$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Bourbon Orleans

4 stars
View map of 717 Orleans Street, New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bourbon Orleans

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Orleans Visitor
Single
New York, NY
Feb 23, 2012

Completely Satisfactory

It was Mardis Gras, so one can expect a little chaos, but the hotel provided everything they promised at a reasonable price for a last minute reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lafite's Blacksmith Shop, the oldest bar in the U.S., is not far.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anna21
Couples
Madison, AL
Feb 20, 2012

Decent hotel in the French Quarter

The hotel was nice but chaotic. It was a little frustrating. However, the breakfast was amazing!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

K-Paul's is amazing!

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ldaphne
Couples
Lower Alabama
Feb 6, 2012

Great location

Beautiful hotel; great location. Staff was friendly, helpful, professional. Breakfast was outstanding. Free welcome drink was greatly appreciated. Only complaint might be - we stayed during Mardi Gras and guests were noisy at very late (or early) hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

WWII museum shouldn't be missed. And, a great musical performance by the National Park Service at the Old Mint was truly awesome.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desai
Couples
Hudson, OH, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Enjoyable vacation spot in an unique city

Hotel is in the heart of French Quarter in NO and conveniently located for enjoying the city, food site seeing. The only problem was that the hotel initially refused to honor the inclusion of breakfast in the paid room rate. We had to fight for it and they approved after contacting the travel agency. We had to show the proof that travel agency had given us that deal with inclusion of breakfast. Restaurant staff was very courteous and food quality was very good. They tried to give us the room right near the service elevator which we refused. The construction was supposed to be over but was still going on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Andrea's was an excellent restaurant for Italian food. Service, food and management was unequaled. It was probably the best restaurant in NO area. They provided limo service from and to the hotel. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dwaynne
Couples
Pine Grove, Louisiana
Nov 1, 2011

Almost a homerun!

The hotel was under construction on some floors and it caused a large amount of noise. They moved us to another room, but it was on the floor right under the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sucalea
Friends
Memphis, TN, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Perfect location

Rooms are comfortable and the staff is always nice but what brings me back is the location. Right in the center of the Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go any direction and you can find great dining!

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingDave
Couples
Cincinnati OH
Sep 26, 2011

Convenient, comfortable hotel with fantastic staff.

It was our first trip to NOLA and the Bourbon Orleans was a great choice. It's a prime location nestled between Jackson Square and Bourbon St. Close to the trolley we were able to get around town easily and see the sites outside the French Quarter too. (Although we ended up cabbing it on the way back). The room was nice and very comfortable. It's an old building but the amenities didn't suffer. They weren't outstanding but way better than expected given it's age. We were on the top floor and the one wall was at a slight angle giving the room character and charm. But it also gave me a bump on the head getting out of bed in the morning. The staff were awesome. Consistently very friendly and helpful. They definitely bumped up my rating an extra star. We did travel with another couple who were originally on the first floor and had issues with cock roaches. But we never saw one in our sixth floor room. Then again, that's not an issue with the Bourbon, but with NOLA in general being so close to the water. The pool and outside courtyard was a nice break in the evenings from the madness that is Bourbon street. We'd grab a drink from one of the many bars down the block and enjoy it poolside. There are rumors of it being "haunted" but. like the cock roaches, we never saw any ghosts. Overall a convenient, comfortable hotel with exceptional staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The most popular attraction is Bourbon Street (which is a spectacle you can't miss). But don't skip the great shops on and around Royal St towards Jackson Square.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doo Pie
Couples
Cockeysville, MD, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Fantastic Hotel

This was the Second time we have stayed at this fabulous hotel. From the minute we were greeted at the front door to the minute we checked out the service was superb. You can't beat its location in the French Quarter. My husband travels for business in excess of one million air miles per year and has done so for 25 years. Needless to say he has stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and he says that Bourbon Orleans is always one of his favorites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sloneycho
Single
Austin, TX, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Weekday getaway

I stayed Tuesday-Friday, and felt like I had this hotel to myself... and the construction workers. I'm not sure how long the work on the second floor will last, but it made for a noisy room on the first floor. Also, room 104 was quite large, but it also was next to the elevators, so there was quite a bit of mechanical noise. It was probably a handicapped accessible room at one point, with lowered counter and sink, and holes in the bath tile where grab bars once were installed. Not very accommodating when you're 6'5". Finally, the flat bottom sheet on the extra deep mattress became untucked the moment I sat on the bed, and wadded up overnight. The pool and surrounding chairs and tables were clean and well maintained, but the ambient A/C noise made it difficult to hold a conversation in the area. The fitness center was clean and well equipped with a bench, free weights, treadmills, cycle, water, and towels. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant (eggs, bacon, pancakes) was average and pricey. That leaves the location, which can't be beat. So if you don't plan on spending much time at the hotel, it will be perfect. Otherwise, if you are willing to walk a bit, the four star Canal Street and CBD hotels are better quality for the same money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the hotel breakfast, and walk one block down Bourbon to the Clover Grill.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seattleboys
Friends
Seattle, WA
Sep 7, 2011

Love the Bourbon Orleans

The staff is incredibly friendly - from questions we had before arrival to the housekeeping staff we saw every morning. The hotel is beautiful in a perfect location and with a great pool for sunny days. We are repeat customers now and plan to return again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gumbo shop 2 blocks away.

Back to menu Return to top