$154 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Bienville House Hotel

3 stars
320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
75 reviews
Great Stay in the Quarter!

Our first time in New Orleans on our own since 1966. Had a great stay. Hotel is easy to deal with.... See full review

  • Joe and Mar
  • Jul 1, 2014
Quick trip

Great location, clean rooms and friendly staff!!!! See full review

  • Jason Pcola
  • Jun 16, 2014
European elegance with clubs and shops of the New Orleans French Quarter
Guests at the Bienville House Hotel find much to enjoy in the elegant surroundings and the ideal location close to the bustling European charm of the French Quarter area of New Orleans. The Bienville House Hotel is conveniently situated for exploring the historic area, with its numerous jazz clubs, museums, voodoo shops, and restaurants.  On-site at the hotel, guests have exclusive access to a heated saltwater swimming pool, a Southern-style flagstone courtyard and four tempting sundecks.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Ideal location for access to the world famous French Quarter area of New Orleans, with clubs, restaurants, and local life
  • Elegant surroundings, including balconies and four great sun-decks on-site at the hotel
  • Access to the only heated saltwater swimming pool in the French Quarter
Bienville House Hotel Rooms
The Bienville House has the feel of an old manor house of the French Quarter.  There is a delightful courtyard laid with flagstones with a central pool.  Many of the 83 rooms at the recently refurbished Bienville House Hotel have wonderful wrought iron balconies overlooking the French Quarter. Rooms come with additional amenities such as wireless Internet access, a free morning newspaper, and access to the hotel sundecks. The Bienville House Hotel Rooms are within easy reach of the antique shops on Royal Street, historic buildings and jazz clubs. 
Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (1.1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • New Orleans Louisiana Superdome  (1.4 mi/2.3 km) 
Policies and fees
  • Parking rates: $12.00 per Motorcycle plus 12% tax, $32.00 per car plus 12% tax, $34.00 per Suv, Truck , or Van plus 12% tax, $42.00 per Oversized Vehicles plus 12% tax.
  • Rollaway beds are only permitted in rooms with one-king bed. Requests are based upon availability at arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9538 -90.0655
Area served
French Quarter, New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (MSY).
Area description
Bienville House Hotel is located in the French Quarter near Canal Place shopping, Jean Lafitte National Historical Park, Jax Brewery shopping, Mississippi riverboat tours, Bourbon Street, Audubon Aquarium of the Americas and Riverwalk shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bienville House Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bienville House Hotel Rooms

Standard
This room offers 1 king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, climate control, coffee/tea maker, wake-up calls, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable/satellite TV and clock radio.
Non Refundable
This room offers 1 king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, climate control, coffee/tea maker, wake-up calls, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable/satellite TV and clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 100 people reception style

Dining

Brennan's
Just three blocks away and known for world famous bread pudding and Bananas Fosters.
Bienville House
The Bienville House Restaurant is currently closed for renovations.
Bacco's
Just two blocks away and a wonderful locallly own restaurant with 10 cents martini's!!!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Bienville House Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diane from PA
Natrona Hts, PA
Feb 15, 2011

Great location

The hotel was great. The staff we came in contact with was even greater. They were warm, friendly and did what ever they could to help you with tours,resturants,etc. We took a mini-van tour of the city,which was very interesting and informative. The hotel was in a great location, so we were able to walk everywhere. The only thing missing was having a car, so I could do more shopping. You can't put too many items in a suitcase and get on a plane. Our New Orleans trip was ranked very high on our list. We plan to drive down and stay at the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There wasn't a restaurant we walked to that we didn't like. Great food at every place we went.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Feb 14, 2011

Lots of charm and a great location!

The room was well furnished although rendered a bit small due to a large and luxurious bed. Fine with us. We didn't spend a lot of our waking hours in the room since the location of the hotel was so ideal for walking the French Quarter. No real dining options, and a bar that's usually closed...but who cares! You're in the heart of New Orleans! Overall, a nice experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The entire French Quarter is at your feet here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tish's from idaho
nampa idaho
Jan 31, 2011

jan 2011 trip

very clean rooms great front desk personal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NorCal
Nov 2, 2010

I'd do it all over again

Great location, clean rooms, friendly staff, comfortable bed. I couldn't have been happier about our choice to stay at Bienville House. Perfect walking distance to everything in French Quarter; far enough from Bourbon Street to get a good night of sleep (even during Halloween weekend). I was very pleased and would recommend this hotel to anyone comfortable in 3-4 star accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The Voodoo Museum offers an excellent voodoo and cemetery walking tour. Very insightful and at a fraction of the cost of other similar tours. Be sure to reserve your tour 24 hours ahead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovemycruises
memphis, tn
Sep 2, 2010

great start to a cruise

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. great location for New Orleans in french quarter area. exceptionally friendly staff. easy to find. staff was very quick to resolve our problem with a mouse in the first room. would come back for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
birmingham,al
Jul 25, 2010

4 outta 5 ain't bad

super location. Clean rooms. Nice staff. I don't need more than that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
window guy
Collierville Tn.
Jun 22, 2010

Excellent

This was my wife's first trip to New Orleans she loved it! It was a perfect get away that we needed badly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Every thing was within walking distance we didn't even get our car out of the garage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pensacola, FL
Apr 28, 2010

Nice Hotel - Bad Room

When I arrived at the hotel, they changed my room assignment and instead of a room with a King size bed and interior location, I had a room with two Queen size beds and a balcony on the street. That night, I may as well have been in the bar across the street because they blasted music until 2 AM and we could not sleep. I showed them my reservation but they insisted it was not correct.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Apr 27, 2010

Best spot in New Orleans

This is my favorite spot to stay in New Orleans. Centrally located, extremely clean, very comfortable. A must stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JAZZ FRIENDS
DALLAS, TX
Apr 25, 2010

GREAT TIME IN NEW ORLEANS

A GREAT STAFF VERY ATTENTIVE TO EVERY NEED AND GREAT LOCATION, 4 BLOCKS FROM JACKSON SQUARE. IT WAS A SMALL HOTE, WHICH IS OUR STYLE. THANK YOU FOR A GREAT DEAL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

NEXT STORE WAS A PRALINE PLACE WHICH HAD VOODOO DOLLS FOR 1.50. WE LOADED UP ON THEM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search