$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

3 stars
114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2421
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
123 reviews
Simply awesome

Superb staff, great location, great breakfast, unique rooms with old beams in place See full review

  • Ydnar Saav
  • Mar 25, 2014
Absolutely perfect!

A great hotel located right in the heart of the French quarter, close to everything and absolutely... See full review

  • Gerry 51
  • Mar 5, 2014
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel! Explore the Garden District with ease or slip into one of the great dining establishments in the French Quarter because the best of the city is at the doorstep of this New Orleans hotel. From Mardi Gras to discovering Bourbon Street any time of year, theres endless entertainment when visiting New Orleans. Steps away from the French Quarter and the street car, the location of the hotel might catch the eye of travelers but its the service that really shines. Enjoy a great value that includes free Wi-Fi and free breakfast. Start the morning off right by indulging in a hot breakfast buffet featuring regional favorites as well as classic American dishes such as pancakes, scrambled eggs and sausage. The rate at this New Orleans hotel cant be beat, especially considering the prime location. Find favorite food and dining sports nearby, or go sightseeing in the bayou. Tourist companies happily pick up guests at this New Orleans hotel, whisking them to Katrina memorial sites, famous cemeteries and even on haunted tours of the city. The popular Jazz Fest and French Quarter Fest are must-sees while here as well. Whether its conventions that brought you here or the promise of the party of a lifetime, make the most of it by staying in the center of the city. Business travelers with IBM® and Lockheed Martin find it easy to slip in a little fun with work. Whether its a meeting at Deloitte® & Touche or an event at Tulane University, prepare for a great time. Loyola University is within a few miles of the hotel, too, and there are also oil and gas companies in the area that bring business guests to the hotel. The convention/banquet service makes this New Orleans hotel an easy choice for companies. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel and let the party come to you!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,WHIRLPOOL,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,WHIRLPOOL,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,WHIRLPOOL,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,WHIRLPOOL,NO SMOKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVERSIZD,WHISPD,SOFABD,HAIR,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OVERSIZD,WHISPD,HAIR,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

G.W. Fins
0.8 mile(s) from G.W. Fins, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: dinner, 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Mother's
0.4 mile(s) from Mother's, deli, Cajun, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 6:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.-Great Sandwiches
Bon Ton Cafe
Across the street from Bon Ton Cafe, full service, Cajun, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday-Friday-11:00am-2:00pm and 5:00pm-9:30pm Sat/Sun-reservations only.
Acme Oyster House
0.5 mile(s) from Acme Oyster House, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Cajun seafood, 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Cafe DuMonde
0.8 mile(s) from Cafe DuMonde, coffee shop, French, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 24 hours
Palace Cafe
Across the street from Palace Cafe, full service, Cajun, open for: lunch, dinner, Lunch-Mon-Fri-11:30am-2:30pm Dinner-Mon-Sat-5:30pm-9:00pm Sunday Brunch-10:30am-2:30pm
Emeri's
0.6 mile(s) from Emeri's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday to Friday 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Restaurant August
0.2 mile(s) from Restaurant August, full service, International, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday to Friday 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., Monday to Saturday 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 123
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
S Traveler
Business
Summerville SC
Jul 11, 2012

Excellent location blocks away from convention center

Rooms are extremely compact. Will not stay at this hotel again, hair was in the bathroom sink and on the bed pillows!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convention Center and French Quarters

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Realistic Rater
Business
Boston, MA
May 21, 2014

Will Likely NOT Return

I checked into this hotel around dinner time and there was only one staff member at the front desk - it took her about 30 minutes to check in the prevoius guests and then she had trouble finding my reservation. she was UNFRIENDLY and UNHELPFUL and made for a stressful beginning of our stay. the room had hair on the floor in the bathroom, stains on the rug and marks on the toilet. The only positive things were the location, continental breakfast and a comfortable bed. We chose this hotel because of how cheap it was per night, but I will not be retruning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NJSoccerMom13
Business
NJ
Sep 16, 2011

Buyer Beware!!!

