$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

3 stars
114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2421
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
120 reviews
Simply awesome

Superb staff, great location, great breakfast, unique rooms with old beams in place See full review

  • Ydnar Saav
  • Mar 25, 2014
Absolutely perfect!

A great hotel located right in the heart of the French quarter, close to everything and absolutely... See full review

  • Gerry 51
  • Mar 5, 2014
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel! Explore the Garden District with ease or slip into one of the great dining establishments in the French Quarter because the best of the city is at the doorstep of this New Orleans hotel. From Mardi Gras to discovering Bourbon Street any time of year, theres endless entertainment when visiting New Orleans. Steps away from the French Quarter and the street car, the location of the hotel might catch the eye of travelers but its the service that really shines. Enjoy a great value that includes free Wi-Fi and free breakfast. Start the morning off right by indulging in a hot breakfast buffet featuring regional favorites as well as classic American dishes such as pancakes, scrambled eggs and sausage. The rate at this New Orleans hotel cant be beat, especially considering the prime location. Find favorite food and dining sports nearby, or go sightseeing in the bayou. Tourist companies happily pick up guests at this New Orleans hotel, whisking them to Katrina memorial sites, famous cemeteries and even on haunted tours of the city. The popular Jazz Fest and French Quarter Fest are must-sees while here as well. Whether its conventions that brought you here or the promise of the party of a lifetime, make the most of it by staying in the center of the city. Business travelers with IBM® and Lockheed Martin find it easy to slip in a little fun with work. Whether its a meeting at Deloitte® & Touche or an event at Tulane University, prepare for a great time. Loyola University is within a few miles of the hotel, too, and there are also oil and gas companies in the area that bring business guests to the hotel. The convention/banquet service makes this New Orleans hotel an easy choice for companies. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel and let the party come to you!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,WHIRLPOOL,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,WHIRLPOOL,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,WHIRLPOOL,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,WHIRLPOOL,NO SMOKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVERSIZD,WHISPD,SOFABD,HAIR,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OVERSIZD,WHISPD,HAIR,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

Mother's
0.4 mile(s) from Mother's, deli, Cajun, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 6:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.-Great Sandwiches
Restaurant August
0.2 mile(s) from Restaurant August, full service, International, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday to Friday 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., Monday to Saturday 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Cafe DuMonde
0.8 mile(s) from Cafe DuMonde, coffee shop, French, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 24 hours
Palace Cafe
Across the street from Palace Cafe, full service, Cajun, open for: lunch, dinner, Lunch-Mon-Fri-11:30am-2:30pm Dinner-Mon-Sat-5:30pm-9:00pm Sunday Brunch-10:30am-2:30pm
Bon Ton Cafe
Across the street from Bon Ton Cafe, full service, Cajun, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday-Friday-11:00am-2:00pm and 5:00pm-9:30pm Sat/Sun-reservations only.
G.W. Fins
0.8 mile(s) from G.W. Fins, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: dinner, 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Acme Oyster House
0.5 mile(s) from Acme Oyster House, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Cajun seafood, 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Emeri's
0.6 mile(s) from Emeri's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday to Friday 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hyannis
Jul 12, 2011

New Orleans

Online it said they had a free airport shuttle and when we called we were told that wasn't true. Also when we arrived we were in a room with no windows and when we requested to be moved they told us that was the room we requested and nowhere online did it say anything about not having windows. We were also told that we would have to pay more to move and then there were no rooms to move to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, LA
Sep 9, 2010

New Orleans

Great location. staff was friendly ..We went to the Aquarium which was within walking distance..This hotel doesn't have a swimming pool..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium and casino. french quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pearl River, La.
Dec 13, 2010

Who Dat Saints Weekend

Stayed in New Orleans for a Saints game weekend. Picked this hotel for the location and price. Had no problems with check in.Room was clean. Easy walk to French Quarter and Super Dome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge
Jul 6, 2010

Small, but cozy

We liked this hotel. It was easy to find, convenient to our event, and the staff was very helpful. The room was also very clean. We didn't spend much time in our room so the fact that it was tiny, didn't get to us much. The continental breakfast was pretty good. There was a wide variety of items to choose from. I would probably stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abe Froman
Business
orlando fl
Jun 11, 2014

Good location and amenities

Great location to downtown areas. The room was comfortable and clean. The only negative was the staff. As a pet friendly hotel I would expect them to have some knowledge about pet areas but when we asked where was a good area to take our dog to the bathroom the front desk woman didn't know and didn't seem to care. Overall it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RussNJana
Business
Texarkana Texas
Jun 30, 2014

NOT GOOD

Lots of hidden charges such as Valet Parking not disclosed in ad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park somewhere else for free. Everything is with in walking distance and the Trollies talk care of everything else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rich and Mary Ann
Business
Baden, PA
Sep 12, 2014

Damaged Car

Needed help with luggage when checking out at 7:00 A.M. No valet was on duty and the gentleman who brought over my car did not help with the luggage cart and it rolled and hit my car putting a dent in it. The car is less than 2 months old and this dent is unacceptable! When you're paying $25 plus tax per day for valet service, you should get quality service. Respectfully, Richard Mazur

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StephanieJB
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 22, 2014

Easy Bourbon and Downtown Access

This charming and historic hotel is right in the middle of downtown. I loved the brick and column details in the room, though found the bed a bit uncomfortable for my taste. There is a breakfast that was a step above continental in the lobby in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock, AR
Sep 12, 2010

Nice Hotel

Lovely hotel w/ super staff. We showed up super early and they did their best to get our rooms ready as quickly as possible. The bad part was that drunk guests that were in the room next to us came in all during the night and were very loud for a very long time. Also there is no exercise room or pool available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Low maintenance traveler
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Clean, comfortable and easy

We arrived late (around 12:30 am) and the front desk clerk was very nice. He called for the valet to get our car while he was checking me in and the valet got there before he was finished so there was no delay at all. The hotel is perfectly located! Close to the french quarter (we walked everywhere) but far enough away so you can escape the hustle and bustle when you are ready to sleep. Harrah's is around the block too if you are in the mood to gamble. The rooms were super clean and we loved the beds...very comfortable! The hotel is in an historic building and they did a nice job with keeping it modern and clean while keeping some historic touches like the exposed brick. They have wifi in the room but we didn't need it so I can't comment on that. The only con for me was the "breakfast". Items were poorly stocked (ran out of milk, paper plates, napkins, etc. by 8 am) and the coffee was not made. Also, be prepared to pay for valet as there is no other option at the hotel. We did not investigate street parking and left our car with the valet the whole weekend as we walked. I would definitely book this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Slipper on the corner for brunch is excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top