$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts

3 stars
320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
77 reviews
Real New Orleans experience

Fiendly staff. Room was clean, tastefully decorated. Parking fees were high, but that's the French... See full review

  • Toia
  • Sep 26, 2014
Great Stay in the Quarter!

Our first time in New Orleans on our own since 1966. Had a great stay. Hotel is easy to deal with.... See full review

  • Joe and Mar
  • Jul 1, 2014
European elegance with clubs and shops of the New Orleans French Quarter
Guests at the Bienville House Hotel find much to enjoy in the elegant surroundings and the ideal location close to the bustling European charm of the French Quarter area of New Orleans. The Bienville House Hotel is conveniently situated for exploring the historic area, with its numerous jazz clubs, museums, voodoo shops, and restaurants.  On-site at the hotel, guests have exclusive access to a heated saltwater swimming pool, a Southern-style flagstone courtyard and four tempting sundecks.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Ideal location for access to the world famous French Quarter area of New Orleans, with clubs, restaurants, and local life
  • Elegant surroundings, including balconies and four great sun-decks on-site at the hotel
  • Access to the only heated saltwater swimming pool in the French Quarter
Bienville House Hotel Rooms
The Bienville House has the feel of an old manor house of the French Quarter.  There is a delightful courtyard laid with flagstones with a central pool.  Many of the 83 rooms at the recently refurbished Bienville House Hotel have wonderful wrought iron balconies overlooking the French Quarter. Rooms come with additional amenities such as wireless Internet access, a free morning newspaper, and access to the hotel sundecks. The Bienville House Hotel Rooms are within easy reach of the antique shops on Royal Street, historic buildings and jazz clubs. 
Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (1.1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • New Orleans Louisiana Superdome  (1.4 mi/2.3 km) 
Policies and fees
  • Parking rates: $12.00 per Motorcycle plus 12% tax, $32.00 per car plus 12% tax, $34.00 per Suv, Truck , or Van plus 12% tax, $42.00 per Oversized Vehicles plus 12% tax.
  • Rollaway beds are only permitted in rooms with one-king bed. Requests are based upon availability at arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Standard 1 King Interior Rm
Standard 1 King Interior Room Windowless -serene interior room with a rice-carved-four-poster king bed.
Interior Suite
King-bedded suite featuring a separate sitting area with a queen sofa bed.
Penthouse Suite
One bedroom suite with parlor -large street balcony -living area -dining area and half bath
Standard Double/Double Interior
Windowless -serene interior room with two double beds.
Deluxe Double/Double
Deluxe room with two-double beds with a view.
Superior King Balcony
Superior room with mahogany rice-carved four-poster king bed and private balcony.
Superior Double/Double Balcony
Superior room with two double beds and a private balcony.
Superior King Salon
Superior king salon -four-poster mahagony king bed, a balcony and sitting area.
Deluxe 1 King
Deluxe room with mahogany rice-carved four-poster king bed with a view.
Sun Deck King
Our Sundeck rooms feature a king bed with a patio and sitting area.
Sun Deck Double/Double
Our Sundeck rooms feature two double beds with an adjoining sun deck patio/sitting area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Female executive rooms
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Solarium
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foleystravels
Louisville, KY, USA
Nov 2, 2012

HALLOWEEN

We went for Halloween not really expecting much from the room but wow! The room was huge! Four post king size bed, balcony, and quiet. The hotel was beautiful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. It was a wonderful experience and we'll be coming back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie 11
Business
Easton, MD 21601, USA
Sep 29, 2011

Weekend at Bienville House Hotel

When we checked in we found the standard room we had reserved to be without any windows making it dark and stuffy. The desk clerk indicated no other rooms were available at the time but if we would go have lunch and come back in 2 hrs she would have another room available. The new room was very nice and well worth the $25 a day additional charge. The location in the French Quarter was close to everything without being too noisy, a plus for us. The staff was very nice and did their best to assure a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
guidrynb
Business
Gulfport, MS
Jun 11, 2011

Good location

I stayed here to go see Bob Seger in concert. It was a good location to everything I like to do in New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teezy freezy
Business
annandale, va
May 9, 2011

I'll go back!

