$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2015 Check-out: Aug 13, 2015

Bienville House Hotel

5 stars
View map of 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
78 reviews
Super week!

Great week at the Bienville House. Thanks to a wonderful staff - especially Beverly, Tiara, and... See full review

  • Steve S.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Real New Orleans experience

Fiendly staff. Room was clean, tastefully decorated. Parking fees were high, but that's the French... See full review

  • Toia
  • Sep 26, 2014
Guests at the Bienville House Hotel find much to enjoy in the elegant surroundings and the ideal location close to the bustling European charm of the French Quarter area of New Orleans. The Bienville House Hotel is conveniently situated for exploring the historic area, with its numerous jazz clubs, museums, voodoo shops, and restaurants.  On-site at the hotel, guests have exclusive access to a heated saltwater swimming pool, a Southern-style flagstone courtyard and four tempting sundecks.
Rooms
The Bienville House has the feel of an old manor house of the French Quarter.  There is a delightful courtyard laid with flagstones with a central pool.  Many of the 83 rooms at the recently refurbished Bienville House Hotel have wonderful wrought iron balconies overlooking the French Quarter. Rooms come with additional amenities such as wireless Internet access, a free morning newspaper, and access to the hotel sundecks. The Bienville House Hotel Rooms are within easy reach of the antique shops on Royal Street, historic buildings and jazz clubs. 
Highlights
  • Ideal location for access to the world famous French Quarter area of New Orleans, with clubs, restaurants, and local life
  • Elegant surroundings, including balconies and four great sun-decks on-site at the hotel
  • Access to the only heated saltwater swimming pool in the French Quarter
Nearby attractions
  • Lafayette Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (1.1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • New Orleans Louisiana Superdome  (1.4 mi/2.3 km) 
Policies
  • Parking rates: $12.00 per Motorcycle plus 12% tax, $32.00 per car plus 12% tax, $34.00 per Suv, Truck , or Van plus 12% tax, $42.00 per Oversized Vehicles plus 12% tax.
  • Rollaway beds are only permitted in rooms with one-king bed. Requests are based upon availability at arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bienville House Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Bienville House Hotel Rooms

Standard 1 King Interior Rm
Standard 1 King Interior Room Windowless -serene interior room with a rice-carved-four-poster king bed.
Interior Suite
King-bedded suite featuring a separate sitting area with a queen sofa bed.
Penthouse Suite
One bedroom suite with parlor -large street balcony -living area -dining area and half bath
Standard Double/Double Interior
Windowless -serene interior room with two double beds.
Deluxe Double/Double
Deluxe room with two-double beds with a view.
Superior King Balcony
Superior room with mahogany rice-carved four-poster king bed and private balcony.
Superior Double/Double Balcony
Superior room with two double beds and a private balcony.
Superior King Salon
Superior king salon -four-poster mahagony king bed, a balcony and sitting area.
Deluxe 1 King
Deluxe room with mahogany rice-carved four-poster king bed with a view.
Sun Deck King
Our Sundeck rooms feature a king bed with a patio and sitting area.
Sun Deck Double/Double
Our Sundeck rooms feature two double beds with an adjoining sun deck patio/sitting area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Female executive rooms
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Solarium
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Bienville House Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 78
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NOLA 2.0
Business
Irwin, PA
Oct 16, 2014

NOLA 2nd time around

Hotel was Okay- Location to Bourbon Street - great many nearby restaurants & bars Easy Walking distance to Jackson Square & River Walk. Bathroom sink was a little loose when I leaned on it, no wash clothes, Toilet was a little slow-needs a little attention to detail. Beds were very comfortable - outside deck was very nice, needs a little lighting at night. Missing a cozy place to have a night cap, I saw they were adding it on, maybe next time I am in NOLA I will visit. Staff was very accommodating and welcoming. Would stay again but not my first choice Stayed at the Mazarin a few years ago when I was in NOLA for my nieces wedding, much nicer rooms and full breakfast & a bar really liked it there, could not accommodate the days I was in town this time. All in all had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Emeril's New Orleans must have a reservation a great experience & great food a bit pricy but worth it.

