$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Bourbon Orleans

4 stars
717 Orleans Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
237 reviews
new orleans

All around great hotel and staff. At the beginning of the party on Bourbon Street See full review

  • popeyezangel
  • Dec 1, 2014
Had a wonderful visit

Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking St. Ann Street. We loved the room and the view. Every... See full review

  • Lecach
  • Oct 20, 2014
The Bourbon Orleans Hotel has many stories to tell, sitting on the site of both the grand old Orleans Theater and Ballroom, and a former convent. Restored in the 1960s in the Creole style of the French Quarter, the Bourbon's rooms are all unique. From the gilded hangings of the ballroom and meeting halls to the Provencal furnishings of the Governor's Suite, the grandeur of Old Louisiana is everywhere guests look. A complimentary welcome beverage at the Bourbon O is your initial dose of New Orleans hospitality, while resident Creole restaurant, Roux, serves up jumbo shrimp and fried green tomatoes. The saltwater pool forms a calm oasis in the courtyard, a quiet counterpoint to the Bourbon Street bustle outside the front door.
Key facts
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facility
  • Conference and event spaces: Up to 300 guests
  • Self-service business center
  • Lounge/bar: Bourbon 'O'
  • Restaurant: Roux on Orleans
Neighborhood
Right on Bourbon Street, the Bourbon Orleans boasts quick access to the attractions of the French Quarter, as well as some of the finest music found in the "Birthplace of Jazz". Head down Orleans Street for the pedestrian-only section of Royal Street and its lively outdoor performers, or take a detour down Pirate Alley, which runs along the west side of St. Louis Cathedral and ends at Jackson Square, a U.S. National Historic Landmark. You're also never far from the banks of the Mississippi and its vintage steamboat tours.
Hints and tips
Balcony suites overlook Bourbon Street, St. Ann or Orleans Street, and the grand St. Louis Cathedral, so book here for a unique vantage point.

Those with a taste for the supernatural should keep their eyes peeled for the Bourbon's three 'resident' ghosts, including a confederate soldier patrolling the sixth and third floors and a spectral figure waltzing beneath the ballroom chandeliers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bourbon Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bourbon Orleans Rooms

Non Refundable Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Non Refundable Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Deluxe 2 double beds -No Balcony
The room with 2 double beds or 1 king including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, blow dryer,some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non - smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Room type based on availability at check in and number of adults reserved in room.
French Quarter Queen-No Balcony
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke.
Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Non Refundable French Quarter Queen
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Non Refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Bourbon Orleans

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ldaphne
Business
Lower Alabama
Feb 6, 2012

Great location

Beautiful hotel; great location. Staff was friendly, helpful, professional. Breakfast was outstanding. Free welcome drink was greatly appreciated. Only complaint might be - we stayed during Mardi Gras and guests were noisy at very late (or early) hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

WWII museum shouldn't be missed. And, a great musical performance by the National Park Service at the Old Mint was truly awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desai
Business
Hudson, OH, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Enjoyable vacation spot in an unique city

Hotel is in the heart of French Quarter in NO and conveniently located for enjoying the city, food site seeing. The only problem was that the hotel initially refused to honor the inclusion of breakfast in the paid room rate. We had to fight for it and they approved after contacting the travel agency. We had to show the proof that travel agency had given us that deal with inclusion of breakfast. Restaurant staff was very courteous and food quality was very good. They tried to give us the room right near the service elevator which we refused. The construction was supposed to be over but was still going on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Andrea's was an excellent restaurant for Italian food. Service, food and management was unequaled. It was probably the best restaurant in NO area. They provided limo service from and to the hotel. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dwaynne
Business
Pine Grove, Louisiana
Nov 1, 2011

Almost a homerun!

