$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 13, 2014 Check-out: May 14, 2014

Bienville House Hotel

3 stars
320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
71 reviews
HALLOWEEN

We went for Halloween not really expecting much from the room but wow! The room was huge! Four post... See full review

  • Foleystravels
  • Nov 2, 2012
Bienville House in New Orleans French Quarter

We just returned from a cruise that left from New Orleans. We stayed at Bienville House on our... See full review

  • bjd2
  • Apr 8, 2014
European elegance with clubs and shops of the New Orleans French Quarter
Guests at the Bienville House Hotel find much to enjoy in the elegant surroundings and the ideal location close to the bustling European charm of the French Quarter area of New Orleans. The Bienville House Hotel is conveniently situated for exploring the historic area, with its numerous jazz clubs, museums, voodoo shops, and restaurants.  On-site at the hotel, guests have exclusive access to a heated saltwater swimming pool, a Southern-style flagstone courtyard and four tempting sundecks.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Ideal location for access to the world famous French Quarter area of New Orleans, with clubs, restaurants, and local life
  • Elegant surroundings, including balconies and four great sun-decks on-site at the hotel
  • Access to the only heated saltwater swimming pool in the French Quarter
Bienville House Hotel Rooms
The Bienville House has the feel of an old manor house of the French Quarter.  There is a delightful courtyard laid with flagstones with a central pool.  Many of the 83 rooms at the recently refurbished Bienville House Hotel have wonderful wrought iron balconies overlooking the French Quarter. Rooms come with additional amenities such as wireless Internet access, a free morning newspaper, and access to the hotel sundecks. The Bienville House Hotel Rooms are within easy reach of the antique shops on Royal Street, historic buildings and jazz clubs. 
Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (1.1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • New Orleans Louisiana Superdome  (1.4 mi/2.3 km) 
Policies and fees
  • Parking rates: $12.00 per Motorcycle plus 12% tax, $32.00 per car plus 12% tax, $34.00 per Suv, Truck , or Van plus 12% tax, $42.00 per Oversized Vehicles plus 12% tax.
  • Rollaway beds are only permitted in rooms with one-king bed. Requests are based upon availability at arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Bienville House Hotel Rooms

Standard
This room offers 1 king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, climate control, coffee/tea maker, wake-up calls, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable/satellite TV and clock radio.
Non Refundable
This room offers 1 king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, climate control, coffee/tea maker, wake-up calls, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable/satellite TV and clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bienville House Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9538 -90.0655
Area served
French Quarter, New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (MSY).
Area description
Bienville House Hotel is located in the French Quarter near Canal Place shopping, Jean Lafitte National Historical Park, Jax Brewery shopping, Mississippi riverboat tours, Bourbon Street, Audubon Aquarium of the Americas and Riverwalk shopping.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 100 people reception style

Dining

Brennan's
Just three blocks away and known for world famous bread pudding and Bananas Fosters.
Bienville House
The Bienville House Restaurant is currently closed for renovations.
Bacco's
Just two blocks away and a wonderful locallly own restaurant with 10 cents martini's!!!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Bienville House Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Birmingham, AL
Jul 8, 2009

Never in your life stay here!

We were there 3 days and each night we had a different room. The first room was so hot, we were brought a FAN to cool us off! The next room smelled of mildew and our linens were damp and moldy to the touch. Our third room was soooo hot that we had TWO fans put in! I was not compensated for the trouble and I was supposed to receive a call back and I'm still waiting on an apology. I paid almost $700 for 3 days and this is what I got. I thought you got what you paid for? Not in my case. I should have stayed in a Super 8! BTW, while I was checking out I noticed that EVERYONE had an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do use the hotel parking if you are going to stay during a major event. Its cheaper and safer.

