Bienville House Hotel

5 stars
View map of 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
78 reviews
Super week!

Great week at the Bienville House. Thanks to a wonderful staff - especially Beverly, Tiara, and... See full review

  • Steve S.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Real New Orleans experience

Fiendly staff. Room was clean, tastefully decorated. Parking fees were high, but that's the French... See full review

  • Toia
  • Sep 26, 2014
European elegance with clubs and shops of the New Orleans French Quarter
Guests at the Bienville House Hotel find much to enjoy in the elegant surroundings and the ideal location close to the bustling European charm of the French Quarter area of New Orleans. The Bienville House Hotel is conveniently situated for exploring the historic area, with its numerous jazz clubs, museums, voodoo shops, and restaurants.  On-site at the hotel, guests have exclusive access to a heated saltwater swimming pool, a Southern-style flagstone courtyard and four tempting sundecks.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Ideal location for access to the world famous French Quarter area of New Orleans, with clubs, restaurants, and local life
  • Elegant surroundings, including balconies and four great sun-decks on-site at the hotel
  • Access to the only heated saltwater swimming pool in the French Quarter
Bienville House Hotel Rooms
The Bienville House has the feel of an old manor house of the French Quarter.  There is a delightful courtyard laid with flagstones with a central pool.  Many of the 83 rooms at the recently refurbished Bienville House Hotel have wonderful wrought iron balconies overlooking the French Quarter. Rooms come with additional amenities such as wireless Internet access, a free morning newspaper, and access to the hotel sundecks. The Bienville House Hotel Rooms are within easy reach of the antique shops on Royal Street, historic buildings and jazz clubs. 
Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (1.1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • New Orleans Louisiana Superdome  (1.4 mi/2.3 km) 
Policies and fees
  • Parking rates: $12.00 per Motorcycle plus 12% tax, $32.00 per car plus 12% tax, $34.00 per Suv, Truck , or Van plus 12% tax, $42.00 per Oversized Vehicles plus 12% tax.
  • Rollaway beds are only permitted in rooms with one-king bed. Requests are based upon availability at arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bienville House Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Bienville House Hotel Rooms

Standard 1 King Interior Rm
Standard 1 King Interior Room Windowless -serene interior room with a rice-carved-four-poster king bed.
Interior Suite
King-bedded suite featuring a separate sitting area with a queen sofa bed.
Penthouse Suite
One bedroom suite with parlor -large street balcony -living area -dining area and half bath
Standard Double/Double Interior
Windowless -serene interior room with two double beds.
Deluxe Double/Double
Deluxe room with two-double beds with a view.
Superior King Balcony
Superior room with mahogany rice-carved four-poster king bed and private balcony.
Superior Double/Double Balcony
Superior room with two double beds and a private balcony.
Superior King Salon
Superior king salon -four-poster mahagony king bed, a balcony and sitting area.
Deluxe 1 King
Deluxe room with mahogany rice-carved four-poster king bed with a view.
Sun Deck King
Our Sundeck rooms feature a king bed with a patio and sitting area.
Sun Deck Double/Double
Our Sundeck rooms feature two double beds with an adjoining sun deck patio/sitting area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Female executive rooms
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Solarium
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Bienville House Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 78
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve S.
Business
SCHAUMBURG
Jan 7, 2015

Super week!

Great week at the Bienville House. Thanks to a wonderful staff - especially Beverly, Tiara, and Cynthia. Comfortable room and bed. Excellent, safe location at the edge of the Fr Quarter with easy access to nightlife, tourst attractions, and CBD. Walkable to Frenchman Street, which is where the locals go for music. Room was a little small-ish, but not unexpected from an older property clean, well maintained. Friendly, knowledgeable bar tenders in the adjacent Latitude 29. Minor issue with slow luggage delivery at check in. Continental breakfast was good. Would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

To avoid the lines at Cafe du Monde, go late for a coffee and beignets at the end of the evening. It's quiet and a great way to end the night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toia
Business
Mississippi
Sep 26, 2014

Real New Orleans experience

Fiendly staff. Room was clean, tastefully decorated. Parking fees were high, but that's the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check out parking lot fees prior to paying hotel rates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe and Mar
Business
Mississippi
Jul 1, 2014

Great Stay in the Quarter!