The hotel was under construction on some floors and it caused a large amount of noise. They moved us to another room, but it was on the floor right under the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sucalea
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Perfect location

Rooms are comfortable and the staff is always nice but what brings me back is the location. Right in the center of the Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go any direction and you can find great dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RustyB
Business
Virginia
Sep 29, 2011

A gem in the rough

The Bourbon Orleans is a fantastic value right in the heart of the French Quarter. Usually when someone says "value" many people think "cheap, low-quality" but in this case you get a lot of hotel for your money. The rooms are spacious, modern, and clean. The staff are friendly and very helpful, and the price is very reasonable. I arrived late-morning hoping to check in but there were no rooms ready. The desk agent, seeing that I was about to fall asleep on their lobby couch, had housekeeping quickly prepare a room. I was in by noon. Plus the hotel is located in the heart of the French Quarter so any time of day the center of activity is a few blocks from your room. Highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingDave
Business
Cincinnati OH
Sep 26, 2011

Convenient, comfortable hotel with fantastic staff.

It was our first trip to NOLA and the Bourbon Orleans was a great choice. It's a prime location nestled between Jackson Square and Bourbon St. Close to the trolley we were able to get around town easily and see the sites outside the French Quarter too. (Although we ended up cabbing it on the way back). The room was nice and very comfortable. It's an old building but the amenities didn't suffer. They weren't outstanding but way better than expected given it's age. We were on the top floor and the one wall was at a slight angle giving the room character and charm. But it also gave me a bump on the head getting out of bed in the morning. The staff were awesome. Consistently very friendly and helpful. They definitely bumped up my rating an extra star. We did travel with another couple who were originally on the first floor and had issues with cock roaches. But we never saw one in our sixth floor room. Then again, that's not an issue with the Bourbon, but with NOLA in general being so close to the water. The pool and outside courtyard was a nice break in the evenings from the madness that is Bourbon street. We'd grab a drink from one of the many bars down the block and enjoy it poolside. There are rumors of it being "haunted" but. like the cock roaches, we never saw any ghosts. Overall a convenient, comfortable hotel with exceptional staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The most popular attraction is Bourbon Street (which is a spectacle you can't miss). But don't skip the great shops on and around Royal St towards Jackson Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doo Pie
Business
Cockeysville, MD, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Fantastic Hotel

This was the Second time we have stayed at this fabulous hotel. From the minute we were greeted at the front door to the minute we checked out the service was superb. You can't beat its location in the French Quarter. My husband travels for business in excess of one million air miles per year and has done so for 25 years. Needless to say he has stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and he says that Bourbon Orleans is always one of his favorites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sloneycho
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Weekday getaway

I stayed Tuesday-Friday, and felt like I had this hotel to myself... and the construction workers. I'm not sure how long the work on the second floor will last, but it made for a noisy room on the first floor. Also, room 104 was quite large, but it also was next to the elevators, so there was quite a bit of mechanical noise. It was probably a handicapped accessible room at one point, with lowered counter and sink, and holes in the bath tile where grab bars once were installed. Not very accommodating when you're 6'5". Finally, the flat bottom sheet on the extra deep mattress became untucked the moment I sat on the bed, and wadded up overnight. The pool and surrounding chairs and tables were clean and well maintained, but the ambient A/C noise made it difficult to hold a conversation in the area. The fitness center was clean and well equipped with a bench, free weights, treadmills, cycle, water, and towels. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant (eggs, bacon, pancakes) was average and pricey. That leaves the location, which can't be beat. So if you don't plan on spending much time at the hotel, it will be perfect. Otherwise, if you are willing to walk a bit, the four star Canal Street and CBD hotels are better quality for the same money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the hotel breakfast, and walk one block down Bourbon to the Clover Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seattleboys
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 7, 2011

Love the Bourbon Orleans

The staff is incredibly friendly - from questions we had before arrival to the housekeeping staff we saw every morning. The hotel is beautiful in a perfect location and with a great pool for sunny days. We are repeat customers now and plan to return again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gumbo shop 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nagoodwi
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Great Experience!

This was my first time staying in New Orleans. We picked this hotel after looking at numerous hotels and locations, this seemed to be the best in our price range and very nice. The staff could not have been any nicer to my friend and I. When her luggage was late, they were calling the airline for her to ensure the bag got to her. When I left items in the hotel closet, the manager of housekeeping called me and mailed my items back. The room was always clean and very well maintained. I would stay here again on my next trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top