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cmartell
Business
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Apr 24, 2014

Would stay again

Wonderful hotel. Great location to all the sights in the French Quarter. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Clean rooms and efficient housekeeping. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M Fitzgerald
Business
Ireland
Jul 23, 2012

Stunning Oasis of Calm

Only had one night booked before our trip to New Orleans but had the most beautiful delux king room on the 3rd floor. After moving down town for two nights, we were delighted to return to the Bienville hotel for a further four nights where we were upgraded to a really great room with the most stunning roof top garden on the fourth floor. Really loved this hotel and the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit Stanley's on Jackson square for brunch any day of the week!

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margie Cohen
Business
Wayland Mass
Mar 2, 2011

Fabulous Hotel

This hotel was such a haven for us after our horrible experience at the St. James Hotel. They welcomed us and ugraded our room when they heard about our previous experiences we had had earlier in the week. The room was beautiful and spotless. The breakfast was great and all staff was very polite and helpful. Great location and pretty pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Po Boy Johnies is a short walk away and delicous and very reasonably priced.

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NorCal
Nov 2, 2010

I'd do it all over again

Great location, clean rooms, friendly staff, comfortable bed. I couldn't have been happier about our choice to stay at Bienville House. Perfect walking distance to everything in French Quarter; far enough from Bourbon Street to get a good night of sleep (even during Halloween weekend). I was very pleased and would recommend this hotel to anyone comfortable in 3-4 star accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The Voodoo Museum offers an excellent voodoo and cemetery walking tour. Very insightful and at a fraction of the cost of other similar tours. Be sure to reserve your tour 24 hours ahead.

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovemycruises
Business
memphis, tn
Sep 2, 2010

great start to a cruise

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. great location for New Orleans in french quarter area. exceptionally friendly staff. easy to find. staff was very quick to resolve our problem with a mouse in the first room. would come back for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, LA
Mar 29, 2010

George Rodrigue Contest

Everything was great about the hotel; however, the A/C in our room did not work. The hotel sent in a maintenance person to repair the A/C but he was not able to fix it. The hotel would have moved us into another room but there were no vacancies. Therefore, they provided us with a fan and did not charge us for the night's stay. The following day, they relocated us into a different room where the A/C worked. All in all, the staff was very pleasant and tried to accomodate us to the best of their ability.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield Bay, AR
Nov 30, 2009

Bienville House

Great ambiance. Very friendly and helpful service. While parking was limited, they arranged for parking at another hotel 1 1/2 blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milwaukee, wi
Nov 1, 2009

Unbeatable charm

My daughter and I (Mom) were on a college tour in the South. Tulane was on our list. Mom has been to NOLA many times and has stayed in the French Qtr but never as nice, convienient and quiet as this! Our room was amazing (King Suite). The staff was great. We didn't eat bfst there but we did partake of the coffee which was excellent (Starbucks). I will definitely stay there again as my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 27, 2009

Beautiful, intimate Old World feel

The hotel and rooms were so beautiful and comfortable that we had to force ourselves to leave to explore the French Quarter. The only problem was that we couldn't check in on time. Check-in is at 2:00 PM and the room wasn't ready until almost 4:00 PM. That's a lot of time when you have just come in the airport and you are hot, tired, hungry, and want to get to your room to freshen up before you go eat. More bothersome than that, however, was the fact that the front desk clerk took a bit of an attitude with us when telling us our room wasn't ready yet. I guess we looked rather blank and she took it as looking at her like it was her fault! I wouldn't break a leg trying to get to the Continental breakfast, either. The internet pictures made it look like something really special. In reality, it is very, very basic. All in all, however, this was a great hotel and we would definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants within a short walking distance include Brennans, Chef Prudhommes, and the Rib Room.

Back to menu Return to top