ruined by a security card calling my child a "liar" and raising his voice to me when I asked to speak with the manager. No efforts were made to make up for the staff's rude and inexcusable behavior. I'm very sad to say that I cannot recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bead Tosser
Business
Seneca, SC / Miami, FL
Jun 30, 2010

Location Location Location?

Front desk staff was not too friendly. Room was tiny. Nicely decorated. Didn't have anything behind the front desk ( packets of motrin/tylenol or toothpaste...). Charged $28 per day to park, although there is almost nowhere to park, no one at the front desk told us. Lucky we had a friend that warned us. We had a problem with our AX unit (late June) and they did not have fans or another room to accommodate, lucky the second time the maintenance guy came up he was able to fix it. Without the location this hotel doesnt offer much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deannies Seafood get the Crawfish etouffet. Mona Lisa Italian the BEST fettuccini and chicken.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Slidell, LA and Jackson, MS
Aug 1, 2010

If cleanliness is important, not here

I reserved 3 rooms as I was traveling with several family members. The rooms were very small--the bathrooms and the closets were also small--but everything we need was there--but no extra room. For example, we had to put our suitcase under the bed so that we could walk from the bed to the bathroom. The worst problem was that the rooms (and the bathrooms) were not clean--even by normal hotel standards. The front desk was slow to respond, but the night manager (not housekeeping)finally come up to the room and changed the sheets and put mattress pads on the beds after several calls to complain about the horrible condition of the sheets. Without being too gross, it was extremely obvious that the sheets were not clean and there was no mattess pad on either bed. And to top off a bad experience, there was no hot water in one of the rooms so we had to use the shower in one of the other rooms. If we had been traveling alone, there would have been no option for a shower. The hotel did not offer to make any financial adjustments--not even to waive the parking fee. I would definitely not stay there again & I will tell all of my friends to avoid this hotel--even though the location is great--on the corner of Bourbon Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top