Our first time in New Orleans on our own since 1966. Had a great stay. Hotel is easy to deal with. We had an interior room so street noise was not an issue. There are great "hole in the wall" eateries all around and quickly found a favorite for po-boys and a beer. Daughter recommended the hotel as a favorite of hers and we see why. Look forward to another stay in the Fall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jason Pcola
Business
Pensacola
Jun 16, 2014

Quick trip

Great location, clean rooms and friendly staff!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location. Tons of shopping, eating and sight seeing within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Jersey Bob
Business
NJ
May 16, 2014

Nice Gem

From the friendly doorman on arrival to our checkout we have nothing but good things to say about Bienville. The rooms were clean, staff very friendly, and everything was in working order. We also liked the location which was near everything in the French Quarters. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bjd2
Business
Pulaski, WI
Apr 8, 2014

Bienville House in New Orleans French Quarter

We just returned from a cruise that left from New Orleans. We stayed at Bienville House on our return from the cruise. We had a scare upon arrival as they didn't have our reservation. I showed the confirmation email that I had and they then found that they had us reserved for June 6th instead of April 6th! Cynthia at the front desk did her magic and although they were full they gave us a room. The hotel was very pretty throughout and our room was quite comfortable. We were awakened by fire engines at times in the night being right across the road but still slept ok. The staff was outstanding. From bringing our bags up and down for us and calling our cab for the airport. Friendly and always smiling. We would stay here again if visiting New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willie Boy
Business
Lafayette, LA
Feb 10, 2014

Weekend getaway

Great location walking distance to just about anywhere we wanted to go. The staff very helpful and pleasant couldn't ask for better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph D
Business
New Jersey
Jan 23, 2014

Weekend Getaway

Another copuple and I stayed at this hotel over Martin Luther King weekend and couldn't have been more pleased with the comfort of the room, location and friendly staff. We enjoyed sitting in the couryard over coffee and chatting it up with the staff and locals. We would stay here again. The staff, especially Sarah, was very helpful and pleasent. Upon arriving at the hotel, our rooms weren't ready but when we were checked in we were upgraded which really made for a great surprise. If we return to NOLA we will be staying here. There was some noise from the street (car alarm and people yelling) but with Decatur street being right behind us, oh and the train, it really can't be helped. All in all a great stay and a highly recommened hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a tour of the cemetries, they are worth seeing. Don't take a ghotst tour, really not worth the 25 bucks!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katlyn J.
Business
Annapolis, MD
Nov 1, 2013

Lots of Charm and a Great Location!

This hotel is in a great location. It's right down the street from Jackson Square, a stone's throw away from the Mississippi, and a few blocks from Bourbon Street - close enough to visit, but far enough away for a quiet night's sleep. There's plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, and the terminal to the (free!) ferry across the river is only a five-minute walk away. The hotel has a complimentary continental breakfast, which we enjoyed. The staff was very nice and helpful. Overall, this hotel has a lot of charm, and I'd definitely recommend it. My only complaints are that our room was unusually cold; there might have been something wrong with the thermostat. Also, we didn't get a wake-up call one morning, although we'd asked for it the night before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deep in the Heart of ATX
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 12, 2013

Labor Day Weekend in New Orleans

Very nice hotel! I am a recent doctoral graduate and this is one of my first vacations since beginning my career (and therefore one of the first times I paid to stay at a nicer hotel vs looking for the cheapest thing available). Of course the pictures show the hotel in the best possible light but I found them to be a fairly accurate representation of the hotel. The location was perfect- walking distance to most of the things we came there to experience: French Quarter, Jackson Square, the casino, Cafe du Monde, great restaurants, etc. but sort of on the edge of the area so the street wasn't loud, wild, or crowded. If you want to be able to stumble out of the front door straight into a throng of rowdy drunks, you may want to look a few streets over. Front desk and bellboys were all very nice/helpful. Paying nearly $40 per night to park our car seemed high but is actually on par with the rest of the nearby hotels. The only complaint is that the AC unit was fairly noisy (a creaking sound on top of the usual hum), but a white noise app on the phone took care of that. Definitely recommend- I'd stay here again if visiting the French Quarter. P.S.- After arriving we found out if was the Southern Decadence festival (aka Gay Mardi Gras) and this hotel and many of the nearby businesses were definitely LGBT friendly. We were pleasantly surprised by the unexpected festivities :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top