$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Bienville House Hotel

5 stars
View map of 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
78 reviews
Super week!

Great week at the Bienville House. Thanks to a wonderful staff - especially Beverly, Tiara, and... See full review

  • Steve S.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Real New Orleans experience

Fiendly staff. Room was clean, tastefully decorated. Parking fees were high, but that's the French... See full review

  • Toia
  • Sep 26, 2014
European elegance with clubs and shops of the New Orleans French Quarter
Guests at the Bienville House Hotel find much to enjoy in the elegant surroundings and the ideal location close to the bustling European charm of the French Quarter area of New Orleans. The Bienville House Hotel is conveniently situated for exploring the historic area, with its numerous jazz clubs, museums, voodoo shops, and restaurants.  On-site at the hotel, guests have exclusive access to a heated saltwater swimming pool, a Southern-style flagstone courtyard and four tempting sundecks.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Ideal location for access to the world famous French Quarter area of New Orleans, with clubs, restaurants, and local life
  • Elegant surroundings, including balconies and four great sun-decks on-site at the hotel
  • Access to the only heated saltwater swimming pool in the French Quarter
Bienville House Hotel Rooms
The Bienville House has the feel of an old manor house of the French Quarter.  There is a delightful courtyard laid with flagstones with a central pool.  Many of the 83 rooms at the recently refurbished Bienville House Hotel have wonderful wrought iron balconies overlooking the French Quarter. Rooms come with additional amenities such as wireless Internet access, a free morning newspaper, and access to the hotel sundecks. The Bienville House Hotel Rooms are within easy reach of the antique shops on Royal Street, historic buildings and jazz clubs. 
Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (1.1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • New Orleans Louisiana Superdome  (1.4 mi/2.3 km) 
Policies and fees
  • Parking rates: $12.00 per Motorcycle plus 12% tax, $32.00 per car plus 12% tax, $34.00 per Suv, Truck , or Van plus 12% tax, $42.00 per Oversized Vehicles plus 12% tax.
  • Rollaway beds are only permitted in rooms with one-king bed. Requests are based upon availability at arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bienville House Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Bienville House Hotel Rooms

Standard 1 King Interior Rm
Standard 1 King Interior Room Windowless -serene interior room with a rice-carved-four-poster king bed.
Interior Suite
King-bedded suite featuring a separate sitting area with a queen sofa bed.
Penthouse Suite
One bedroom suite with parlor -large street balcony -living area -dining area and half bath
Standard Double/Double Interior
Windowless -serene interior room with two double beds.
Deluxe Double/Double
Deluxe room with two-double beds with a view.
Superior King Balcony
Superior room with mahogany rice-carved four-poster king bed and private balcony.
Superior Double/Double Balcony
Superior room with two double beds and a private balcony.
Superior King Salon
Superior king salon -four-poster mahagony king bed, a balcony and sitting area.
Deluxe 1 King
Deluxe room with mahogany rice-carved four-poster king bed with a view.
Sun Deck King
Our Sundeck rooms feature a king bed with a patio and sitting area.
Sun Deck Double/Double
Our Sundeck rooms feature two double beds with an adjoining sun deck patio/sitting area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Female executive rooms
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Solarium
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Bienville House Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jul 8, 2009

Never in your life stay here!

We were there 3 days and each night we had a different room. The first room was so hot, we were brought a FAN to cool us off! The next room smelled of mildew and our linens were damp and moldy to the touch. Our third room was soooo hot that we had TWO fans put in! I was not compensated for the trouble and I was supposed to receive a call back and I'm still waiting on an apology. I paid almost $700 for 3 days and this is what I got. I thought you got what you paid for? Not in my case. I should have stayed in a Super 8! BTW, while I was checking out I noticed that EVERYONE had an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do use the hotel parking if you are going to stay during a major event. Its cheaper and safer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 12, 2008

