$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Bienville House Hotel

5 stars
View map of 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
78 reviews
Super week!

Great week at the Bienville House. Thanks to a wonderful staff - especially Beverly, Tiara, and... See full review

  • Steve S.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Real New Orleans experience

Fiendly staff. Room was clean, tastefully decorated. Parking fees were high, but that's the French... See full review

  • Toia
  • Sep 26, 2014
European elegance with clubs and shops of the New Orleans French Quarter
Guests at the Bienville House Hotel find much to enjoy in the elegant surroundings and the ideal location close to the bustling European charm of the French Quarter area of New Orleans. The Bienville House Hotel is conveniently situated for exploring the historic area, with its numerous jazz clubs, museums, voodoo shops, and restaurants.  On-site at the hotel, guests have exclusive access to a heated saltwater swimming pool, a Southern-style flagstone courtyard and four tempting sundecks.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Ideal location for access to the world famous French Quarter area of New Orleans, with clubs, restaurants, and local life
  • Elegant surroundings, including balconies and four great sun-decks on-site at the hotel
  • Access to the only heated saltwater swimming pool in the French Quarter
Bienville House Hotel Rooms
The Bienville House has the feel of an old manor house of the French Quarter.  There is a delightful courtyard laid with flagstones with a central pool.  Many of the 83 rooms at the recently refurbished Bienville House Hotel have wonderful wrought iron balconies overlooking the French Quarter. Rooms come with additional amenities such as wireless Internet access, a free morning newspaper, and access to the hotel sundecks. The Bienville House Hotel Rooms are within easy reach of the antique shops on Royal Street, historic buildings and jazz clubs. 
Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (1.1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • New Orleans Louisiana Superdome  (1.4 mi/2.3 km) 
Policies and fees
  • Parking rates: $12.00 per Motorcycle plus 12% tax, $32.00 per car plus 12% tax, $34.00 per Suv, Truck , or Van plus 12% tax, $42.00 per Oversized Vehicles plus 12% tax.
  • Rollaway beds are only permitted in rooms with one-king bed. Requests are based upon availability at arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bienville House Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Bienville House Hotel Rooms

Standard 1 King Interior Rm
Standard 1 King Interior Room Windowless -serene interior room with a rice-carved-four-poster king bed.
Interior Suite
King-bedded suite featuring a separate sitting area with a queen sofa bed.
Penthouse Suite
One bedroom suite with parlor -large street balcony -living area -dining area and half bath
Standard Double/Double Interior
Windowless -serene interior room with two double beds.
Deluxe Double/Double
Deluxe room with two-double beds with a view.
Superior King Balcony
Superior room with mahogany rice-carved four-poster king bed and private balcony.
Superior Double/Double Balcony
Superior room with two double beds and a private balcony.
Superior King Salon
Superior king salon -four-poster mahagony king bed, a balcony and sitting area.
Deluxe 1 King
Deluxe room with mahogany rice-carved four-poster king bed with a view.
Sun Deck King
Our Sundeck rooms feature a king bed with a patio and sitting area.
Sun Deck Double/Double
Our Sundeck rooms feature two double beds with an adjoining sun deck patio/sitting area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Female executive rooms
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Solarium
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Bienville House Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daysi226
Business
New Jersey, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Best Location & Value!!!

This hotel was just perfect! This was my first time in New Orleans and we went during Mardi Gras. This hotel was walking distance to everything. It was in a prime location but still quiet enough. Rooms were nice and a good size. Staff was really nice and helpful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M Fitzgerald
Business
Ireland
Jul 23, 2012

Stunning Oasis of Calm

Only had one night booked before our trip to New Orleans but had the most beautiful delux king room on the 3rd floor. After moving down town for two nights, we were delighted to return to the Bienville hotel for a further four nights where we were upgraded to a really great room with the most stunning roof top garden on the fourth floor. Really loved this hotel and the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit Stanley's on Jackson square for brunch any day of the week!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC twenty something
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 24, 2012

Great for a girls weekend.

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for a girl weekend. We really enjoyed this hotels proximity to the French Quarter and other major New Orleans attractions. The staff was very accomedating and friendly. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms were a good size. They offer a nice continental breakfast, free wifi, and you can print you boarding passes free of charge too. They also had cookies and lemonade in the lobby mid-day. I really don't think you could ask for anything more when staying in New Orleans for the price. I would definetly stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foleystravels
Business
Louisville, KY, USA
Nov 2, 2012

HALLOWEEN

We went for Halloween not really expecting much from the room but wow! The room was huge! Four post king size bed, balcony, and quiet. The hotel was beautiful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. It was a wonderful experience and we'll be coming back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley
Jun 18, 2008

beautiful rooms

The bienville hotel rooms are gorgeous the bed was huge and comfortable, the bathrooms are painted a sage green, and the whole room was tastefully decorated. It looked like something out of better homes and gardens. It is in my opinion a 5 star hotel. I plan on staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Aug 9, 2008

Great hidden gem!

The Bienville House is a wonderful place to stay in new Orleans. Classified as a boutique historic hotel, the amenities are superb and the value was outstanding. Located conveniently to the French Quarter and several fine restaurants, it is enough off the beaten path to find quiet and solace from the fracas of Bourbon. We checked in quickly and our room was ready early. Parking was a bit pricey, but worth it given that it was covered and protected. I will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you try Mr. B's Bistro, of the Brennan clan. Dark wooded interiors, wonderful ambiance, and outstanding food and service! Close by The Bienville House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oklahoma
May 27, 2009

Stayed once..great,went back,great!

Great location..friendly staff..clean rooms..breakfast included...only trade off is if you get front street balcony for all friends' "wine" time, it can get noisy overnight on weekends.All other rooms are very quiet! But loved the front balcony too. This is the place we will always stay and so far all our friends agree.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milwaukee, wi
Nov 1, 2009

Unbeatable charm

My daughter and I (Mom) were on a college tour in the South. Tulane was on our list. Mom has been to NOLA many times and has stayed in the French Qtr but never as nice, convienient and quiet as this! Our room was amazing (King Suite). The staff was great. We didn't eat bfst there but we did partake of the coffee which was excellent (Starbucks). I will definitely stay there again as my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margie Cohen
Business
Wayland Mass
Mar 2, 2011

Fabulous Hotel

This hotel was such a haven for us after our horrible experience at the St. James Hotel. They welcomed us and ugraded our room when they heard about our previous experiences we had had earlier in the week. The room was beautiful and spotless. The breakfast was great and all staff was very polite and helpful. Great location and pretty pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Po Boy Johnies is a short walk away and delicous and very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CathyW
Business
Findlay, Ohio
Apr 22, 2009

What a wonderful hotel

After our 5th trip to New Orleans, this was by far the most pleasant of hotels. Designated as a Historic place by the Preservation Guild, it will meet your needs. A plus is that this entire hotel is smokefree! Start with a simple Continental breakfast in the courtyard by the pool, then step out to the fantastic streets of the French Quarter. You will be within walking distance to everything (don't forget your comfy tennis shoes). Later, wonderful hot showers, fresh cotton bathrobes, beautiful four poster reproduction antique beds... We were on the Street side, where you could hear some night life- but after busy days of Quarter activities, we fell fast asleep regardless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is nearby: The Riverwalk, beignets, The French Market, Art shops, wonderful restaurants. Please remember to pack comfortable shoes, as the French Quarter streets are all very old, uneven brick streets. Not very wheelchair or stroller friendly (but this is one case where it would be hard to change, as you would lose the flavor of the historic district's charm).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top