$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Bienville House Hotel

3 stars
320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
75 reviews
Great Stay in the Quarter!

Our first time in New Orleans on our own since 1966. Had a great stay. Hotel is easy to deal with.... See full review

  • Joe and Mar
  • Jul 1, 2014
Quick trip

Great location, clean rooms and friendly staff!!!! See full review

  • Jason Pcola
  • Jun 16, 2014
European elegance with clubs and shops of the New Orleans French Quarter
Guests at the Bienville House Hotel find much to enjoy in the elegant surroundings and the ideal location close to the bustling European charm of the French Quarter area of New Orleans. The Bienville House Hotel is conveniently situated for exploring the historic area, with its numerous jazz clubs, museums, voodoo shops, and restaurants.  On-site at the hotel, guests have exclusive access to a heated saltwater swimming pool, a Southern-style flagstone courtyard and four tempting sundecks.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Ideal location for access to the world famous French Quarter area of New Orleans, with clubs, restaurants, and local life
  • Elegant surroundings, including balconies and four great sun-decks on-site at the hotel
  • Access to the only heated saltwater swimming pool in the French Quarter
Bienville House Hotel Rooms
The Bienville House has the feel of an old manor house of the French Quarter.  There is a delightful courtyard laid with flagstones with a central pool.  Many of the 83 rooms at the recently refurbished Bienville House Hotel have wonderful wrought iron balconies overlooking the French Quarter. Rooms come with additional amenities such as wireless Internet access, a free morning newspaper, and access to the hotel sundecks. The Bienville House Hotel Rooms are within easy reach of the antique shops on Royal Street, historic buildings and jazz clubs. 
Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (1.1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • New Orleans Louisiana Superdome  (1.4 mi/2.3 km) 
Policies and fees
  • Parking rates: $12.00 per Motorcycle plus 12% tax, $32.00 per car plus 12% tax, $34.00 per Suv, Truck , or Van plus 12% tax, $42.00 per Oversized Vehicles plus 12% tax.
  • Rollaway beds are only permitted in rooms with one-king bed. Requests are based upon availability at arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9538 -90.0655
Area served
French Quarter, New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (MSY).
Area description
Bienville House Hotel is located in the French Quarter near Canal Place shopping, Jean Lafitte National Historical Park, Jax Brewery shopping, Mississippi riverboat tours, Bourbon Street, Audubon Aquarium of the Americas and Riverwalk shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bienville House Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bienville House Hotel Rooms

Standard
This room offers 1 king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, climate control, coffee/tea maker, wake-up calls, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable/satellite TV and clock radio.
Non Refundable
This room offers 1 king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, climate control, coffee/tea maker, wake-up calls, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable/satellite TV and clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 100 people reception style

Dining

Brennan's
Just three blocks away and known for world famous bread pudding and Bananas Fosters.
Bienville House
The Bienville House Restaurant is currently closed for renovations.
Bacco's
Just two blocks away and a wonderful locallly own restaurant with 10 cents martini's!!!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Bienville House Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 75
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
missgem
San Jose, CA
Mar 30, 2014

Nice place, but BEWARE of rooms with NO WINDOWS!

I think we would have enjoyed our stay so much more had we not been stuck inside of a room in the middle of the hotel which had no windows. NO WINDOWS! I never knew such hotel rooms existed, and had I known, I would have asked ahead of time and not booked the place. This was bothersome because we had no way of knowing whether it was day or night, no way to check the temperature outside, no natural light, and no fresh air. It was like living in a small, dark, dank box. We reserved our room 3 months ahead of time and the other person in our party, though reserved a few weeks later, got a room with 3 windows, so getting your room early doesn't guarantee you anything! I also think the inner rooms are used for the rooms which allow pets, because a few fleas were jumping on us during our stay. The room was also positioned near the service elevator and exit doors, so we could hear the beeping of the elevator when it was being used and the loud thud of the heavy stairway door throughout the early morning and late into the night. We liked the shower - tons of water flow and the room was cleaned every day, though I don't think replacing towels every day is is necessary and seems to be a waste of energy. You have gym access at another hotel down the street, there's an ATM and an Asian Fusion restaurant at the hotel. The hotel is actually very nice, considering the small salt water pool, old Victorian feel decor in the rooms, and fairly friendly staff (especially the men on staff). It's also in a fairly central location. Thankfully the French Quarter (especially Royal Street and Jackson Square) was a wonderful escape from our cell, ahem - room. Get the room with no windows if you get lazy and tend to stay in your room, because the room with no windows will get you out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go on a walking tour of the French Quarter, during the day or a Ghost tour at night. Knowing the history makes it so much more enjoyable. I recommend tour guide, Phillip, at French Quarter Phantoms and the any guide from Free Walking Tours.

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC twenty something
Washington, DC
Sep 24, 2012

Great for a girls weekend.

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for a girl weekend. We really enjoyed this hotels proximity to the French Quarter and other major New Orleans attractions. The staff was very accomedating and friendly. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms were a good size. They offer a nice continental breakfast, free wifi, and you can print you boarding passes free of charge too. They also had cookies and lemonade in the lobby mid-day. I really don't think you could ask for anything more when staying in New Orleans for the price. I would definetly stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daysi226
New Jersey, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Best Location & Value!!!

This hotel was just perfect! This was my first time in New Orleans and we went during Mardi Gras. This hotel was walking distance to everything. It was in a prime location but still quiet enough. Rooms were nice and a good size. Staff was really nice and helpful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
guidrynb
Gulfport, MS
Jun 11, 2011

Good location

I stayed here to go see Bob Seger in concert. It was a good location to everything I like to do in New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teezy freezy
annandale, va
May 9, 2011

I'll go back!

Every year I attend the New Orleans Jazzfest. Over the course of 23 years of staying in various hotels & guest houses there, I can honestly say that this is one of my favorites. The place is exactly how it describes itself on their site. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay special. They even handled moving me to another hotel since I was staying in town longer than they had availablity.[...] at the desk and [...] at the door knew us by name every time we went in or out of the hotel. The rooms are clean and charming. Coffee in the morning is best enjoyed along side of the courtyard pool. In spite of being in the pulse of the French Quarter and in the same block as the House of Blues, I found the rooms quiet at night. I am planning on returning to this jewel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants are within walking distance. Among them I enjoyed Stella!, Stanley, and the Royal Oyster House for their charbroiled oysters.

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny, ny
Apr 10, 2011

decent

requested 2 double beds and only got one king. they would not give us a new room and charged $25/day for the cot that we needed. room was small and windowless. location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diane from PA
Natrona Hts, PA
Feb 15, 2011

Great location

The hotel was great. The staff we came in contact with was even greater. They were warm, friendly and did what ever they could to help you with tours,resturants,etc. We took a mini-van tour of the city,which was very interesting and informative. The hotel was in a great location, so we were able to walk everywhere. The only thing missing was having a car, so I could do more shopping. You can't put too many items in a suitcase and get on a plane. Our New Orleans trip was ranked very high on our list. We plan to drive down and stay at the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There wasn't a restaurant we walked to that we didn't like. Great food at every place we went.

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
birmingham,al
Jul 25, 2010

4 outta 5 ain't bad

super location. Clean rooms. Nice staff. I don't need more than that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Apr 27, 2010

Best spot in New Orleans

This is my favorite spot to stay in New Orleans. Centrally located, extremely clean, very comfortable. A must stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Parker Boy
New Orleans, La
Nov 29, 2009

Bienville House Hotel

The staff was not friendly and they did not give us the proper bedding that was requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search