$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Bourbon Orleans

4 stars
717 Orleans Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
233 reviews
Had a wonderful visit

Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking St. Ann Street. We loved the room and the view. Every... See full review

  • Lecach
  • Oct 20, 2014
Great

Great time, great place. In a great location. Stay here! See full review

  • ckudrich
  • Oct 13, 2014
The Bourbon Orleans Hotel has many stories to tell, sitting on the site of both the grand old Orleans Theater and Ballroom, and a former convent. Restored in the 1960s in the Creole style of the French Quarter, the Bourbon's rooms are all unique. From the gilded hangings of the ballroom and meeting halls to the Provencal furnishings of the Governor's Suite, the grandeur of Old Louisiana is everywhere guests look. A complimentary welcome beverage at the Bourbon O is your initial dose of New Orleans hospitality, while resident Creole restaurant, Roux, serves up jumbo shrimp and fried green tomatoes. The saltwater pool forms a calm oasis in the courtyard, a quiet counterpoint to the Bourbon Street bustle outside the front door.
Key facts
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facility
  • Conference and event spaces: Up to 300 guests
  • Self-service business center
  • Lounge/bar: Bourbon 'O'
  • Restaurant: Roux on Orleans
Neighborhood
Right on Bourbon Street, the Bourbon Orleans boasts quick access to the attractions of the French Quarter, as well as some of the finest music found in the "Birthplace of Jazz". Head down Orleans Street for the pedestrian-only section of Royal Street and its lively outdoor performers, or take a detour down Pirate Alley, which runs along the west side of St. Louis Cathedral and ends at Jackson Square, a U.S. National Historic Landmark. You're also never far from the banks of the Mississippi and its vintage steamboat tours.
Hints and tips
Balcony suites overlook Bourbon Street, St. Ann or Orleans Street, and the grand St. Louis Cathedral, so book here for a unique vantage point.

Those with a taste for the supernatural should keep their eyes peeled for the Bourbon's three 'resident' ghosts, including a confederate soldier patrolling the sixth and third floors and a spectral figure waltzing beneath the ballroom chandeliers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9585 -90.0646
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
New Orleans Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, museums, galleries and nightlife in between.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bourbon Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bourbon Orleans Rooms

Non Refundable Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Non Refundable Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Deluxe 2 double beds -No Balcony
The room with 2 double beds or 1 king including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, blow dryer,some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non - smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Room type based on availability at check in and number of adults reserved in room.
French Quarter Queen-No Balcony
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke.
Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Non Refundable French Quarter Queen
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Non Refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Bourbon Orleans

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LexRyan
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 16, 2012

Mini-vacation

My fiancee and I went to New Orleans on a mini-vacation before our wedding. Bourbon Orleans was the perfect place. The room was spacious and comfortable and the location couldn't be better! I would highly recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Resa2
Business
Elkton, MD
Jul 13, 2012

Wonderful Hotel and Staff

We had a Great Time the location is great Hotel is clean Bed very comfortable Loved the Stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dargo's Charbroiled Oysters a Must Have!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mackenzie1186
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 13, 2012

Don't stay anywhere else in Nola

We loved this hotel. The location was perfect for seeing the French quarter and doing bourbon street right. The room was beautiful and clean and quiet we were never disrupted by the party outside. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will always stay at this hotel when in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We had a great meal everywhere we ate in the French Quarter. We would just stop and eat when we were hungry. Don't worry about reviews online just go into what's close and enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gandn
Business
kc mo
Jul 9, 2012

Fantastic location

Fantastic location, excellent staff, super breakfast buffet. The only drawback was the room we had was a bit small. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the French Marketfor food, and bargains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gahackel
Business
South Arkansas...Memphis
Jun 3, 2012

excellent getaway location

The staff very friendly. Our room was pool view and no complaints... except for shutters instead of drapes. So we both woke up with the daylight. The bed very comfortable and the king suite roomy enough. Great location to the French Qtr experience. Only $10 cabfare from the Amtrak station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places depending on what your hungry for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barrtle
Business
KCMO
May 25, 2012

Quieter than I expected

I was hesitant to stay right in the middle of the french quarter so close to Bourbon Street, but our room was very quiet. Our family enjoyed the pool, loved the salt water & again it was hard to remember where we were due to the relaxing atmosphere. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was nice; but the room was very small and the lighting was poor. Hard to see even with all the lights on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic aquarium, insectarium, streetcar and restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carnes Ranch
Business
Yoncalla, Oregon
May 12, 2012

First Class

Eveeything was perfect. The staff went beyond expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Imjenbunny
Business
Gulfport, Mississippi
May 12, 2012

Great location

I came with a friend just to get away for a night and I did just that! It was a great location! Everyone was super nice! The only thing it's a hotel on bourbon you should have room service 24 hrs ! Instead it cost us an outrageous amount to have food that we didn't eat bc it was gross delivered! But overall good visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Californiz
May 12, 2012

Something special...something splendid!

We were only going to be in New Orleans for a couple days (and one night), so I had spent hours...days even!..shopping around for a great bargain on a comfortable hotel that would help make our short stay the most pleasant experience as possible, WITHOUT having to spend a ridiculous amount of money. Without question, the Bourbon-Orleans was the ticket!! From the moment we pulled up in front of the hotel, we were treated like "special guests". Every step of the way from the lobby to our room, we were treated like royalty and felt like we were dropped into the lap of luxury. Our room was even ready 2 hours early, so were able to leave our bags and go straight to sight-seeing WITHOUT having to lug our travel bags around all over the town until the standard check-in time. ALL the staff members we encountered were friendly and professional, but still with a down-to-earth local feel. The location was just perfect, our room was small but very comfortable and made to feel like it was prepped especially for us (...and the complimentary cocktails were a lovely bonus!) Just an overall SPLENDID EXPERIENCE indeed! Posh, yet affordable...elegant, yet not pretentious. There is no doubt about where we'll be staying the next time we come to New Orleans, and the fact that each room has its own unique design makes it an even more appealing and adventurous experience to look forward to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was only one thing that I wanted to shop for and bring home from New Orleans, and that was a unique new pack of Tarot cards. I was told that I should have no problem finding that in The French Quarter, however, I went into countless souvenir shops in the area and, surprisingly, I didn't find any. It wasn't until I met a couple of locals who told me where to go to find them, and that was Marie Laveau's House of Voodoo...just a stone's throw away from the Bourbon-Orleans hotel. So there are a LOT of "tourist-ee" trinket shops in The French Quarter, but if you're looking for something unique and "special" try Marie Laveau's first...and DEFINITELY don't miss an opportunity to stay at the Bourbon-Orleans!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MelSteph
Business
Corona Del Mar, Newport Beach, CA, USA
May 1, 2012

GREAT Hotel!

Perfect location for the French Quarter and our room was NOT facing Bourbon street so we were able to sleep perfectly! Staff was excellent and the beds were so comfortable! Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top