$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Bourbon Orleans

4 stars
717 Orleans Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
368 reviews
Fabulous!

Terrific hotel! Perfect location and the staff is very friendly yet professional! We will be back. See full review

  • BamaJuju
  • Jun 29, 2014
NOLA

We stayed at the Bourbon Orleans over New Years and had a fantastic stay. We arrived very early (10... See full review

  • VBEN
  • May 29, 2014
The Bourbon Orleans Hotel has many stories to tell, sitting on the site of both the grand old Orleans Theater and Ballroom, and a former convent. Restored in the 1960s in the Creole style of the French Quarter, the Bourbon's rooms are all unique. From the gilded hangings of the ballroom and meeting halls to the Provencal furnishings of the Governor's Suite, the grandeur of Old Louisiana is everywhere guests look. A complimentary welcome beverage at the Bourbon O is your initial dose of New Orleans hospitality, while resident Creole restaurant, Roux, serves up jumbo shrimp and fried green tomatoes. The saltwater pool forms a calm oasis in the courtyard, a quiet counterpoint to the Bourbon Street bustle outside the front door.
Key facts
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facility
  • Conference and event spaces: Up to 300 guests
  • Self-service business center
  • Lounge/bar: Bourbon 'O'
  • Restaurant: Roux on Orleans
Neighborhood
Right on Bourbon Street, the Bourbon Orleans boasts quick access to the attractions of the French Quarter, as well as some of the finest music found in the "Birthplace of Jazz". Head down Orleans Street for the pedestrian-only section of Royal Street and its lively outdoor performers, or take a detour down Pirate Alley, which runs along the west side of St. Louis Cathedral and ends at Jackson Square, a U.S. National Historic Landmark. You're also never far from the banks of the Mississippi and its vintage steamboat tours.
Hints and tips
Balcony suites overlook Bourbon Street, St. Ann or Orleans Street, and the grand St. Louis Cathedral, so book here for a unique vantage point.

Those with a taste for the supernatural should keep their eyes peeled for the Bourbon's three 'resident' ghosts, including a confederate soldier patrolling the sixth and third floors and a spectral figure waltzing beneath the ballroom chandeliers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Bourbon Orleans Rooms

Non Refundable Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Non Refundable Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking. Non Refundable
Deluxe 2 double beds -No Balcony
The room with 2 double beds or 1 king including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, blow dryer,some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non - smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Room type based on availability at check in and number of adults reserved in room.
French Quarter Queen-No Balcony
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke.
Deluxe King
One King Bed. Clock Radio. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two Double Beds. Bath amenities. Hair Dryer. Iron and Ironing Board. Non Smoking.
Non Refundable French Quarter Queen
The room with Queen size bed including alarm clock/radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board,blow dryer, some rooms have in room safes and free local calls. All guest rooms are non smoking. There are smoking areas by the pool and on Bourbon Street for people to smoke. Non Refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bourbon Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9585 -90.0646
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
New Orleans Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, museums, galleries and nightlife in between.

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.8 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.5 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (368)

Ratings and reviews for Bourbon Orleans

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beltv
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great staff

Mostly everything was great. My one and only complaint is that, one of the nights I stayed here, I was awakened at 8 a.m. but VERY loud construction work, hammering and banging. We called the reception and they didn't take care of it until my boyfriend went downstairs to ask again. It took about 40 minutes to stop, at that point we were completely awake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Commander's palace if you have the money. It is absolutely worth it. For a less expensive but still expensive dinner go to Upperline and/or Cochon.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hobby Horse
Jackson, MS, USA
Aug 20, 2011

great location to french quater

Hotel was very clean ,we stayed by the pool on the first floor,it was nice but the carpet was very dull and old and faded out. They are working on the upper floors but we were not disturbed at all on the first floor and the location is good,all and for a Hotel of it's age it has held up really good and with just changing out the carpet in the hall and rooms it would be even better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is more to New Orleans than just Bourbon street and that street has an oder that might offend some, it did us, so we stayed away from it as much as possible .

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beltv
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great staff

Mostly everything was great. My one and only complaint is that, one of the nights I stayed here, I was awakened at 8 a.m. but VERY loud construction work, hammering and banging. We called the reception and they didn't take care of it until my boyfriend went downstairs to ask again. It took about 40 minutes to stop, at that point we were completely awake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Commander's palace if you have the money. It is absolutely worth it. For a less expensive but still expensive dinner go to Upperline and/or Cochon.

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hobby Horse
Jackson, MS, USA
Aug 20, 2011

great location to french quater

Hotel was very clean ,we stayed by the pool on the first floor,it was nice but the carpet was very dull and old and faded out. They are working on the upper floors but we were not disturbed at all on the first floor and the location is good,all and for a Hotel of it's age it has held up really good and with just changing out the carpet in the hall and rooms it would be even better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is more to New Orleans than just Bourbon street and that street has an oder that might offend some, it did us, so we stayed away from it as much as possible .

Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta Ga
Aug 11, 2011

Amazing hotel, perfect location

This hotel was in an amazing location right off Bourbon St. Half a block to all lgbt activities and the famous New Orleans hand Grenades! My partner and I recieved a free upgrade to a ground floor suite. The only negative review I would give is that the upstairs toilet did not flush and we had to call for repair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta Ga
Aug 11, 2011

Amazing hotel, perfect location

This hotel was in an amazing location right off Bourbon St. Half a block to all lgbt activities and the famous New Orleans hand Grenades! My partner and I recieved a free upgrade to a ground floor suite. The only negative review I would give is that the upstairs toilet did not flush and we had to call for repair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Gurabo, PR
Jul 19, 2011

Location, location, location!

Location is key. You are at walking distance from the nightlife, stores, museums, art galleries, music venues, restaurants... but the night life doesn't invade your hotel room. The hotel is very quiet and peaceful. Would've given 5 starts if my room had a balcony, and had a problem with hot water, quickly resolved by the staff though. Definitely would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 12, 2011

Great hotel

The location was very close to Burbon Street. Staff was polite and friendly. We had a fabulous time, just don't rent a car because there is no parking available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Head Pirate
Portland, OR
Jul 3, 2011

New Orleans Stay

Took daughters for 21st Birthdays, location was perfect for them to do what they wanted to do (NIGHTLIFE) and poolside during the day and for what we (parents) wanted to do: walking in morning, classes and shopping, etc. Hotel staff was SUPER friendly and accommodating, except the General Manager who wouldn't even acknowledge his guests when encountering them in the hall or lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bourbon Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Head Pirate
Portland, OR
Jul 3, 2011

New Orleans Stay

Took daughters for 21st Birthdays, location was perfect for them to do what they wanted to do (NIGHTLIFE) and poolside during the day and for what we (parents) wanted to do: walking in morning, classes and shopping, etc. Hotel staff was SUPER friendly and accommodating, except the General Manager who wouldn't even acknowledge his guests when encountering them in the hall or lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top