$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Bienville House Hotel

3 stars
320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
75 reviews
Great Stay in the Quarter!

Our first time in New Orleans on our own since 1966. Had a great stay. Hotel is easy to deal with.... See full review

  • Joe and Mar
  • Jul 1, 2014
Quick trip

Great location, clean rooms and friendly staff!!!! See full review

  • Jason Pcola
  • Jun 16, 2014
European elegance with clubs and shops of the New Orleans French Quarter
Guests at the Bienville House Hotel find much to enjoy in the elegant surroundings and the ideal location close to the bustling European charm of the French Quarter area of New Orleans. The Bienville House Hotel is conveniently situated for exploring the historic area, with its numerous jazz clubs, museums, voodoo shops, and restaurants.  On-site at the hotel, guests have exclusive access to a heated saltwater swimming pool, a Southern-style flagstone courtyard and four tempting sundecks.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Ideal location for access to the world famous French Quarter area of New Orleans, with clubs, restaurants, and local life
  • Elegant surroundings, including balconies and four great sun-decks on-site at the hotel
  • Access to the only heated saltwater swimming pool in the French Quarter
Bienville House Hotel Rooms
The Bienville House has the feel of an old manor house of the French Quarter.  There is a delightful courtyard laid with flagstones with a central pool.  Many of the 83 rooms at the recently refurbished Bienville House Hotel have wonderful wrought iron balconies overlooking the French Quarter. Rooms come with additional amenities such as wireless Internet access, a free morning newspaper, and access to the hotel sundecks. The Bienville House Hotel Rooms are within easy reach of the antique shops on Royal Street, historic buildings and jazz clubs. 
Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (1.1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • New Orleans Louisiana Superdome  (1.4 mi/2.3 km) 
Policies and fees
  • Iris Restaurant is now closed. Latitude 29 will open in Sep 2014 and will be the full-service modern fine-dining restaurant that will feature Asian-inspired cuisine and conversation-piece cocktails. Please stay tuned for future announcements regarding service hours, menu, and opening date. Guests who are looking for alternate dining options during this time can take a short walk to our sister property, Hotel Monteleone, to dine in at Criollo Restaurant.
  • Parking rates: $12.00 per Motorcycle plus 12% tax, $32.00 per car plus 12% tax, $34.00 per Suv, Truck , or Van plus 12% tax, $42.00 per Oversized Vehicles plus 12% tax.
  • Rollaway beds are only permitted in rooms with one-king bed. Requests are based upon availability at arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9538 -90.0655
Area served
French Quarter, New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (MSY).
Area description
Bienville House Hotel is located in the French Quarter near Canal Place shopping, Jean Lafitte National Historical Park, Jax Brewery shopping, Mississippi riverboat tours, Bourbon Street, Audubon Aquarium of the Americas and Riverwalk shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bienville House Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bienville House Hotel Rooms

Standard
This room offers 1 king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, climate control, coffee/tea maker, wake-up calls, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable/satellite TV and clock radio.
Non Refundable
This room offers 1 king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, climate control, coffee/tea maker, wake-up calls, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable/satellite TV and clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 100 people reception style

Dining

Brennan's
Just three blocks away and known for world famous bread pudding and Bananas Fosters.
Bienville House
The Bienville House Restaurant is currently closed for renovations.
Bacco's
Just two blocks away and a wonderful locallly own restaurant with 10 cents martini's!!!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Bienville House Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Aug 9, 2008

Great hidden gem!

The Bienville House is a wonderful place to stay in new Orleans. Classified as a boutique historic hotel, the amenities are superb and the value was outstanding. Located conveniently to the French Quarter and several fine restaurants, it is enough off the beaten path to find quiet and solace from the fracas of Bourbon. We checked in quickly and our room was ready early. Parking was a bit pricey, but worth it given that it was covered and protected. I will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you try Mr. B's Bistro, of the Brennan clan. Dark wooded interiors, wonderful ambiance, and outstanding food and service! Close by The Bienville House.

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Jul 6, 2008

Just like home

Lovely room, upscale, nice managment. We were moved to Le Monteleone hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

French quarter

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gaithersburg
Jun 30, 2008

excellent location

Loved this hotel! Stayed here during a Tulane University visit and the good reviews were absolutely correct. Easy cab ride from airport ($28 + tip for 2 of us.) Location excellent w/in walking distance to everything including the street car which took us where we needed to go, river walk, IMAX, jaz clubs, excellent dining, Harrah's casino,etc. Nice, clean, safe area. Hotel staff was cordial, professional and went above and beyond. Room was clean and the a/c was nice and cold. Continental breakfast and cookies and lemonaid @ 3pm were nice touches. Will happily stay again when we visit our son!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Landry's Seafood close by. Excellent food, ambiance, and service.

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Berkeley
Jun 18, 2008

beautiful rooms

The bienville hotel rooms are gorgeous the bed was huge and comfortable, the bathrooms are painted a sage green, and the whole room was tastefully decorated. It looked like something out of better homes and gardens. It is in my opinion a 5 star hotel. I plan on staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 9, 2008

Convenient

We were happy with the location of the hotel. Everything we planned to visit was within walking distance. The hotel is quaint and gives you a good feel for the New Orleans culture. Our visit was early June and it was very hot. The room air conditioner was not programmed to lower the temperature enough for our comfort. Had it not been for a ceiling fan it would have been extrement uncomfortable in the room. Maintenance was not available to make the necessary adjustments around 9 pm when the problem was identified and they failed to see the need to make the adjustment the next day. Otherwise, we will visit again but in the winter!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The candy store next door to the hotel has the best Pralines made on-site daily. If you go the other direction you can listen to the best Blues in town - it doesn't get much better!

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stafford
May 26, 2008

Nice boutique hotel

Bienville House is an old, charming and lovely little boutique hotel in a very good area of the French Quarter. It was close enough to walk to bars, restaurants and Jackson Square without being in the noisiest parts of town. We had an interior room with no window, but the room was beautiful with a 4-poster king size bed, and nicely decorated. The air conditioning worked well, and since there was no window to the outside, the room was quiet at night and stayed very cool even in the heat and humidity of New Orleans. The hotel layout is a bit peculiar, as we had to walk across an outdoor patio to reach our hallway, but this kind of added to the charm of the place. For the price, we were very pleased with our stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For the cheapest drinks in the Quarter, try the Chart Room bar...just a block or two from the hotel! Also nearby, across from the Monteleone Hotel, is Mr. B's Bistro. Pricey for dinner, but worth it. We had a wonderful meal there!

Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 24, 2008

Very New Orleans

Beautiful terraces and balconies with truly beautiful flowers. One block from everything going into the French Quarter, with a very safe feeling!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 8, 2008

My review of Bienville House Hotel

This was a nice, small hotel in a great location. We were able to walk everywhere. Although the hotel did not have a restaurant, there were a lot of good restaurants in the area. Our room was quite small, but clean and comfortable. Would certainly stay here on our next trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Apr 12, 2008

fine overall

The location is superb and the people were more than helpful. The room was just ok and the free breakfast was very poor and inedible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ya-Ling
USA
Mar 13, 2008

Cozy Place

The room is a bit small but the king-sized bed is quite comfortable. The room is next to the street and we are disturbed by the traffic in the early morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search