Every year I attend the New Orleans Jazzfest. Over the course of 23 years of staying in various hotels & guest houses there, I can honestly say that this is one of my favorites. The place is exactly how it describes itself on their site. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay special. They even handled moving me to another hotel since I was staying in town longer than they had availablity.[...] at the desk and [...] at the door knew us by name every time we went in or out of the hotel. The rooms are clean and charming. Coffee in the morning is best enjoyed along side of the courtyard pool. In spite of being in the pulse of the French Quarter and in the same block as the House of Blues, I found the rooms quiet at night. I am planning on returning to this jewel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants are within walking distance. Among them I enjoyed Stella!, Stanley, and the Royal Oyster House for their charbroiled oysters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma.
May 2, 2011

Wonderful Experience

Wonderful, helpful staff which always makes a difference. Elegant settings and nice details in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It's New Orleans! No end of good places to eat. Do not miss the Hotel's own as it was outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CathyW
Business
Findlay, OH
Apr 14, 2011

Service Excellence!

We have stayed at the Bienville House before. We love the staff there (the same every year, that tells you something...)!In the French Quarter, expect to walk, everywhere, on old uneven (but beautiful) streets- no way to make this city ADA compliant! We did see wheelchairs, crutches and strollers in the crowds- but it would be very difficult! We walked over 45 miles in 4 days- take a pedometer! If you want to be really safe and comfortable, skip the fancy heels and invest in good shoes that you try out before leaving home. No open sandals, there is horse poo, Bourbon Street dirt, glass...The Bienville House is centrally located to everything. It is nice to walk back in the hot afternoon and enjoy the freshly made lemonade and cookies, awaiting the tired souls.The accommodations are as cute as can be (though I will never stay in a windowless room again). Fresh high count sheets and good mattresses for tired tourists. We were on Decature side (noisy street) but we slept through everything; nice and quiet. There is even a white-noise radio type thing on the bed-stand if you care for that.A bonus is that the hotel is across from the famous fire station where the fireman sell their calendar to help raise funds for imaging equipment and such. Some pretty nice looking calenders:)[...] I won't book again due to the windowless rooms. I am too claustrophobic! We have booked at the Bienville previously in their deluxe windowed rooms- much better! Many hotels in this very old city have this windowless situation- be careful when booking if that bothers you.The Bienville House rooftop patios are so lovely, as well as the ground level courtyard with the fountain and pool. Nice way to start a morning...We love New Orleans, and will return. Everyone is so friendly there and has a story to tell. The music, food, art and culture are abundant! Missing 'Nawlins already...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Everyone has to experience Bourbon Street sometime, but the newer area for great music is on Frenchman Street, east of the Quarter- just past the US Mint. A smaller intimate area with great music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny, ny
Apr 10, 2011

decent

requested 2 double beds and only got one king. they would not give us a new room and charged $25/day for the cot that we needed. room was small and windowless. location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gonzales, LA
Mar 28, 2011

Wonderful location; great staff!

Hotel was beautiful, immaculately clean and in a location very convenient to the French Quarter. We had suggested it to our out of town guests who booked via another online site. They got a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. There were window boxes on the balcony filled with lovely seasonal flowers. We, on the other hand, got a large, beautifully furnished room BUT IT DIDN'T HAVE ANY WINDOWS! A disappointment but not a deal breaker. We were glad our out of town guests got the "good" room. The valet parking was convenient and affordable. The gentlemen who park the cars were prompt, courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The French Quarter is just a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 21, 2011

Wonderful stay!

This boutique hotel in the French Quarter was everything I expected and more! Our 2nd floor room, which was lavishly decorated and very swanky, had a balcony that opened up onto Decatur St. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The amenities were fantastic. Beautiful pool, trendy bar/restaurant, awesome location (within walking distance to everything). I will book at the Bienville House every time I return to New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pensacola, fl
Mar 18, 2011

leisure

overall, the hotel was nice. small, but nice. however, our problems came from within the preparation of our room. we called in advance and requested to check in early and they said it was no problem. well we went to the zoo before hand and showed up at three, our original check in time. our room was not ready and we had to wait in the SMALL lobby with about 15 other people because housekeeping was not done cleaning our room. people who came in after us got into their rooms way before us, as we sat and waited with all of our luggage. i just got done proposing to my girlfriend, and then we had to wait in a lobby that was smaller than our room. good thing there was a lot to do in the big easy, we only used our room for a bed to sleep in...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margie Cohen
Business
Wayland Mass
Mar 2, 2011

Fabulous Hotel

This hotel was such a haven for us after our horrible experience at the St. James Hotel. They welcomed us and ugraded our room when they heard about our previous experiences we had had earlier in the week. The room was beautiful and spotless. The breakfast was great and all staff was very polite and helpful. Great location and pretty pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Po Boy Johnies is a short walk away and delicous and very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top