Need working airconditioning

We were there between storms, Gustav and Ike, and the staff appeared tired. The air conditioning was not up to par. The room was warm, we complained to the desk and they said they would look into it. Nothing. Called again and talked to maintenance they said the room would only be 20 degrees cooler than outside, with temperatures in the mid 90's a room in a hotel such as the Bienville House only having rooms at 75 degrees was unacceptable. The heat and humidity outside was oppressive, not much better in the room. This was our first fall visit and too close to summer. Our previous stays were fine but they were in early spring when the air conditioning was not so important. On our last night after TWO calls, the shift changed and the request was not passed on, we were supplied with a fan that helped us to sleep. Three of our four nights were not up to par. At a hotel of this class I would think air conditioning would be a given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything shopping, dinning, casino, Bourbon Street is close. This was our first negative experience at the Bienville House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
missgem
Business
San Jose, CA
Mar 30, 2014

Nice place, but BEWARE of rooms with NO WINDOWS!

I think we would have enjoyed our stay so much more had we not been stuck inside of a room in the middle of the hotel which had no windows. NO WINDOWS! I never knew such hotel rooms existed, and had I known, I would have asked ahead of time and not booked the place. This was bothersome because we had no way of knowing whether it was day or night, no way to check the temperature outside, no natural light, and no fresh air. It was like living in a small, dark, dank box. We reserved our room 3 months ahead of time and the other person in our party, though reserved a few weeks later, got a room with 3 windows, so getting your room early doesn't guarantee you anything! I also think the inner rooms are used for the rooms which allow pets, because a few fleas were jumping on us during our stay. The room was also positioned near the service elevator and exit doors, so we could hear the beeping of the elevator when it was being used and the loud thud of the heavy stairway door throughout the early morning and late into the night. We liked the shower - tons of water flow and the room was cleaned every day, though I don't think replacing towels every day is is necessary and seems to be a waste of energy. You have gym access at another hotel down the street, there's an ATM and an Asian Fusion restaurant at the hotel. The hotel is actually very nice, considering the small salt water pool, old Victorian feel decor in the rooms, and fairly friendly staff (especially the men on staff). It's also in a fairly central location. Thankfully the French Quarter (especially Royal Street and Jackson Square) was a wonderful escape from our cell, ahem - room. Get the room with no windows if you get lazy and tend to stay in your room, because the room with no windows will get you out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go on a walking tour of the French Quarter, during the day or a Ghost tour at night. Knowing the history makes it so much more enjoyable. I recommend tour guide, Phillip, at French Quarter Phantoms and the any guide from Free Walking Tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sookie16
Business
Palm Coast, FL, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Good but not great

Great location for walking to the waterfront and close to several good restaurants. The personnel were friendly and helpful but the room we had was small with a non opening window. The hotel is located next to a fire station that received several calls during our stay. on the whole a pleasant stay but not remarkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Evangeline Restaurant located next to the hotel. One of the best steaks I have eaten in a long time and we had just eaten at one of the highest rated steak houses in New Orleans. Evangeline beat that steak house hands down!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blues lover from DC
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel and location, but rooms without the windows

All was good, especially - the staff, but if you want day light from the windows this is not your hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ak staff about recommendations where the best music can be found if you realy came for blues and jazz and not for RnR

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny, ny
Apr 10, 2011

decent

requested 2 double beds and only got one king. they would not give us a new room and charged $25/day for the cot that we needed. room was small and windowless. location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola, FL
Apr 28, 2010

Nice Hotel - Bad Room

When I arrived at the hotel, they changed my room assignment and instead of a room with a King size bed and interior location, I had a room with two Queen size beds and a balcony on the street. That night, I may as well have been in the bar across the street because they blasted music until 2 AM and we could not sleep. I showed them my reservation but they insisted it was not correct.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
guidrynb
Business
Gulfport, MS
Jun 11, 2011

Good location

I stayed here to go see Bob Seger in concert. It was a good location to everything I like to do in New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Jul 6, 2009

Good location

The staff was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Parker Boy
Business
New Orleans, La
Nov 29, 2009

Bienville House Hotel

The staff was not friendly and they did not give us the proper bedding that was requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top