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
USA
Sep 12, 2008

Need working airconditioning

We were there between storms, Gustav and Ike, and the staff appeared tired. The air conditioning was not up to par. The room was warm, we complained to the desk and they said they would look into it. Nothing. Called again and talked to maintenance they said the room would only be 20 degrees cooler than outside, with temperatures in the mid 90's a room in a hotel such as the Bienville House only having rooms at 75 degrees was unacceptable. The heat and humidity outside was oppressive, not much better in the room. This was our first fall visit and too close to summer. Our previous stays were fine but they were in early spring when the air conditioning was not so important. On our last night after TWO calls, the shift changed and the request was not passed on, we were supplied with a fan that helped us to sleep. Three of our four nights were not up to par. At a hotel of this class I would think air conditioning would be a given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything shopping, dinning, casino, Bourbon Street is close. This was our first negative experience at the Bienville House

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Blues lover from DC
Washington, DC
Dec 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel and location, but rooms without the windows

All was good, especially - the staff, but if you want day light from the windows this is not your hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ak staff about recommendations where the best music can be found if you realy came for blues and jazz and not for RnR

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
ny, ny
Apr 10, 2011

decent

requested 2 double beds and only got one king. they would not give us a new room and charged $25/day for the cot that we needed. room was small and windowless. location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
pensacola, fl
Mar 18, 2011

leisure

overall, the hotel was nice. small, but nice. however, our problems came from within the preparation of our room. we called in advance and requested to check in early and they said it was no problem. well we went to the zoo before hand and showed up at three, our original check in time. our room was not ready and we had to wait in the SMALL lobby with about 15 other people because housekeeping was not done cleaning our room. people who came in after us got into their rooms way before us, as we sat and waited with all of our luggage. i just got done proposing to my girlfriend, and then we had to wait in a lobby that was smaller than our room. good thing there was a lot to do in the big easy, we only used our room for a bed to sleep in...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
guidrynb
Gulfport, MS
Jun 11, 2011

Good location

I stayed here to go see Bob Seger in concert. It was a good location to everything I like to do in New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Meridian, MS
Sep 20, 2009

Great location and a quaint hotel

The location is ideal for the French Quarter. Our King room didn't have a tub--only a shower. The room smelled musty and was a bit small. The parking fee is exorbitant at $30 per day for a small SUV. The staff is very friendly, which was a plus. I wish I had complained at the time and asked for another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
missgem
San Jose, CA
Mar 30, 2014

Nice place, but BEWARE of rooms with NO WINDOWS!

I think we would have enjoyed our stay so much more had we not been stuck inside of a room in the middle of the hotel which had no windows. NO WINDOWS! I never knew such hotel rooms existed, and had I known, I would have asked ahead of time and not booked the place. This was bothersome because we had no way of knowing whether it was day or night, no way to check the temperature outside, no natural light, and no fresh air. It was like living in a small, dark, dank box. We reserved our room 3 months ahead of time and the other person in our party, though reserved a few weeks later, got a room with 3 windows, so getting your room early doesn't guarantee you anything! I also think the inner rooms are used for the rooms which allow pets, because a few fleas were jumping on us during our stay. The room was also positioned near the service elevator and exit doors, so we could hear the beeping of the elevator when it was being used and the loud thud of the heavy stairway door throughout the early morning and late into the night. We liked the shower - tons of water flow and the room was cleaned every day, though I don't think replacing towels every day is is necessary and seems to be a waste of energy. You have gym access at another hotel down the street, there's an ATM and an Asian Fusion restaurant at the hotel. The hotel is actually very nice, considering the small salt water pool, old Victorian feel decor in the rooms, and fairly friendly staff (especially the men on staff). It's also in a fairly central location. Thankfully the French Quarter (especially Royal Street and Jackson Square) was a wonderful escape from our cell, ahem - room. Get the room with no windows if you get lazy and tend to stay in your room, because the room with no windows will get you out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go on a walking tour of the French Quarter, during the day or a Ghost tour at night. Knowing the history makes it so much more enjoyable. I recommend tour guide, Phillip, at French Quarter Phantoms and the any guide from Free Walking Tours.

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Arkansas
Jul 6, 2009

Good location

The staff was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Parker Boy
New Orleans, La
Nov 29, 2009

Bienville House Hotel

The staff was not friendly and they did not give us the proper bedding that was requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top