$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Bienville House Hotel

5 stars
View map of 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bienville House Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foleystravels
Louisville, KY, USA
Nov 2, 2012

HALLOWEEN

We went for Halloween not really expecting much from the room but wow! The room was huge! Four post king size bed, balcony, and quiet. The hotel was beautiful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. It was a wonderful experience and we'll be coming back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sookie16
Business
Palm Coast, FL, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Good but not great

Great location for walking to the waterfront and close to several good restaurants. The personnel were friendly and helpful but the room we had was small with a non opening window. The hotel is located next to a fire station that received several calls during our stay. on the whole a pleasant stay but not remarkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Evangeline Restaurant located next to the hotel. One of the best steaks I have eaten in a long time and we had just eaten at one of the highest rated steak houses in New Orleans. Evangeline beat that steak house hands down!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie 11
Business
Easton, MD 21601, USA
Sep 29, 2011

Weekend at Bienville House Hotel

When we checked in we found the standard room we had reserved to be without any windows making it dark and stuffy. The desk clerk indicated no other rooms were available at the time but if we would go have lunch and come back in 2 hrs she would have another room available. The new room was very nice and well worth the $25 a day additional charge. The location in the French Quarter was close to everything without being too noisy, a plus for us. The staff was very nice and did their best to assure a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
guidrynb
Business
Gulfport, MS
Jun 11, 2011

Good location

I stayed here to go see Bob Seger in concert. It was a good location to everything I like to do in New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teezy freezy
Business
annandale, va
May 9, 2011

I'll go back!

Every year I attend the New Orleans Jazzfest. Over the course of 23 years of staying in various hotels & guest houses there, I can honestly say that this is one of my favorites. The place is exactly how it describes itself on their site. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay special. They even handled moving me to another hotel since I was staying in town longer than they had availablity.[...] at the desk and [...] at the door knew us by name every time we went in or out of the hotel. The rooms are clean and charming. Coffee in the morning is best enjoyed along side of the courtyard pool. In spite of being in the pulse of the French Quarter and in the same block as the House of Blues, I found the rooms quiet at night. I am planning on returning to this jewel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants are within walking distance. Among them I enjoyed Stella!, Stanley, and the Royal Oyster House for their charbroiled oysters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma.
May 2, 2011

Wonderful Experience

Wonderful, helpful staff which always makes a difference. Elegant settings and nice details in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It's New Orleans! No end of good places to eat. Do not miss the Hotel's own as it was outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CathyW
Business
Findlay, OH
Apr 14, 2011

Service Excellence!

We have stayed at the Bienville House before. We love the staff there (the same every year, that tells you something...)!In the French Quarter, expect to walk, everywhere, on old uneven (but beautiful) streets- no way to make this city ADA compliant! We did see wheelchairs, crutches and strollers in the crowds- but it would be very difficult! We walked over 45 miles in 4 days- take a pedometer! If you want to be really safe and comfortable, skip the fancy heels and invest in good shoes that you try out before leaving home. No open sandals, there is horse poo, Bourbon Street dirt, glass...The Bienville House is centrally located to everything. It is nice to walk back in the hot afternoon and enjoy the freshly made lemonade and cookies, awaiting the tired souls.The accommodations are as cute as can be (though I will never stay in a windowless room again). Fresh high count sheets and good mattresses for tired tourists. We were on Decature side (noisy street) but we slept through everything; nice and quiet. There is even a white-noise radio type thing on the bed-stand if you care for that.A bonus is that the hotel is across from the famous fire station where the fireman sell their calendar to help raise funds for imaging equipment and such. Some pretty nice looking calenders:)[...] I won't book again due to the windowless rooms. I am too claustrophobic! We have booked at the Bienville previously in their deluxe windowed rooms- much better! Many hotels in this very old city have this windowless situation- be careful when booking if that bothers you.The Bienville House rooftop patios are so lovely, as well as the ground level courtyard with the fountain and pool. Nice way to start a morning...We love New Orleans, and will return. Everyone is so friendly there and has a story to tell. The music, food, art and culture are abundant! Missing 'Nawlins already...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Everyone has to experience Bourbon Street sometime, but the newer area for great music is on Frenchman Street, east of the Quarter- just past the US Mint. A smaller intimate area with great music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny, ny
Apr 10, 2011

decent

requested 2 double beds and only got one king. they would not give us a new room and charged $25/day for the cot that we needed. room was small and windowless. location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gonzales, LA
Mar 28, 2011

Wonderful location; great staff!

Hotel was beautiful, immaculately clean and in a location very convenient to the French Quarter. We had suggested it to our out of town guests who booked via another online site. They got a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. There were window boxes on the balcony filled with lovely seasonal flowers. We, on the other hand, got a large, beautifully furnished room BUT IT DIDN'T HAVE ANY WINDOWS! A disappointment but not a deal breaker. We were glad our out of town guests got the "good" room. The valet parking was convenient and affordable. The gentlemen who park the cars were prompt, courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The French Quarter is just a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 21, 2011

Wonderful stay!

This boutique hotel in the French Quarter was everything I expected and more! Our 2nd floor room, which was lavishly decorated and very swanky, had a balcony that opened up onto Decatur St. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The amenities were fantastic. Beautiful pool, trendy bar/restaurant, awesome location (within walking distance to everything). I will book at the Bienville House every time I return to New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bienville House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pensacola, fl
Mar 18, 2011

leisure

overall, the hotel was nice. small, but nice. however, our problems came from within the preparation of our room. we called in advance and requested to check in early and they said it was no problem. well we went to the zoo before hand and showed up at three, our original check in time. our room was not ready and we had to wait in the SMALL lobby with about 15 other people because housekeeping was not done cleaning our room. people who came in after us got into their rooms way before us, as we sat and waited with all of our luggage. i just got done proposing to my girlfriend, and then we had to wait in a lobby that was smaller than our room. good thing there was a lot to do in the big easy, we only used our room for a bed to sleep in...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top