BUYER BEWARE!!! BEST WESTERN VALUES CORPORATIONS MORE THAN INDIVIDUAL PEOPLE. I made reservations for two rooms at the Best Western St. Christopher hotel on April 19, 2011. The reservations are from March 30 - April 3, 2012 to attend the NCAA Men's Final Four Championship games. I was notified yesterday that my reservations would not be honored due to a contract with the NCAA, who has reserved a block of rooms for the tournament. In addition, Best Western charged my credit card on September 8, 2011 in the amount of $400, which is most likely a deposit for my upcoming stay. I would like to know when the contract with the NCAA signed? Was it signed before or after I made my reservations? If the contract was signed after my reservations were made you should honor my reservations and tell the NCAA you only have X number of rooms available. If the contract was signed before my reservations were made Best Western should have contacted me ASAP so that I can make other arrangements. This is a huge event and hotel rooms are hard to come by and they go quickly. The way Best Western is handling this is not an acceptable way of conducting business with customers. It proves that Best Western values corporate relationships more than individual customers. I'm sure they are charging the NCAA a premium for blocking these rooms, more than they are making from my reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe Mamma
Business
Texas
Jul 22, 2014

Horrible!

It took us 30 minutes to finally find a person to check in, and when we finally did, I wished we hadn't met her. She totally had attitude with us and when we asked simple questions like "Where can we park?" we got "I don't drive" as our answer. Then she told us we booked a smoking room, which we did not and the only way we could get out of it was to pay an extra 40 bucks. It was 10:00 at night and I have three kids that were asleep in the car so I really had no choice but to deal with this. Once we got to the room, the floor turned my kids feet black in about 2 minutes, there was black hair all over the bed, on the floor, in the bathroom, pretty much everywhere. We spoke to the manager about our concerns and as we were talking to the manager the same employee came up and lied to the manager about what happened, right in front of us. The manager started defending the employee but then asked for us to send our confirmation info. Pretty much a horrible experience all around. The breakfast was pretty good, and the valet was great, but other than that, this place was awful. We will never come back and will warn all of our friends to not go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeaneen
Business
Columbia, MO
Jul 17, 2012

Girls trip to New Orleans

Our room was very noisy but the location of the hotel was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gbill
Business
ALABAMA
Sep 20, 2012

Pay to PARK!!!

PAY FOR YOUR OWN PARKING $20 +++ CHECKED IN EARLY (thank you)+++ I dropped a baby bottle between the bed and table got it back with pub ic hair on it and found toe nail clipping on the box spring. jacuzi tub in bad repair had plunger on chain for the drain plug and discoloration or apperance of mold in or on jets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jayne L
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 16, 2013

Nothing to brag about

I am a traveler in a wheelchair. The only roll in shower was on the 10th floor and it is a smoking room. Room was small, heating/air conditioning system was poor and shower never got really hot. Breakfast wasn't anything special. They have valet parking but you can not access your vehicle yourself. If you want it they have to get it for you. Room was very quiet and hotel is close to everything. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I've stayed in better places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jayne L
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 17, 2013

Was a disappointment

Travelling with someone in a wheel chair and needed a handicap accessible room. Room we got was a smoking room with a stale odor to it. Shower never got really hot and the water pressure was horrible. Heating/air conditioning was tempermental. Not stocked well with towels, soap or toliet paper. Breakfast was adequate. The location was the only good thing about this place. Some of the staff was pleasant. Once our car was parked we could not access it on our own. If we wanted anything from it or wanted it they could only do that. That was very bothersome. Overall, an okay place but would not recommend it. Much better places to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pickupandgo
Business
lousisana
Nov 28, 2011

pleasantly surprised

one of the last hotel rooms available near the french quater when i booked and a little leary of a best western in new orleans. rooms were clean comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful. Very convienent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BethanneV
Business
Pensacola
Jul 30, 2012

Great Location ~ minor issue with rooms

Overall, our experience was fine. The two rooms were clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel is great for touring the French Quarter, plus visiting museums. My only complaint is that I called the hotel the day before our trip to try and get connected rooms and was told that the there were two available that would be held for us. When we arrived, we not only didn't get connecting rooms, but the rooms were on different floors. An apology was offered, but the hotel was booked, so there was no way to get our rooms together. We made due, and enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top